Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 1st March 2006, 13:15   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,965
Thanked: 306 Times
Default Connecting 2 amps to a HU. Impossible??

Hi ICEmen,

After deciding to combine two cars' ICE setup and plonk it in a single car(ikon).
I'm facing this difficulty:

My plan:
HU: Pio 6750
Front spk: Stock(from ford)
Rear spk : Pio 6990 (on MDF parcel tray)
Sub 1: Pio 305F (on MDF parcel tray)-powered by Sony xplod 502 amp
Sub 2: Pio 305C (in MDF Enclosure)- powered by pio 6000F amp

The 6990s are also powered by the 6000F amp

My installer said its impossible to jointly use 2 amps without an equalizer.So, this is the current config.

Everything as said above, except:

Sub 1, Sub2 and 6990s are all powered by a single 6000F amp. :(

Is it possible to connect 2 amps to an HU so that i can configure the setup as per my plan mentioned above. If so, how??

Thx in advance
nitrous is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 13:22   #2
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Default Facing The Same Problem

Hi,

This is my request to allthe audio guru's here.

Please help us and guide how 2 connect 2 Amps to a Single HU.

Right now the audio guy in my area has doubled the RC Cable to give audio input 2 the amps.

Wud like 2 knw is the setup right for proper sound output, or is there any other method.

Please Guide

Thanx
rareone is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 13:35   #3
BHPian
 
prince85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 971
Thanked: 121 Times
Default

nitrous as far as my knowledge tells me is that to connect 2 amplifiers (4ch and 2ch or monoblock) u need to have 3 pairs of rca pre-outs. The pioneer 6750 has 2 pairs of pre-outs which will at best work with a 4 ch amp or two 2ch amps.

I would suggest you to exchange your head-unit for one which has 3 pairs of rca pre-outs ie pioneer 5750, 7750, P1Y etc.

I am sure the audio gurus like sam, gunbir, audiophile, navin, jkdas and others will chip in their views .

Hope it helps. Cheers.
prince85 is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 13:49   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 24,444
Thanked: 7,304 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous
Hi ICEmen,
My plan:
HU: Pio 6750
Front spk: Stock(from ford)
Rear spk : Pio 6990 (on MDF parcel tray)
Sub 1: Pio 305F (on MDF parcel tray)-powered by Sony xplod 502 amp
Sub 2: Pio 305C (in MDF Enclosure)- powered by pio 6000F amp
The 6990s are also powered by the 6000F amp
Sub 1, Sub2 and 6990s are all powered by a single 6000F amp. :(
you can connect 2 amps all you need is a Y connector. However make sure this connector is laid out where there are no power cables as you can introduce alternaor noise very easily.

HU Front------> front speakers
Rear ------> 6000F --------> 6990
Sub -------> Y connector ------> 6000F --------> 305C
_______________________------> 502F --------> 305F

OR

HU Front------> front speakers
Rear ------> Y connector ------> 6000F --------> 6990 and 305C
_______________________------> 502F --------> 305F

In the second option the 6000F must have LPF engaged for channels used for the 305C.

If the 6000F has a fullrange out that can be used to feed the 502 and then you dont need the connector.

Last edited by navin : 1st March 2006 at 13:53.
navin is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 13:59   #5
BANNED
 
mclaren1885's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bangalore (the city of modded cars) !!
Posts: 4,820
Thanked: 39 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (10)
Default

Like navin said a Y connector is all u need .. Should be available at prices ranging from 350 - 600 depending on the make ..
mclaren1885 is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 14:31   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,965
Thanked: 306 Times
Default

Thanks, guys.
My installer says there is provision for just a single front/rear RCA output and a Sub output only.

I have a feeling there are 3 pairs.One for the front, rear and Sub.
Can anyone confirm??
nitrous is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 16:36   #7
BHPian
 
prince85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 971
Thanked: 121 Times
Default

pioneer 6750 has 2 pairs of pre-outs
prince85 is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 17:00   #8
BHPian
 
rareone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 256
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Thanx for the details of previous query.

Can anyone suggest which one is the best pioneer HU when i have

2 Sony 504 Amps + Sony Rear Speakers (4way i think) + 2 SOny 12" Subs,
with Pioneer Tweeter & Sony Front Speakers.

Wud b glad for suggestion & idea's.

Thanx a lot
rareone is offline  
Old 1st March 2006, 17:23   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 24,444
Thanked: 7,304 Times
Default

rareone, the HU can be any that fits your budget, aesthetics, and sound.
navin is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks