Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 24th September 2009, 00:00   #31

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
i never doubt a toyota truck's reliability and its workmanship by Toyota!

my brother had a 4Runner diesel in Afghanistan for 3 years. took him to places far and wide and got him out of difficult situations too!

hey cant we simply buy toyota trucks from nepal and bring them to india?
but duty will need to paid, right!

many bhutanese bring them to darjeeling, and keep it for months.
Old 25th September 2009, 17:10   #32

@ nepalken: How much would a used one but running condition hilux cost in Nepal, and any inputs on the duty (any special due to some treaty with India) !!
Old 25th September 2009, 17:47   #33

Originally Posted by AltoHoncho View Post
@ nepalken: How much would a used one but running condition hilux cost in Nepal, and any inputs on the duty (any special due to some treaty with India) !!
There's this law that prohabit's import of vehicles older than a few years, so please do your homework carefully before you go out there to buy one of these. One of my friends wanted to get a 60's mustang and he was'nt able to.

Anyways, 90's Hilux's and 4 runners are available here too. I remember looking at an advertisement in one of the Auto magazines of a 92 Hatchback Hilux going for about 2.2Lakhs in delhi about a year ago. Then there's this guy in Mohali Ph-1 who used to have(or maybe still owns it) an Ex-Jackie Shrof Black Hilux pickup, complete with 33" tires and 4" lift, and as far as i've heard, he bought it for not more than a lakh.

But, considering we can now get our hand on a Tata Xenon, do you really want to get an older vehicle.
Old 25th September 2009, 21:14   #34

Forget the idea of buying in Nepal and importing in India. Nepal has 180% plus 13% VAT against import of vehicle. A 12,000 US$ vehicle would cost 40,000 US$ in Nepal. A 1988 model Hilux in running condition cost me INR 5 lacs more than 2 years ago. Buying in India would be cheap and logical.
Old 26th September 2009, 15:03   #35

Surprising Nepal has such a steep rate of import duty. Does Nepal have an auto industry of its own, in terms of manufacturing/assembling vehicles?
Old 15th October 2009, 09:20   #36

It has Hulas Motors which assembles chinese components and which looks like a vehicle to me. It doesn't sell much. A lot of revenue is generated via vehicle import.
Old 19th October 2010, 21:46   #37

Guerrilla Truck

" Toyota Hilux is the vehicular equivalent of the AK-47. It’s ubiquitous to insurgent warfare. And actually, recently, also counterinsurgent warfare. It kicks the hell out of the Humvee. "

Why Rebel Groups Love the Toyota Hilux - Newsweek
Old 20th October 2010, 00:01   #38

hey i picked up my Hilux in May. its 2.7 ltr, 158 bhp, twin airbag, ABS, AT and 4x4.
The Toyota Hilux Thread-dsc02126a.jpg  

Old 20th October 2010, 08:28   #39

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
hey i picked up my Hilux in May. its 2.7 ltr, 158 bhp, twin airbag, ABS, AT and 4x4.
Hi Parm,
Thats one hell of a 4X4, oozing brawn and beauty.
Old 24th October 2010, 19:17   #40

Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
" Toyota Hilux is the vehicular equivalent of the AK-47. It’s ubiquitous to insurgent warfare. And actually, recently, also counterinsurgent warfare. It kicks the hell out of the Humvee. "

Why Rebel Groups Love the Toyota Hilux - Newsweek

From the same article:

Pickup Trucks From Warzones Across the Globe - Newsweek

and