Old 3rd August 2012, 00:34   #16

Re: Ownership reviews of "Rebuilt Jeeps"

What model did you restore?
1995 MM540 Ex-Police Jeep

Are you happy with the vehicle?
Yes, Completely since i had immense respect even from Volvo's in Highways...LOL (seriously speaking, a mm540 screaming @ 80-90kmph speeds makes opposite vehicles give a wide berth to you...hahaha...the luxury cars would not even try to get into a brawl with you as they know that whatever happens, the jeep has nothing to lose...)

What would you do differently if you could re-do the build?
Get a complete SS Body made in HYD, Strengthen the chassis @ vital points for increased reliability.

What problems did you face after the build?
Nothing Big to write, but the usual squeaks, rattles which were taken care by the fortnightly visit to the mechanic.

What would you suggest to a newbie, a Rebuild or buy already-built?
If you have the "time & patience" - Rebuild, and if not get an already built jeep.

Would you do it again?
Yes, of course, but i would 1st like get a separate garage, some basic tools etc., so that my jeep mechanic can come and do the work on my supervision.

Why do you / don't you use your jeep as a daily runner?
Used my jeep as daily runner, to be frank abused it as a highway runner,(torturing it @90kmph speeds for 300-400kms at a stretch) but personal/family situation dictated a better vehicle - so sold it as i dont want it to be parked idle.

What would you do to make is more dependable?
LOTS & Lots of things can be done, the list is endless...
Old 3rd August 2012, 09:51   #17

Originally Posted by Chanderjeet View Post
Very well Sire. This is the only pic I have right now worth posting. All others are mere thumbnails.
Dear Chanderjeet - well, on the face of it, it is not encouraging. The front axle track does not seem to be 51" as required, seems to be 48" from the CL. This indicates that it may be a juggad vehicle. I need more photographs. Please don't take any hasty step.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd August 2012, 20:48   #18
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Chanderjeet - well, on the face of it, it is not encouraging. The front axle track does not seem to be 51" as required, seems to be 48" from the CL. This indicates that it may be a juggad vehicle. I need more photographs. Please don't take any hasty step.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
That's the kind of information I would not have known even if I sought after it. Thank's a lot, my liege.
Old 4th August 2012, 09:06   #19

That's the kind of information I would not have known even if I sought after it. Thank's a lot, my liege.
Dear Chanderjeet - my pleasure Sir! Please note that it is not easy to get original Jeeps in good condition. The construction of the vehicle and the general lack of knowledge of the actual customer (who may be an institutional buyer) + its operator (who may want to make a quick buck) both put together results in frequent abuse of the vehicle in dirty garages below trees who do not plan and execute, they just live from one day to another. The vehicle suffers, the customer gets fed up and wants to sell. There are many such vehicles where even engine oil is not changed for 50000 kms but the bills get paid and people pocket the money. I have seen everything. They will play upon your "desire to own a Jeep", reducing your rational decision making capability. In that short span of time (less than a minute), your resistance to buying will be minimum, you will decide to bring junk home and then your misery will start. Please be very careful.

That was the problem definition, so what is the solution? - please do not buy till you actually drive and feel the vehicle. That is the least you can do! Obviously, post more photographs in full close-up detail, I'll continue to give my comments.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 4th August 2012, 10:15   #20

IMHO, any Jeep - where the owner is willing to demostrate a "hard" test drive with easily changeable "4wd lever" - can be included in the wanted list.

also a very silent smooth jeep or a rattling noisy one - both are to be avoided. a jeep should sound as it was built to be, and this comes from experience, so test drive lots and lots of jeeps, dont think on wasting your amount/time on such test drives, the more you do, the more you gain later-on in the jeeping restoration.
Old 6th August 2012, 21:51   #21

MM540 DP and MM540 XD
Yes, of course!. Though my restoration is not complete. The 1st one is a real workhorse, and the 2nd one has stood enough abuse, to earn a name for itself!
I would NOT go for jugaad solutions, which I'm still drawn into, due to the ease of understanding and repairing. Give some real thought into each part you repair. Research properly ask for advice thoroughly. Make it technically 110% perfect before execution, so that after execution you will atleast get 90% perfection.
All jugaad solutions gave way. Including electricals. Eg: My rear housing tube, hoses giving away as I postponed the change etc..
Sir, to be frank, this is not a question to be answered in one sentence, as it depends on a lot of variables. But, if there was an option, I would go for "Brand New".

Reason: How much ever effort, time or money you put in to rebuild your Jeep, you will have some or the other shortcoming, in one or the other departments. For eg: you might not get proper information, or even with proper information you might not get proper skill to work on your Jeep, or even with both, you might not get proper equipment/resources.

Also, please note that my above comment on rebuilding is considering the fact that, you have enough (atleast 3 hours) time each day, to go through the process yourself. And, also unlimited amount of money (well, proper restorations can cost thrice the vehicle cost itself)

And I opted for "Brand New" because the factory has information, resources/equipment and skill. Also, there is no guarantee over the quality of a restored Jeep, unless you personally know the Jeep.

Would you do it again?
Well, to learn or as a hobby - DEFINITELY YES. But, for utility purpose - NO. I'd prefer to buy a brand new Thar/Gypsy from the factory and USE it, rather than spending my time running around issues.
Both my Jeeps are daily runners. Both of them are reliable, except for the aging issues, and regular Jeep maintenance. You know what I mean..
Dismantle each and every component of the vehicle, study it, do the necessary changes, making sure that its 100% right. This way, you can atleast know when the next part if going to give up on you.

Also, I'd like to make the interior more comfy, friendly and safe. In the sense, with proper seat belts, devoid of sharp objects etc..

P.S: Well, I'm not personally a fan of spic and span body work on Jeeps. I just need them to be trouble free, and not fall off.. To me, its not the way she looks, but how she performs. Function is anytime more important than form in a Jeep.
dhanushs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2012, 23:53   #22
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Originally Posted by dhanushs View Post
Sir, to be frank, this is not a question to be answered in one sentence, as it depends on a lot of variables. But, if there was an option, I would go for "Brand New".
That right there is the winner
Old 7th August 2012, 14:30   #23

Nice Thread.

I am looking forward for inputs from members who have owned/ rebuilt Gypsy. Also a question to Jeepers, Do jeeps require more attention than a Gypsy?
Old 11th August 2012, 13:12   #24

1996 Mahindra Classic

Its absolutely awesome and a head turner on road.

Give him a 3L diesel engine with Turbo charger mated to a 6 speed manual- purely in dream !

Nothing big except he time you spend for it and your family members stare at you when you return from a full day jeep worship(workshop) with dirty clothes.

I would like to repeat what other experts said, Rebuild is not everyone's cup of tea !

Would you do it again?
Once you do it you get addicted to it ! at least in my case

If you can get used to the jigs and niggles and squeaks and rattles most importantly have muscle to do the U turns in city acting as a deaf to other horns and manage to stare at them to say you are not sleeping! then you can use it as your daily runner like ME .

What ever is done a jeep remains a jeep !

Hope pics would clearly portray the difficulty of restoration but in this reg i was pretty lucky to have less works. Have a look @ my Classic before and after Restoration.
Ownership reviews of "Rebuilt Jeeps"-img_0829.jpg  

Ownership reviews of "Rebuilt Jeeps"-img_0851.jpg  

Last edited by mobike008 : 11th August 2012 at 19:41. Reason: 2 smileys per post ONLY
crazyjeeperk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2012, 17:05   #25

MM550 2001 army disposal
Yes
Better paint job, also should not have used a third rate timer for the glowplugs.
Fuel pump need servicing at a Lucas service centre cost <4000RS. Starting problems due to desi glowplug timer damaging the glowplugs. I replaced with a BERU timer but the damage was done to the glowplugs. This resulted in starting problems. Mechanics would check the plugs and insist they did not need replacing. Last December I got fed up with the starting issues and bought some new BERU glowplugs and asked a mechanic to fit them. He checked the originals and told me they did not need replacing. I insisted he replace them. Hey presto the XD3P began to start on first self.
Rebuild if you got the time.
Would you do it again?

Nope, would just buy a Thar.
It is not used very often because we have another car.
NA
Old 13th August 2012, 11:19   #26

I found information and direction however, I did not find a "ownership" experience thread for the Jeep that t-bhp members have restored.
have you read this ??

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2424874

I remember some more posts , let me find them .Will surely post the links

Sudarshan
Old 16th August 2012, 16:39   #27

1986 Mahindra CJ500D 4x4

Yes, very happy

Do a proper anti-rust treatment & body work at a good garage equipped with paint booth and better facilities

Most of them were niggling problems. Here are a few :-

1. Bottom radiator hose used to get rubbed by the belt and tear. Problem solved by opting for the OEM lower hose and OEM fan belt from M&M.

2. Jeep used to pull towards left while breaking. Opened and serviced all brakes and lubricated them.

3. Radiator used to lose water quite often due to a small leakage. Solved by adding a teaspoon of turmeric powder (Haldi) in it. Its holding fine till now. In the process of getting a new Radiator made.

4. T-Case lever used to slip every now and then to Neutral. The problem still persists, planning a t-case service in future.

5. Front prop-shaft had a typical clinging noise when the vehicle was in motion. Problem sorted by doing a lathe work on the shaft.

6. Starter motor refuses to work if the vehicle is hot (run for 15 - 20 kms at a stretch). Problem persists. Finding out a solution for it.

7. Oil drips from the engine oil sump. Looking for a suitable gasket.

I'd suggest Rebuild.

It's a tedious process but Rebuilding a jeep would teach you a lot of things. At times you will be frustrated and tempted to sell off your jeep. Many a times, you will also curse yourself for buying a 6 decade old junk and spending money on it. What I'd recommend to a jeeper is - Get the basics sorted out. Ensure that all the oils are changes, joints are lubricated, get the electricals sorted and drive around the jeep for some months initially.

Make a list of what you want to do with the Jeep (keep it stock or modify it with bigger rubber, lockers, SPOA etc). Also list the merits and de-merits of each modification and take a call. Sort out one thing at a time and enjoy the jeep.

Hunt for a good jeep mechanic or someone who has worked on older vehicles. Sit with him to understand what your jeep needs and how to go about it.

Most importantly, go through all the restoration threads on team-bhp. Touchbase with senior jeepers (read UBS, Behram sir, Arka, Suresh Stephan, Vinay Thomas and many more), share your jeep's photographs and ask for advice. The more you ask, the more you will be enlightened.

Would you do it again?
Yes. But in a proper way this time Have learned from my mistakes.
I used to use my Jeep earlier as a daily drive(30 kms from house to office). However, I have changed my job and train is faster and convenient for me now. I do drive my jeep on weekends for 10 - 15 kms.

The problem with my jeep is the speed. Even with a 47/11 crown pinion, its lethargically slow on highways. Guess the B275 was never made for road. On ghats, where other vehicles can climb with considerable speed, mine chugs like a loaded truck. Still looking for options to improve this. If nothing works out, engine change looks like the only option.

I remember a line written by Behram sir on my jeep rebuild thread, he said "There is nothing much to go wrong in the whole vehicle as there is nothing much in the first place "

I can depend on my jeep if I turn a blind eye towards the niggling problems. Never has it failed me or made me stranded anywhere except for the oil sump breakage at MGE which was a driver error.

Even on my weekend trips to our farmhouse (which requires engaging 4WD most of the times), the Jeep effortlessly takes me to the farm and back home without any problems.

Heck, I have carried Tiles, bricks, cement gunny bags.. even a 3 piece Sofa set to my farm house (read 15 kms on-road & about 7 kms on 4WD lo-range) without any problem. The 90 w.b does translate to more space when you need to move stuff around.

All in all, I am happy to have it as a second vehicle but it surely is not the first and only vehicle.

Hope this is helpful. All the best for your hunt and do keep us posted.

Last edited by Sabareesh : 16th August 2012 at 16:44.
Old 16th August 2012, 19:06   #28

1991 Maruti Gypsy MG410
Ofcourse im happy about it
wanted a matte black colour , present colour was brother's choice
no major issues , mainly fuel leaks , idling issues , T-case failed once (rebuilt it later) etc
If have the time & patience rebuild one . in rebuilding you would learn every bit of your vehicle , you would also know how to fix problems when you are out of reach from mechanics . Most importantly you can see where every penny is going while building .
Would you do it again?
Will surely do if i get time & money
Im more of a bike guy.
I already depend on my gypsy 100% , but still upgrades are always in the mind .

BEFORE
Ownership reviews of "Rebuilt Jeeps"-1.jpg

AFTER
Ownership reviews of "Rebuilt Jeeps"-2.jpg

Last edited by karizma9292 : 16th August 2012 at 19:07.
karizma9292 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2012, 20:28   #29

Originally Posted by karizma9292 View Post
1991 Maruti Gypsy MG410...wanted a matte black colour , present colour was brother's choice
That's a beautiful gypsy! Trust me, that color looks Awesome! Could you tell me which garage had worked on this, the time frame & the cost?
swiftnfurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2012, 16:47   #30

1964 CJ3B

Yes, it is a mountain goat when off-roading
Have a rust proof body tub(Aluminium or SS) and better soft top
Battery discharge as the vehicle was not used on a regular basis
If you want to learn and have loads of patience and time

If you want something that works off the shelf buy a new vehicle
Would you do it again?
Its an addiction, specially the DIY bits that one does by himself/herself
fuel cost and absence of a/c

It is a pretty reliable machine recently drove it to Jaipur without any hiccups at all

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com