Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th September 2020, 10:56   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Central IL
Posts: 2,748
Thanked: 6,041 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

What’s the advantage of an Android unit over Android Auto? I assumed the latter would be the easiest solution for OEMs to integrate your phones.

If these Android units allow video playback while driving (much like the generic made in China Android units some taxi drivers use), I’ll be disappointed as it presents a safety hazard.
landcruiser123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2020, 11:17   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 228
Thanked: 694 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
I still feel its far better to have an Android head unit compared to some stock touch screen unit which while good, lacks android auto or apple car play.
I kind of tend to agree with you. This is the second best option. As long as GMaps and other Music Apps work on this, even phone pairing will work over Bluetooth. I guess the voice control from phone will be missed which may work directly on the Headunit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SansGT View Post
What about Freestyle/Aspire/Figo? Will they get this update too?
I am guessing that its only a matter of time before some wise guy (our TBhp Mod Gods) will come back with some ways to get the same flashed on other HUs from these cars as well. I mean if the hardware is the same may be the same Firmware OS can be flashed - but usually this process is marred with Risks.
swarnava.ch is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2020, 11:22   #18
BHPian
 
SansGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Thane/Kolkata
Posts: 177
Thanked: 466 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by swarnava.ch View Post

I am guessing that its only a matter of time before some wise guy (our TBhp Mod Gods) will come back with some ways to get the same flashed on other HUs from these cars as well. I mean if the hardware is the same may be the same Firmware OS can be flashed - but usually this process is marred with Risks.
I believe Ford will themselves give the same. There is no logic in having two different software providers for two different cars. They would get a much better deal if they use Android across the lineup.
SansGT is offline  
Old 25th September 2020, 12:02   #19
BHPian
 
PratikPatel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 234
Thanked: 1,022 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Its a double edged sword. Due to the choices made by Ford you can ditch the whole ICE and upgrade to an aftermarket unit such as the Pioneer DMH-Z6350 and on the other hand with units like Sync3 there is not much room to play around with the system.

I own a Global Fiesta with the original Sync I version. While I would love to upgrade to after market unit, I have really got no options to do so. If I ditch the whole Sync unit I loose features like rain sensing wipers as the feature is controlled through the Sync unit.

Having lived with the original Sync unit and its painfully flakey updating process and equally useless voice commands features I would any day prefer Ford throw in a useless ICE unit that I will have no regrets ditching at the first opportunity and upgrading to something worthwhile.
PratikPatel is offline  
Old 30th September 2020, 11:56   #20
BHPian
 
SansGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Thane/Kolkata
Posts: 177
Thanked: 466 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

I fail to see any update on this. As per the article, this would come equipped in cars manufactured from August 2020. However, there isn't an update on the Ford website, neither are the dealers aware of the same.
SansGT is offline  
Old 16th October 2020, 22:50   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
blackwasp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 2,886
Thanked: 25,115 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

More details: Ford EcoSport's new Android head-unit



Last month, we had reported that the infotainment system in certain EcoSport models will run on the Android 4.2.2 operating system. Now, more details of the same are out.

New features of the Android head-unit


• Wi-Fi connectivity
• Over the Air updates
• Conference call facility
• Live traffic updates with offline maps
• Bluetooth customization
• No separate SD card for maps

The VIN cut offs for this system are


• Titanium + / Trend / Trend + variants - LE43575
• Titanium variant - LE462888

However, existing vehicles with Windows based Fly Audio cannot be converted to the Android based OS due to difference of hardware compatibility.

Thanks to the Team-BHP fan (he prefers to remain anonymous) who sent this information in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this page!

Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-ecosport2-copy.jpg

Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-img20180427wa00501.jpg

Link to the Team-BHP News

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 18th October 2020 at 11:07. Reason: Typo corrected as requested
blackwasp is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 20th October 2020, 10:40   #22
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 108
Thanked: 294 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

We visited the Ford showroom over the weekend and we were told that the new updated infotainment in Ecosport could support Google Maps. But, the SA maintained that it is going to be FlyAudio unit only and not Sync3 and hence no Android Auto/Apple carplay. The SA seemed quite confident about Google Maps support in the new unit, but I am skeptic about it. The dispatches with this unit has not yet arrived at the yard for me to check it out and I have asked him to drop a note once it is available.
Now, is it even technically feasible to run Google Maps on the unit without Android auto support? If yes, what would this mean, do we need to use playstore and install Maps on the head unit through wifi? If anyone is aware, please let me know.
skarthiksr is offline  
Old 20th October 2020, 15:19   #23
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 83
Thanked: 153 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by skarthiksr View Post
Now, is it even technically feasible to run Google Maps on the unit without Android auto support? If yes, what would this mean, do we need to use playstore and install Maps on the head unit through wifi? If anyone is aware, please let me know.
If the headunit is running Android, so any Android app should be installable, of course depending upon what customization etc Ford have applied, quite similar infact to Skoda Rapid Montecarlo Android HU.
Puzzles me, what is preventing Ford from bringing back Sync3 throughout the range, the cost can't be that high and the competition is all having AA/AC HU
Grease_Monkey is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th October 2020, 21:19   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1
Thanked: 2 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

I have purchase ES Trend recently and my VIN is LL which is September 2020.

This is the interface I have currently
Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-.jpeg

instead of below(collected from internet).
Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-sadaf.jpeg

Can anyone confirm this system running in Android ?
Dragon666 is offline  
Old 13th November 2020, 05:44   #25
Newbie
 
Jaatree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: RJ19, Sydney
Posts: 9
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

I'm seriously considering Ecosport Titanium+ P Auto. I really like the car but lack of ACarPlay/AA is a bummer.

Can anyone please confirm that the new android based fly hu runs/can run google maps?

TIA
Jaatree
Jaatree is offline  
Old 17th November 2020, 19:39   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 21
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by SansGT View Post
What about Freestyle/Aspire/Figo? Will they get this update too?
As far as I know, Freestyle/Aspire/Figo won't be getting an android port. It's high time Ford realizes the importance of such important features. It's a deal breaker for many customers. No wonder their sales figures are showing a downward trend.

When I bought my Freestyle, Sync3 used to come in the top variant. Now there is no Sync3 below Ecosport(Sports).
suvrog is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th November 2020, 21:15   #27
BHPian
 
SansGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Thane/Kolkata
Posts: 177
Thanked: 466 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by suvrog View Post
As far as I know, Freestyle/Aspire/Figo won't be getting an android port. It's high time Ford realizes the importance of such important features. It's a deal breaker for many customers. No wonder their sales figures are showing a downward trend.

When I bought my Freestyle, Sync3 used to come in the top variant. Now there is no Sync3 below Ecosport(Sports).
I saw posts on FB that Freestyle is also getting the new system from October onwards. This actually enables wifi connectivity and one can use live traffic with Navimaps.
SansGT is offline  
Old 29th December 2020, 15:05   #28
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: KL62-TN70-KA51
Posts: 60
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by SansGT View Post
I saw posts on FB that Freestyle is also getting the new system from October onwards. This actually enables wifi connectivity and one can use live traffic with Navimaps.
I can actually confirm this. I purchased a Freestyle Petrol Titanium which rolled off the line on 25th Nov (As per Etis webpage). I was surprised to see the wifi option on this. I was even able to receive an OTA with id _0921 while connected to a mobile hotspot.
Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-img_20201229_144402.jpg

The sales consultant informed me that this is a Fly Audio unit. However, I am unsure whether it is an Android-based OS or the old Windows-based OS.

Haven't used the Live traffic updates feature mentioned in the circular, as I am currently at my village. But it shows up in the Navi hamburger menu.

Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-img_20201229_144157.jpg
Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS-img_20201229_144234.jpg
febyphilabr is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th January 2021, 15:58   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 21
Thanked: 12 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaatree View Post
I'm seriously considering Ecosport Titanium+ P Auto. I really like the car but lack of ACarPlay/AA is a bummer.

Can anyone please confirm that the new android based fly hu runs/can run google maps?

TIA
Jaatree
Only Ecosport S comes with sync3. Lower variants would provide embedded navigation with live traffic updates, but AA/Carplay is still not there.
suvrog is offline  
Old 20th January 2021, 20:23   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 13
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: Ford EcoSport infotainment will now run on Android OS

Does Android OS mean we can somehow sideload apks and run them on the infotainment system just the way we do on our android TVs (if not now, probably in the future)?
Also, the firmware prior to Android wouldn't allow playing videos once you reach a minimal driving speed. Can someone confirm if the same has been carried onto the latest Android platform as well?
raiuday is offline   (1) Thanks
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2021, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks