Old 2nd August 2007, 17:18   #16

Yaar clip are you going to tune your amp or making one...drop down to Delhi and I will help you tune it.
Old 2nd August 2007, 18:27   #17

hi deralte,

im getting a 16mhz cro scope used tektronic, the same company you mentioned for 4500rs. i think its good enough and there is a 60mhz one for around 9k. i think the 16mhz one will do for now for audio right?

i need money. :-(

LBM paaji, i woud rather buy that scope instead of coming to del as the scope woud be much cheaper than a del trip lol. and its nt that i dont trust you with tuning but i want to do it my self and learn something in the process. if i wanted to get it tuned by a pro like you i would have asked jb(he didnt even listen to the amp, he tuned it when in between the installation and it was spot on(for me). i mean no offence bro :-)

i wish dropping down to delhi was easy. lol i ll try and only come when i have enough $$$ to buy everything i what i have on my shopping list.
clip

Last edited by clipto333 : 2nd August 2007 at 18:30.
Old 2nd August 2007, 18:29   #18

Good for you sir...experience makes a man perfect....
Old 2nd August 2007, 19:00   #19

Originally Posted by clipto333 View Post
im getting a 16mhz cro scope used tektronic, the same company you mentioned for 4500rs. ... i think the 16mhz one will do for now for audio right?
That was fast! Sounds good, IF the small aluminium label at the back says "Made in USA" and not "Made by USA", and it comes with the original probes and wires. Check out the model on the internet, you will be able to compare the pic with the one you are getting.

Yes, 16Mhz is enough, unless you are getting into RF design. Check if all the functions are working and whether the CRT has any problems.

i need money. :-(
Who doesn't!?!

enough $$$ to buy everything i what i have on my shopping list
... not to mention the better half's list!
Old 2nd August 2007, 19:18   #20

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Good for you sir...experience makes a man perfect....
IMO experience make a person more capable. no one can be perfect lol. :-)

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
That was fast! Sounds good, IF the small aluminium label at the back says "Made in USA" and not "Made by USA", and it comes with the original probes and wires. Check out the model on the internet, you will be able to compare the pic with the one you are getting.

Yes, 16Mhz is enough, unless you are getting into RF design. Check if all the functions are working and whether the CRT has any problems.

Who doesn't!?!

... not to mention the better half's list!
where there is a will, there is a way. :-)

ill check with the person and ill post pics before buying.

the guy has garunteed that the scopes are in good working condition, never repaired and they would give me everything that comes along and it will be calibrated and i will get the calib certificate. sound good enough, nahi?

the guy also has given me the option to trade in whenever i want to upgrade. i think this is the cheapest and the best i can get for the money. are these btw accurate enough?

the guy said the used scopes are from people who trade in to upgrade. so i think this solve my woes. can the 16mhz scope used for debugging a diy amp? im sure it would as the trasistor switching is not that fast if im not wrong(correct me here) the high badwidth scopes from what i know are used for lens testing etc in audio.

one more thing i wanted to ask is that i have an old pentium 133 mhz laptop(toshiba sattelite) the lcd was broken so i stripped apart the thing. i have the mother board which has millions of smd components(these guys must be genious to design these electronics) i thought i would throw it away but i wanted to ak if it has any use for any one? if yes i will give it to the person(obviously free of cost) why waste. what do you say guys?

clip
Old 3rd August 2007, 10:14   #21

IMO experience make a person more capable. no one can be perfect lol. :-)
Quote of the day !

the guy has garunteed that the scopes are in good working condition, never repaired and they would give me everything that comes along and it will be calibrated and i will get the calib certificate. sound good enough, nahi?

the guy also has given me the option to trade in whenever i want to upgrade. i think this is the cheapest and the best i can get for the money. are these btw accurate enough?
Fantastic. The guy knows a bit. Otherwise, most people are not conscious of the value of calibration. Accuracy depends on calibration (apart from the basic instrument design), and a genuine Tektroniks is good for what it states.

Can the 16mhz scope used for debugging a diy amp? im sure it would as the trasistor switching is not that fast if im not wrong(correct me here) the high badwidth scopes from what i know are used for lens testing etc in audio.
DIY amp debugging, of course. Much better than using a DMM even if it is true RMS. The edge/slope measurement also depends on the (probe) cable capacitance, and the originals are good enough for even PWM work. Yes, for CD lens testing one needs a FAST digital osci, but that is an overkill for LF work.

one more thing i wanted to ask is that i have an old pentium 133 mhz laptop(toshiba sattelite) the lcd was broken so i stripped apart the thing. i have the mother board which has millions of smd components(these guys must be genious to design these electronics) i thought i would throw it away but i wanted to ak if it has any use for any one? if yes i will give it to the person(obviously free of cost) why waste. what do you say guys?
Actually, most of the high density design is automated, with very little human intervention.
Reusing SMD components would be pointless, since a. un/mounting them is like a watch-repair job and b. you cant figure out which component is what.
A better use for old working laptops is streaming AV to TV from PCs ("Media Lounge Player"). One only needs a LAN/wireless card appropriate for that laptop/OS, and a TV-Out USB adapter. Display kaput? No problem, use the TV as the display (low-res, but serves the purpose).
Old 3rd August 2007, 12:14   #22

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Quote of the day !

Fantastic. The guy knows a bit. Otherwise, most people are not conscious of the value of calibration. Accuracy depends on calibration (apart from the basic instrument design), and a genuine Tektroniks is good for what it states.

DIY amp debugging, of course. Much better than using a DMM even if it is true RMS. The edge/slope measurement also depends on the (probe) cable capacitance, and the originals are good enough for even PWM work. Yes, for CD lens testing one needs a FAST digital osci, but that is an overkill for LF work.

Actually, most of the high density design is automated, with very little human intervention.
Reusing SMD components would be pointless, since a. un/mounting them is like a watch-repair job and b. you cant figure out which component is what.
A better use for old working laptops is streaming AV to TV from PCs ("Media Lounge Player"). One only needs a LAN/wireless card appropriate for that laptop/OS, and a TV-Out USB adapter. Display kaput? No problem, use the TV as the display (low-res, but serves the purpose).
should i add the quote in my signature? lol

ok, so i think ill buy the scope. i cant get a better deal i guess. i was thinking of getting a used scope from ebay US but that will cost me more with a headache of asking your relatives to buy online and sending it to me.

ill see what i can do with it. its designed for win95. i dont think ill use it. it has 16mb ram, around 1 gb hdd.

thanks for the help
clip

Last edited by clipto333 : 3rd August 2007 at 12:21.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com