Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 30th September 2011, 11:01   #16

Re: restoring a willys cj3b

Sammyaulakh ji,

First of all congrats on the acquire. The jeep has come to the right hands, please can you share the background story of how you acquired and the pricing.

Saleem
Old 30th September 2011, 14:13   #17

@ parm
There is one restored cj3b for sale in patiala.Will let you know if it is still up for sale.It is equipped with a peugoet engine mated to a 4 speed 4wd gear.

@ saleem bhai
Thank you.I have already posted the story.
Old 1st October 2011, 09:07   #18

Originally Posted by sammyaulakh View Post
@ parm
There is one restored cj3b for sale in patiala.Will let you know if it is still up for sale.It is equipped with a peugoet engine mated to a 4 speed 4wd gear.
thanks for the info sammy, iam looking for a working 4WD and not a gedi jeep. so please confirm if it has a working 4x4.

also i would like to restore a jeep and not buy an already restored jeep, because i want to restore it as per my needs and requirements.

thanks for keeping me informed, Aulakh Saab.
Old 2nd October 2011, 23:48   #19

The body after under body anti rust coating and filler.
The chassis after a first coat of paint and filler
restoring a willys cj3b-img00424201109291237.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00429201109291247.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00427201109291242.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00428201109291242.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00425201109291238.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00426201109291241.jpg  

restoring a willys cj3b-img00419201109241223.jpg  

Old 5th November 2011, 00:19   #20

first look after the paint.Friends please let me know your opinions on the shade.The odo is showing the actual mileage of the jeep.
restoring a willys cj3b-img00504201111031224.jpg  

Last edited by sammyaulakh : 5th November 2011 at 00:20.
Old 5th November 2011, 00:40   #21

Initially I thought this is still on undercoat, I am still not sure if the painting is done ? what is this shade called as ? In case you are opting for a grey shade why not lightslategray #778899 you can check the visuals in Wikipedia.

I am not trying to confuse you are criticize the paint, however if you have not opted for Matt finish then the surface could be much smooth and shiny.
restoring a willys cj3b-butchsiegfriedarmynavyjeeps.jpg  

Old 5th November 2011, 07:17   #22

The odo is showing the actual mileage of the jeep.
sammyaulakh,

With 17767 on the odo this is a almost new Jeep, mechanically. The work on the engine while restoration must have been minimum.

A good job on the body and paint, it has come a long way and luckily to some one who is putting it back this passionately.

The colour is a matter of personal choice and if it works for you don't bother. I would add two-three shades of blue to the present shade to get a different light blue.

Looking forward to the final product.
Old 5th November 2011, 23:52   #23

@ chanu sir,
The actual shade is much darker than it looks in the pic.I think it has
come out lighter because of the camera flash reflecting on the surface.
The jeep still has to undergo buffing that is why no shine yet.
@ Fazalaliadil sir,
Thank you ,The mechanicals on the whole were in almost brand new
condition.There was no work undertaken on the engine front except
changing the oil and spark plugs.It fired on the first crank.
Old 6th November 2011, 18:41   #24

@ chanu sir,
The actual shade is much darker than it looks in the pic.I think it has
come out lighter because of the camera flash reflecting on the surface.
The jeep still has to undergo buffing that is why no shine yet.
@ Fazalaliadil sir,
Thank you ,The mechanicals on the whole were in almost brand new
condition.There was no work undertaken on the engine front except
changing the oil and spark plugs.It fired on the first crank.

I understand Sammyaulakh ji the paint process is still to complete, I am sure it will be great, are you coloring the chassis and rims silk black or the body color, I am sure lot here might prefer black chassis however I would go for the body color on chassis and rims, this is your personal choice. I feel being a jeeper is a fun in it's regard and we all feel lucky about it but in your case you are double lucky by not only getting a jeep which is used minimal and now after giving a new lease of life you would enjoy the best part from the engine side as well, I would say the JEEP has not done anything compared to the jeeps auctioned by govt. I guess it is all because it was commissioned as fire tender, it did not have the chance to go places like most of the fire tenders even today they get spoiled because of not using them rather using.

I am really happy for the JEEP and you, hope both would do great guns together.

Last edited by chanu : 6th November 2011 at 18:45.
chanu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th July 2013, 14:45   #25

Its more than 2 yrs without any updates. Any progress in the restoration?
Would be nice if you could file in the details.
Thanx.
Old 18th July 2013, 15:09   #26

It must be whizzing in Patiala right now.
Old 8th August 2013, 13:55   #27

@sharoncr 17 & desert fox,
Hi,haven't been able to update my posts on a regular basis as was caught up with other engagements.the jeep is up and running.been a while since I have driven it.will update you with pictures And details.

Regards.
Old 8th August 2013, 15:41   #28

Thanks. We are eagerly awaiting to see your baby. So pls post some pics soon .
I am also doing a restoration of my 1985 Mahindra CJ500D.
I hope you have gone for the sky blue shade. Its a rare shade compared to the green which every T,D&H goes for.

Last edited by sharoncr_17 : 8th August 2013 at 15:47.
Old 27th January 2015, 10:20   #29

I am really sorry for not posting any pictures as was caught with work and engagements.the jeep is running absolutely fine .it has been 4 years since it was restored.will be posting the present pics soon.
Old 27th January 2015, 14:56   #30

Hi all, I am really sorry for not posting any pictures as was caught with work and engagements.the jeep is running absolutely fine. It has been 4 years since it was restored, will be posting the present pictures soon.
Dear Sammyaulakh - oh my God, you have lived my dream. I just love the CJ3BLHD, "LHD" is important. At 17000 miles, you have got yourself a steal yaar! I eagerly await the pictures, please post them ASAP.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com