Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th April 2005, 21:00   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 88
Thanked: Once
Default dyno in india?

hey guys...read a lot of times on the forum that there are no dyno's in india. if that is the case how do the vehicle manufacturers arrive at their engine output figures and stuff like that. agreed they may be having their own dyno's but it may definitely not be in use 24 hours a day. is there no way to access them?

and jigar is there a dyno in coimbatore? before the introduction of formula lgb had spoken to akbar and when asked how would he keep all the cars equal (since he was stressing equality as a usp of the series) he had said if anyone had a complaint against a slow car it would be tested on the dyno immediately. cant we access that one.

also i think knk karts have a dyno with them.
adilshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 21:54   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

there is a dyno in coimbatore. anyone can get there car and get it tested for a fee.


of course the automobile companies have dynos they have the crank/flywheel dyno. this is not available to us to go test our engines.
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2005, 22:48   #3
BHPian
 
jigarmuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Well yeah there seems to be a dyno in coimbatore i doubt if its with akbar, since he never mentioned about testing the equality of the LGBs on da Dyno. As far as KNK karts dont think they have a dyno, coz they had tested the karts on the banglore track for top end speed and a couple of more parameters rather then horsepower or torque.
jigarmuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 00:15   #4
BHPian
 
fieroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: bangalore
Posts: 701
Thanked: 285 Times
Default

there is a dyno in bangalore at a place called as pacer yamaha, where they dyno race bikes.recently my frend got his enticer modded and the dyno test showed that the power was 13.6 compared to the 11 stcok hp...so guys in bangalore can access this for a fee.
fieroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 00:27   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 88
Thanked: Once
Default

i think knk has a dyno cause he had mentioned he tested his kart for o/p figures on the dyno.
anyone know of any car dynos.
can anyone find out about the coimbatore one.
adilshah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 02:46   #6
BHPian
 
jigarmuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 139
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

call up akbar and ask him only for the dyno
jigarmuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 04:28   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Mpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 10,428
Thanked: 1,676 Times
Default

There is a dyno in Chennai as well. It's in Vicky Chandok's garage. Thats where they built the JK rally cars. I'm sure Leela and Jayem in Coiambatore have a dyno setup as well.
Or else, if you have contacts, try the mechanical engg lab in your local engg college.
Mpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 06:07   #8
BHPian
 
epyupc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 78
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fieroid
there is a dyno in bangalore at a place called as pacer yamaha, where they dyno race bikes.recently my frend got his enticer modded and the dyno test showed that the power was 13.6 compared to the 11 stcok hp...so guys in bangalore can access this for a fee.
Can you pls give me some more details on this place. ie, where it is, and how to contact them

Thanxx
epyupc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 06:41   #9
BHPian
 
Vulken Auto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 399
Thanked: 18 Times
Default

do we have any dyno in hyderabad???
Vulken Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 08:33   #10
BHPian
 
Harrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: KA 03, KL 12, TN 38
Posts: 699
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

The dyno Vicky chandok has got is Kari's dyno. It was in coimbatore but later shifted to chennai. Anand would definitely have one. Not sure about leela and lgb though... A simple one is pretty easy to fabricate with the expertise people in coimbatore have. But to have one which can measure say 1500 bhp will be pretty difficult i guess.

We got one dyno in our college. We use it for experiments. They were also offering the dyno services to small engine manufacturers (the single cylinder diesel for agri purposes). But that dyno will be good for only maybe 75 or so bhp.
Harrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2005, 10:04   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

yes anand has a dyno. can use by paying a fee. but need to call him and find out when he will be available.
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 05:05   #12
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

are these dynos loading type or the inertia type ?
did someone from TBHP finally get a dyno reading ?
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 05:08   #13
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

awesome..now to find a loading type dyno in mumbai with HONEST figures..
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 05:15   #14
BHPian
 
chetanhanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 886
Thanked: 42 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
awesome..now to find a loading type dyno in mumbai with HONEST figures..
It will be tough..these loading types are expensive as compared to inertia types to measure the WHP ..dont think even the manufacturers in India have those .. they most probably use loading type to measure the crank/engine HP.
chetanhanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2007, 10:52   #15
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

yeah dude one more thing is, with the amount of manipulation that can be done with dyno figures its scary to know that it would be owned by a particular tuner rather than a freelance sorta dyno, y'know? coz then its easier for his cars to show higher gains.
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All about Dynamometers + DYNO visit with GTO's Vtec! Rehaan Modifications & Accessories 109 5th September 2014 09:27
Chassis Dyno KS Motorsport Modifications & Accessories 52 1st January 2008 16:30
Dyno facility in mumbai.... Finally !! amit_13 Modifications & Accessories 122 1st October 2007 20:44
Dyno Tuning Ford Rocam Modifications & Accessories 1 8th May 2005 08:33
Dyno tuning Sam Modifications & Accessories 11 2nd May 2004 04:15


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:27.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks