Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th November 2010, 18:45   #1

MM550 Jeep Restored

Hey guys, I'm from Bangalore and I would like to tell you a story of my jeep life up until today.

The journey has been a long and arduous one, but nevertheless a fruitful and enriching experience.

Just to introduce myself...I've been driving a jeep for the last 21 years, my first being a 1951 Willys CJ and the story moves from one jeep to another, and today I own three, 2 of them on the road and 1 which is undergoing restoration. Out of the 2 one is my fav, a 1996 MM540 DP. This is the one I use most often for my trips from B'lore to Ooty. It's a true pleasure driving this and I will not for anything part with it. I've got pics of this and I've posted them below...let me know what you guys think...PS I'm looking for an additional 4wd electronic gearbox to fit on to the newly fitted Scorpio 5-speed gearbox and would be open to any reviews, comments, suggestions from anyone.

The next is an ex-army 550 XD3P (pics posted also), which I've restored in complete down to brass tacks. It was an endeavor from the time I picked it up from the auctioner in Madras up until today. This is my story of getting my hands on the most talked of jeep, the MM550, going through the restoration, and owning it today.

Although I had undertaken previous restoration works, this one was special considering the journey from one place to another and for all the adventures I experienced in between.

Firstly, this jeep was picked up in an immovable condition from Madras one rainy day. I paid a token to return back with the full amount in a week. I was supposed to be getting my mechanic from B'lore (apparently I have a workshop here) to check the mechnicals out as the body restoration and painting was given...it had to be done! Also, to give the rain gods some time to move away, because it was raining cats and dogs...