Old 16th October 2009, 17:31   #406

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
You are luckier than we are - you are approximately 3,000 kms closer to Ladakh (excluding the distance to and fro Delhi, ex-Bombay)!
Kya Kumar sir, 3000Km is just another long drive for you

Last edited by rkbharat : 16th October 2009 at 17:32.
Old 16th October 2009, 18:58   #407

Originally Posted by rkbharat View Post
Kya Kumar sir, 3000Km is just another long drive for you
Well technically MUM-DEL is only 1500 kms which is less than 24 hrs for chief.

On a slightly different, I really am amazed at Chief's tenacity and perseverence. I only pray that I can get close to it.
Old 16th October 2009, 20:37   #408

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Well technically MUM-DEL is only 1500 kms which is less than 24 hrs for chief.

On a slightly different, I really am amazed at Chief's tenacity and perseverence. I only pray that I can get close to it.
To get to the best parts of the North, we have to be very perseverant and fast till Delhi Happily, the Bombay-Delhi road is fast and can be done in a day.
Old 16th October 2009, 20:43   #409

Less than 24 hours to cover 1500 km? What was the average and with how many stops?
Old 16th October 2009, 20:47   #410

Originally Posted by Rudra Sen View Post
Less than 24 hours to cover 1500 km? What was the average and with how many stops?
My best time for Bombay-Delhi, 1450 kms, non-stop is 17 hours, and I normally do it in under 20 hours, early morning to late evening.

During our GQ Drive in Dec 2008, 2 cars did the Bombay-Behror (85 kms short of Gurgaon) the same day. During this Ladakh drive, we did Bombay-Shahpura (cheaper to stay in Rajasthan than Delhi) (Shahpura is 165 ksm short of Gurgaon, and we did that section the next day morning in 3 hours.
Old 16th October 2009, 20:57   #411

My best time for Bombay-Delhi, 1450 kms, non-stop is 17 hours, and I normally do it in under 20 hours, early morning to late evening.
You're one hell of a crazy chap HVK.

If ever whenever we travel together, we'll have serious issues. I need time to see and shoot. And at times it goes to the extent of pulling out tripod and waiting for the right light to happen.
Old 16th October 2009, 21:00   #412

I need time to see and shoot. And at times it goes to the extent of pulling out tripod and waiting for the right light to happen.
We do that too once we get to our target territory - in this trip, once we crossed Patnitop, we spent lots of time shooting away and ambling along at ease. Bombay-Delhi is punishment for us, a road we want to get over with as fast as possible.
Old 16th October 2009, 21:00   #413

This scorpio doesn't have CRuDE technology. It has missile technology.

You're one hell of a crazy chap HVK.

If ever whenever we travel together, we'll have serious issues. I need time to see and shoot. And at times it goes to the extent of pulling out tripod and waiting for the right light to happen.
Travel with me.
I drive fast and stop even faster...for photo ops.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 17th October 2009 at 06:04.
Old 17th October 2009, 00:18   #414

@Torqy: you are wrong, the scorpio doesn't have missile technology, it has HVK technology with turbo assist, much more lethal than anything you can think about.

One thing that I learnt in this trip is that I need a Bowler Wild Cat if I need to be following him in a trip. Man he is fast whether hills or plains!

Jai Ho Chief!!!
Old 17th October 2009, 22:02   #415

Maths in Ladakh trip!

Ladakh 2009 was good maths fun -

we were 22 people
in 7 cars
from 6 cities
5 ladies
and 4 foreigners
travelling for 15 days.
Look at the math symmetry of it all -
7+15=22!!
And I did 7,301 kms, if you dissect it 7+3+0+1=11!
Old 18th October 2009, 17:53   #416

What a fantastic journey! Loved the pics from Laluks and SJ. Truly wonderful. Amazing details of the journey from HVK.

HVK sir ji, I salute your spirit. Going to Leh and Ladakh three times(once in a Matiz) is no child's play. Sad to know about the damages to your car.

I was surprised to read some guys teaching you the 'finer points of driving'. All I can say is that they all are 'children' when compared to you.

Just ask those 'driving experts' to ride to Bhutan in an Ind Suzuki bike. Then we will see who is the Man and who are the children!!!

Hats off to you!
Old 18th October 2009, 18:21   #417

Ladakh 2009 was good maths fun -

we were 22 people
in 7 cars
from 6 cities
5 ladies
and 4 foreigners
travelling for 15 days.
Look at the math symmetry of it all -
7+15=22!!
And I did 7,301 kms, if you dissect it 7+3+0+1=11!
as if his kind of driving wasn't proof enuf that he was totally crazy, he's gone and given you this. anyone still has any doubts?!lol!kumar how the hell do you think of such things?!
Old 18th October 2009, 19:12   #418

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post
' to ride to Bhutan in an Ind Suzuki bike.
Did HVK do this? Hats off Really in that case!!
Old 18th October 2009, 20:25   #419

Originally Posted by KRRaj View Post
Did HVK do this? Hats off Really in that case!!
Yes. HVK rode all the way to Bhutan from Mumbai. His ride was an Ind Suzuki bike. That is 45 hours of riding from Mumbai.

Let our 'driving experts' do this. Then they can teach HVK about driving & braking! Do you know that HVK has driven more than 450,000 kms in different vehicles?
Old 18th October 2009, 20:59   #420

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post

I was surprised to read some guys teaching you the 'finer points of driving'. All I can say is that they all are 'children' when compared to you.
You never got the point. don't you?