Old 30th July 2006, 21:45   #1

Aftermarket Alternators

How to choose an Aftermarket Alternator for our cars ?
This is primarily WRT Audio Performance Enhancement, there are Aftermarket alternators available by Stinger which go upto 320 Amps, now what are we supposed to keep in mind while buying one for a car like a Zen or a City , I know the fact that vehicles need compatiable alternators for them, any alternator cannot fit into any car.
So what is the deciding factor, how to choose an Alternator for our cars.
Experts ??
Old 31st July 2006, 14:03   #2

ron why do u want to install upto 320 amps alternater in ur car.......what stuff ur going to use in it....
Old 1st August 2006, 13:10   #3

What is such a big alternator for ? which car ?
Old 1st August 2006, 16:58   #4

Blue raven he must be getting in to Livin Loud, Explicit BASS !! ......lol
Old 1st August 2006, 22:57   #5

LBM, you are right bro, It is going to be loud, planning a DB Drag Setup for this year, here are the goodies ,

1 Hifonics Golaith 5000 RMS Mono amp
2 12" Kicker SoloX subs
Full 0Ga wiring for power, have not decided on the gauge for the subs.
1 1200 Amps Performance battery
Am also fitting speakers for daily use,
3 Sets of Component Speakers, have not decided , budget per set is 20k
2 Rockford Fosgate P4004 4 Channel Amps ( Any better alternatives for SQ ?? )
Also adding a Power Supply unit to charge the battery, mostly 80 Amps.

Now cant decide on the Alternator, the Stock Astra Alternator is definitely not good enough for this setup, so was looking at Stinger.

So anyone knows anything about how to choose the right one ??

Last edited by 929RON : 1st August 2006 at 22:58.
Old 2nd August 2006, 10:49   #6

Dude if you are really going to do this and drive this car around I'd suggest investing in a dual battery isolator. I am fond of music but not at the cost of being stuck with a dead battery.

a 320A alternator will cost you a lot of mods to the engine bay just to fit it in. I suggest you find someone very competent at this or you are going to have a mess on your hands.
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:14   #7

all right then as navin ji suggested go for double or even triple battery setup as ur load will be way above 500 amps. u will be needing to play the system for a short duration in the db drag and not continously so adding a extra battery will do ur job.....

Even I am running a 2500 watts rms system in my car with a single battery to voltage drop is there but it work good if i have to play for short durations....

But if u plan to play it loud for continous 2-3 hours making ur brains wash out then I think u will need to go for a HO alternater.........

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 2nd August 2006 at 11:16.
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:32   #8

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker

But if u plan to play it loud for continous 2-3 hours making ur brains wash out then I think u will need to go for a HO alternater.........
LOL, No I dont intend to do that, and yeah i have thought about 2 bats, probably just for DB Drag I will remove one bat for a day, as a car can have only 1 bat with certain specs in Street Categories.

Lets see what this turns out to be, it sure will be a monster,
My friend has a SOLOX 18" with 2, KX2500.1 amps, and that is a beast, but its not music to ears, its rather way of getting the wax in your ears come out automatically.
Old 2nd August 2006, 11:42   #9

Originally Posted by 929RON
its rather way of getting the wax in your ears come out automatically.
man my friends says the same thing to me..........
Old 2nd August 2006, 19:23   #10

Originally Posted by 929RON
2 Rockford Fosgate P4004 4 Channel Amps ( Any better alternatives for SQ ?? )
U can also have a look at JL Audio's slash series amplifiers.
Old 3rd August 2006, 00:07   #11

Originally Posted by rsjaurr
U can also have a look at JL Audio's slash series amplifiers.
YEP, good option, will do, though costs more but worth it. JL Rocks in SQ
Old 3rd August 2006, 01:04   #12

yaar we have the tru and audison also onboard ..........