Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Excursions
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 23rd April 2009, 17:09   #1
BHPian

Soft Off Roading for SUVs - Any good stretches?

Hi Guys!

I want to know about any "Soft Off Roading" stretches are known in the community which will be suitable for a beginner with a 4x4 SUV.

I am getting my 4x4 Safari in a weeks time.
The thread is here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-m...x4-booked.html

As such I am completely new to the idea of off roading in a car. (Has been to some places with my bike though).

By reading up the length and breadth of this section (4x4 and Off-Roading), I have understood that almost all of the trails discussed here are suitable only for very hardcore vehicles like Jeeps, Gypsys, Landrovers etc coupled with very hardcore drivers.

Please suggest some easy to do (apprentice) stretches which I can reasonably complete without depending on "winching out" as I don't have many friends who share this passion.
Also can't join in the OTRs untill I have developed some skills at it and have developed a comprehensive understanding of my Car's capacities.

Thanks in advance - as always.
Old 23rd April 2009, 17:16   #2
Team-BHP Support

In a vehicle such as safari the following things are your worry points
1. Thorns as they can cause deep scratches, quite visible on dark colors
2. Sharp rocks, esp if you have H/T tires
3. Rocky tracks with ruts as the safari does not have as good articulation as jeeps

So as long as you avoid these, you are okay. So the best place for you will be sandy trails, where the safari 4x4 can do equally good as the jeeps due to high power and excellent 4L low.
Be careful in slush. Water can kill your transfer case, and she will sink in very easily.
Old 23rd April 2009, 17:24   #3
BHPian