Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 1st June 2023, 11:07   #16

Re: Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal

Originally Posted by ExplorerXIII View Post
Great restoration Rajith! Can you reveal the garage that worked on your Jeep in Calicut and total cost of the restoration.
Friend, If you read my post carefully i have mentioned as Restoration Phase 1 that means Phase 2 pics are going to come soon. As our beloved captain rightly quoted " yeh dil mange more " i have done finale restoration again at Anand cars - Mahindra ASC bangalore last month , so i don't prefer to mention Calicut episode in detail . Including jeep it costed me 8.5lacs for phase -1 restoration. Phase 2 was another 1.5lacs. Details to be published soon.

Originally Posted by Geo_Ipe View Post
Lovely machine!! Hats off to you for procuring & restoring this majestic Jeep - the last ones which Mahindra made.

Curious to know why you had to go all the way to MP to find a Major 4*4. There are plenty of them running in the hills of central Kerala, and quite a few are available for sale at 5-6L at any given point of time.
Most of the Major 4*4 from Kerala are used to hardcore ,with 4+ owners, Rust due to costal areas, Multiple technical issues , Body change. At MP i got a pristine piece with zero rust.

Originally Posted by jeeva View Post
Rajith Sir! Long time.
That's an awesome transformation. Congrats.
I was expecting to see the Gypsy wheels and Yoko tyres like your ex-Major.
Ex major was my lost love that made me to hunt and buy again and restore for his memory.
No Gypsy rims or AT again on him.

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
It looks like a specimen fresh out of the factory. Excellent restoration!

Thanks. It took a hell lot of hard work to get OEM parts, sourced from different dealers of Rajasthan, MP, Hyderabad and Bangalore. Especially monograms, Stickers, Wiper tanks, Instruments and its cluster etc

The last couple of pictures amused me, seeing an open Mahindra jeep (as it's usually called) stand beside an Endeavour in a car spa. Do you get questions from people when you drive it around? Would be interested to hear more about your experiences.
Haha , many many people even chase and stops me. I use this as my daily office drive, keeping my Legender AT sleeping at home. Mine will be the only 4x4 major roaming inside Bangalore city.

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Nice restoration of an old time Jeep... those of us who have gone through this process at least once can read between the lines, about all the trials and tribulations.

The price tag for the final product feels very high, but then times have changed. There is nothing cheap anymore. I hear that Mahindra Majors now command very a high price in the resale market.
Bhai, here money doesn't count, even if one keeps 10Lacs on the table , re making like will be next to impossible as i have gone thru this pain very recently.

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Excellent restoration Rajah and looks like factory fresh! Wishing you many many happy Kms on the old young jeep! Congratulations worth every penny spent!

Originally Posted by Abbas View Post
Wow!

Looks absolutely brand new. A set of AT tyres should making it even more capable and obviously will do wonders in the looks department.
Thanks, but No AT or MT, Just let him live a stock life.

My Ex major - 2010 - 4*4 inside Ooty forest during a mahindra great escape event .
Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-major-6543.jpg  

Last edited by Aditya : 2nd June 2023 at 20:06. Reason: As requested
Rajith is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th June 2023, 15:09   #17

Re: Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal

What a nostalgic post. I faintly remember my Nanaji driving one while he was posted in Amarkantak and little me sitting in my mother's lap in the passenger seat (I refused to sit anywhere else). Wish you many trouble free kms and years with it.
Old 14th June 2023, 14:34   #18

Phase -2 , Re work done at Mahindra ASC Bangalore - May 2023.

Yeh dil mange more !.

I was not 100% satisfied with fine details of the work done at Calicut. So decided to re strip him again. Did Black Raptor under body and Body color Raptor inside the Tub. Repainted Entire body with Mahindra Major original shade - Sunny Beige - got Code num RAL 7032 from plant with the help of Vinod Bhai.

Lets Pics speak now.

Items replaced.

1. New Bonnet (Old one was not clean on the surface).

2. New Speedo from Mahindra with same dress code (Old one was flickering between - 50-60km speed).

Phase 2 cost - 1.5lacs.

Time - 45 days.

Before Stripping.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-before.jpg

Bare Bone.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-bare-bone.jpg

Platform Levelling.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-platform-repair.jpg

Raptor Black.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-raptor-black.jpg

Dash board.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-dash-2.jpg

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-dash.jpg

Windshield.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-front-glass.jpg

Closeup.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-close-up.jpg

Final.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-final.jpg
Rajith is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 14th June 2023, 15:06   #19

Congratulations, That is a brand new Jeep by all means.

Major is no doubt the hardiest 4x4 one can find, It was surprisingly quick too. It still would have been on sale if it wasn't for the regulations.
Kosfactor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th June 2023, 10:15   #20
HTC

Congratulations on restoration. Looks like freshly baked out from assembly line. Looking at the amount you are spending, you seem to be listening more to your heart than your head 😉. No regrets as it gives you immense happiness and job well done too.

These old jeeps are pure function over form. I have seen them pulling trailers with 10-15 estate workers sitting in them in treacherous terrains as if.its nothing. The narrow profile of body gives them advantage in small roads aswell. When we went to a coorg homestay, owner took us on a night safari in his 1990s jeep. Similar to yours I guess. We were 8 including kids and all, but all squeezed in nice and fine in the jeep.

Hope you will use it to it's full potential. Have fun.

-
HTC
Old 19th June 2023, 09:53   #21

Originally Posted by HTC View Post
Congratulations on restoration. Looks like freshly baked out from assembly line. Looking at the amount you are spending, you seem to be listening more to your heart than your head 😉. No regrets as it gives you immense happiness and job well done too.
HTC
V true, i listens to heart than head when matters pertaining to passion and happiness comes in.

Unlike his CJ & CL predecessors this Major is one of the last ones rolled out on NGCS chassis with a Turbo Engine,5-speed 4x4 transmission, Hydraulic clutch and brakes with Disc and OKBJ front from Mahindra.

In other words its a 4x4 Bolero with a Major body.

So no guilt in spending !
Rajith is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th June 2023, 10:19   #22

Originally Posted by Rajith View Post
V true, i listens to heart than head when matters pertaining to passion and happiness comes in.
So very true. These things never make any financial sense and mostly are investments that never returns. But the happiness and the sense of satisfaction you get when you restore something and solve the issues one by one is just priceless. And this is a beautiful restoration project. Hats off to you and keep the updates flowing. Wishing you many happy miles on it.

OT: I recently picked up and is restoring/restomodding a 2002 Bolero GLX XD3P 2WD step by step. So sorry to hijack your thread!

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img2023061519193201.jpeg
Old 19th June 2023, 10:56   #23

Originally Posted by man_of_steel View Post

OT: I recently picked up and is restoring/restomodding a 2002 Bolero GLX XD3P 2WD step by step. So sorry to hijack your thread!

Attachment 2465728
Myself hijacked from Major 4x4 thread to a war machine Bolero 4x4 !.

My 2004 Bolero GLX XD3P 4x4 then and now pics. Fully upgraded. Cant share the expenses for faint hearts if any !

in 2019 June.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20190613173159.jpg

Now.

Attachment 2465734

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_8814.jpg

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_8367.jpg
Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_8945.jpg  

Last edited by Rajith : 19th June 2023 at 10:59.
Rajith is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2023, 15:46   #24

My mahindra boys line up ! Scorpio 2wd escorted by 2 - 4x4 Macho machines..
Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_3164.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_3170.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-img_3167.jpg  

Last edited by Rajith : 23rd June 2023 at 15:47.
Rajith is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2023, 19:03   #25

My 2004 Bolero GLX XD3P 4x4 then and now pics. Fully upgraded. Cant share the expenses for faint hearts if any !
I think I have couple of pics of this Bolero I shot back in 2008.

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-p9201775l.jpg

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-p9201724l.jpg
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th June 2023, 19:40   #26

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I think I have couple of pics of this Bolero I shot back in 2008.
This was a different one. That was Rajith's stock medium wheelbase, Bolero DI Turbo 4WD with AC etc. The current one is the the standard wheelbase one with some serious power under the hood.
4x4addict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th June 2023, 20:44   #27

Ah, Ok. With Mahindra vehicles it is hard to say, since owners can change practically anything including the body.
Old 11th September 2023, 09:27   #28

My spoiled boy after a spa, getting ready for a show event..
Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20230910163251.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20230910160847.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20230910160848-1.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20230910160848.jpg  

Legend Reborn | Mahindra Major 4x4 (CL550) | Found in the ravines of Chambal-photo20230910160848-2.jpg  

Rajith is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th September 2023, 14:14   #29

My spoiled boy after a spa, getting ready for a show event..
What a beautiful jeep!

Jay
Old 12th September 2023, 10:04   #30

Originally Posted by JayPrashanth View Post
What a beautiful jeep!

Jay
Well, I dunno....the red injector cover does match my eyes but it kind of clashes with the green battery .

This jeep really is a work of art. Keeping my red eyes open for one. I will also restore it to better than new.