Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 29th January 2007, 20:06   #46
BHPian

High Revs coming downhill.

Hi folks,

First of all I must admit that I am not an expert at hill driving, so I am looking for inputs from experienced Bhpians.

Today I took my almost 9-month old WagonR to the steeper hills for the first time really (The previous runs were the not-so-steep ones). It a short, but steep climb. The uphill climb was very good, with me and a friend riding.

Now when coming downhill, the short stretches of steep road went fine - I had to apply brakes, especially at the turns. I was careful not to ride the brakes or the clutch.

Now there was this particularly long straight strip of road heading downhill. I was going at gear 2, not braking much - the car was really revving at 3100. Also, it started speeding up to 40 kmph, much to my discomfiture. I was hardly putting any pressure on the accelerator. Things normalized once were hit level ground.

Please tell me if this is normal? I have taken my old Santro before on hilly strips (perhaps not as steep), but I don't think it revved so much (did not have an Odo on that one).

The other thing I noticed was that the fuel gauge seemed to have dipped a few degrees all off a sudden. I had a full tank when we set off in the morning. The fuel gauze normalized (went up) once we were in the plains...is that due to the incline of the car?

Thanks in advance.

Johy

Last edited by johy : 29th January 2007 at 20:10. Reason: Re: Added question on fuel gauge.
Old 30th January 2007, 07:49   #47
Senior - BHPian

This is quite normal....
Fuel guaze thing is normal due to inclination...

It is normal as well to see the revv go up at lower gears while descending steep incline...you need to control the engine braking with your brakes to keep at a decent speed...