Old 11th February 2013, 22:14   #1

A Career in Car Audio?

Hi guys,

I have been fascinated by ICE and have been into it since a few years. Though I am relatively new, I want to work in the industry. I have done numerous DIYs and installs, but I do not know the way forward, especially here in India.

I am a graduate in mass media with specialization in advertising, and am currently doing my Masters in London (but I don't like it).

Since this is the leading automotive forum in India with many Audio gurus and enthusiasts, I am looking for some advice to get started in the car audio industry.

I'm looking forward to all your inputs...

Last edited by GTO : 12th February 2013 at 15:49. Reason: Typo
HimuraKenshin is offline   Received Infraction
Old 12th February 2013, 09:46   #2

re: A Career in Car Audio?

I don't want to dampen your spirit, but ...

* ICE, as you describe it, is not a career. Trading / selling is. All those who are into it are into trading / selling first, for money (that is what a career is all about, right?), not for the kicks that they might get out of it. Are you up to it?

* From a slightly different p-o-v, ICE is a career for some people with engineering background - designing better products for someone else to manufacture and sell

* What you love to do may not be the right career choice (there is a Hindi saying for it: Ghoda ghaas se pyar karega to khayega kya). The right choice for a career is what you can drive yourself to do good in - without any emotion or 'liking' associated with it

* If you have a good career otherwise, you can still indulge in doing installs as a hobby, without being dependent on it as a means of livelihood. Remember, beyond a certain point in life, you don't just live for yourself only, right?

* The installers have very limited career opportunities otherwise, and they are first and foremost skilled artisans / technicians (most of them rely on physical labor, and not knowledge, to earn money). Do you think you are in the same situation, given that your education is more about a very intellectual pursuit?
DerAlte is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 12th February 2013, 11:00   #3

Just to add my 2 cents to what DerAlte bhai had said.. very very limited population (generally) does require professional installation/like. I've come across (as a layman) 3 kinds of people -- One wants just the sound (for them Sony/Pio HU + 2 or 4 speakers are enough); Other wants all the boom (fake alpines, Pio speakers, TS 20s and what not) and the last being serious about their sound (may be boom, may be SQ, may be SQL .. blah blah!.. to each its own!).

Most probably you're looking for a career targetting the last category.. But as I said earlier, off the entire lot.. 3rd category people are miniscule in number.

Most of the people in 1st 2 categories are not serious about installations.. but there are some serious people in 3 rd category that would go to any extent for professional installations.

Further.. if you are still adamnat about pursing a career in ICE as an installer/trader.. do contact members like B&T, LBM, Gunbir, JB to name a few for their expert advice and guidance.
panky12345 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2013, 11:31   #4
NMS

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post

* What you love to do may not be the right career choice (there is a Hindi saying for it: Ghoda ghaas se pyar karega to khayega kya). The right choice for a career is what you can drive yourself to do good in - without any emotion or 'liking' associated with it

* If you have a good career otherwise, you can still indulge in doing installs as a hobby, without being dependent on it as a means of livelihood. Remember, beyond a certain point in life, you don't just live for yourself only, right?
There are some statements which just stick in your head !! Sir, the one in Italics is just that .. Stuck a chord somewhere !!

Regarding your dilemma HK, why not continue with your existing career, and in the meanwhile in parallel also explore your options with regards to having a career in ICE and how you can expand your horizons with regards to entertainment. Things we never imagined could have been businesses earlier, are a rage now.
I recently visited a showroom which provides high end Home Automation solutions along with Home Theatre Setups and Audio setups for Audiophiles !! The guy setting this up apparently loved music and setting up good solutions, but needed to do more to survive, and he is managing pretty well now!
The point I am trying to put across is in line with the first point put by DerAlte, Expand your horizons so that you can strike a balance of the things you like to do and some that you would do to afford a good living.
Old 12th February 2013, 11:41   #5

Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
Hi guys,
I have been fascinated by ICE and have been into it since a few years, thought i am relatively you, i want to work in the industry. I have done numerous DIYs and installs, but i do not know the way forward, especially here in india.
(I am a graduate in mass media with specialising in advertising am currently doing my masters in london but i dont like it)
Since this is the leading automotive forum in India with many Audio gurus and enthusiasts i am looking for some advice to get started in the car audio industry.
Im looking forward to all your inputs...
Keep in mind that an average customer will not want to pay more than Rs 100 for installation (in fact they would want this free).
If you are prepared to take this up as a hobby - then by all means ...
Otherwise I don't see much lucrativeness in this job unless you are also involved in the selling of ICE, in which case you would be engaged more in customer interaction than spending time in the car setting up ICE.
Old 12th February 2013, 12:36   #6

(I am a graduate in mass media with specialising in advertising am currently doing my masters in london but i dont like it)
There are 2 parts to life.

a. Doing what you like
b. Making a living

Very few are able to do both. Some like our much missed friend, Sam "the Yeti" Kapasi, was fortunate to be be one of these few.

Audio's golden years was in the mid 50s to late 60s. Around 1980 someone penned a song that said "Video killed the Radio Star". Well they were right, and more so in India. The advent of TV in India killed the audio business.

ICE's best years was a short lived era around the mid to late 80s. As modern cars have integrated various other functions into what was once a center console dedicated for audio, 3rd party ICE systems have become either the domian of a few who are crazy enough to spend 1L+ on processors and amps or those who are happy with the OEM sound or some Dhoom, Tizz, and Boom by upgrading the speakers or adding a subwoofer or an amp to an exisiting OEM system.

I would suggest to keep ICE and Audio as part of your passion and finding another avenue for your carreer.
navin is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 12th February 2013, 15:59   #7

Re: A Career in Car Audio?

You're barely into your twenties. An advantage because you can spend a lot of time learning and taking risks. Since all you know is that you love car audio, but not specifically what part of the industry you'd like to work in (or where the money is ), my suggestion is as follows.

Work with a company or dealer of repute. It could be a manufacturer of car audio products (lots of brands in India now) or a successful dealer + installer. Start on a clean slate and understand the business. You'll have a clearer picture then of what you really want to do.

When I was 20, I wanted to be a big plywood wholesaler. When I was 25, I wanted to become a car dealer. What happened finally wasn't on the radar at all earlier : At 27, I started Team-BHP & my education business. You don't know where life will take you, just give every day your best.

Sam Kapasi started out with a tiny repair shop in Bandra. He went on to play a pivotal role in establishing JBL as a pioneer (pun intended ) of the Indian audio scene.

Relax, you have your entire life ahead of you. Do what you really want to do. If it's car audio you love, then just go out and do the best job you can in the car audio industry. Start at the entry level and learn the ropes, then work your way up. If it doesn't work out, atleast you'd know you tried (instead of repenting it all through life). If it works, come back & share your story with us.

Last edited by GTO : 12th February 2013 at 22:24.
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 12th February 2013, 18:02   #8

Adding to GTO.

Do the following as now-a-days you would need to stand-out from the rest of the crowd.
  • Start a website:
  • Offer services like installing crossovers, Dobly Decoders
  • Install Transducers and central channel speakers.(Pioneer DEQ-7850)
  • Bring in some innovation like Tactile transducers for car (Available on internet but installers are almost nil)
  • Perform Installs like PS3 / PS2 for car etc
  • Have some tie-ups and facilities to fabricate custom enclosures
  • Concenrate on "Volcals". A Carnatic Music or Mohd Rafi fan would not want Boom-Boom but clarity in Voice. (Most dealers say this sounds more loud and boom-boom is more in this model.
With this your passion would also get you income and you can become famous. If you are lucky, some company might pay you royalty and buy designs from you.

Last edited by scopriobharath : 12th February 2013 at 18:04.
Old 13th February 2013, 16:56   #9

Some of us here knew that we'd be into ICE Techie/Installations from our chidhood days when before holding the steering wheel we turned the Car Stereo knob,if you have that kick inside you,stop wasting your time,leave whatever your doing and get into it fully,you cannot make your career baised on random comments.Either do it or leave it

Ramie
ramie2400 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th February 2013, 23:00   #10

Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
Adding to GTO.

Do the following as now-a-days you would need to stand-out from the rest of the crowd.
[*]Start a website:[*]Offer services like installing crossovers, Dobly Decoders[*]Install Transducers and central channel speakers.(Pioneer DEQ-7850)[*]Bring in some innovation like Tactile transducers for car (Available on internet but installers are almost nil)[*]Perform Installs like PS3 / PS2 for car etc[*]Have some tie-ups and facilities to fabricate custom enclosures[*]Concenrate on "Volcals". A Carnatic Music or Mohd Rafi fan would not want Boom-Boom but clarity in Voice. (Most dealers say this sounds more loud and boom-boom is more in this model.With this your passion would also get you income and you can become famous. If you are lucky, some company might pay you royalty and buy designs from you.
LOL Scopriobharat, you sound a bit like I did.

Tactile transducers? In around 1995 I did manage to stick a few under the seats on a Zen, they work well when they are sandwiched in a rear seat but did not work too well in the front seat. I'd say installers today need to understand more about modern systems which integrate with other car functions. DSPs in where car audio is headed.
navin is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2013, 14:13   #11
NMS

Today I accidentally stumbled upon this thread:

If it is really about your dream career,

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...e-forever.html

Give this thread a look
Old 19th February 2013, 09:30   #12

Hi guys!
Sorry for the late reply, i was busy packing and have arrived back home in mumbai. Thanks for the overwhelming response. I have started my research on companies based in mumbai. I will start calling them from tomorrow. I am hoping to work in the marketing side of the car audio industry to start of with. From there lets see where life takes me.
If you guys do have any suggestion as to which companies i can call, do let me know. Till now i have only found the contact details of JBL india.

You're barely into your twenties. An advantage because you can spend a lot of time learning and taking risks. Since all you know is that you love car audio, but not specifically what part of the industry you'd like to work in (or where the money is ), my suggestion is as follows.

Work with a company or dealer of repute. It could be a manufacturer of car audio products (lots of brands in India now) or a successful dealer + installer. Start on a clean slate and understand the business. You'll have a clearer picture then of what you really want to do.

When I was 20, I wanted to be a big plywood wholesaler. When I was 25, I wanted to become a car dealer. What happened finally wasn't on the radar at all earlier : At 27, I started Team-BHP & my education business. You don't know where life will take you, just give every day your best.

Sam Kapasi started out with a tiny repair shop in Bandra. He went on to play a pivotal role in establishing JBL as a pioneer (pun intended ) of the Indian audio scene.

Relax, you have your entire life ahead of you. Do what you really want to do. If it's car audio you love, then just go out and do the best job you can in the car audio industry. Start at the entry level and learn the ropes, then work your way up. If it doesn't work out, atleast you'd know you tried (instead of repenting it all through life). If it works, come back & share your story with us.
Thank you a lot for your support, i plan to do exactly what you advised me. That is, to work with a company first, to learn the trade. Then, only time will tell what i do with the knowledge i received.

Last edited by DerAlte : 19th February 2013 at 13:40. Reason: Back to back posts
Old 19th February 2013, 11:51   #13

Hi guys!
Sorry for the late reply, i was busy packing and have arrived back home in mumbai. Thanks for the overwhelming response. I have started my research on companies based in mumbai. I will start calling them from tomorrow. I am hoping to work in the marketing side of the car audio industry to start of with. From there lets see where life takes me.
If you guys do have any suggestion as to which companies i can call, do let me know. Till now i have only found the contact details of JBL india.
That's because only JBL seems to be interested in tapping the market in India.
The other brands prefer to get lost among the Sonys and Pioneers ... (so you may also check up on Sony and Pioneer)