View Poll Results: Is spending for high end audio worth it?
Yes, as we only live once in life. 41 18.14%
Yes! I'm a perfect audiophile and no music will make me happy unless otherwise it is perfect 21 9.29%
No, I'd rather invest it somewhere useful, or not at all. 164 72.57%
Voters: 226. You may not vote on this poll

Old 3rd October 2023, 10:14   #16

Re: Is spending big bucks on a high-end audio system worth it?

I don’t understand the need of these kind of polls! There will always be people who support & oppose the choice of an individual. I’m a person who isn’t bothered about building my own house, I’m happy moving around places and it brings a lot of flexibility to my job. I don’t have to bother if something happens to my job in one place. My priority is a good quality education for my kids, a reasonable pension and able to afford the latest tech that’s available.

Almost everything in life is a want, rather than a need. I’m using 9 year old car, do I want a newer car? Of course I do, but it is just a want, as my present car is working fine! I bought a new iPhone to get rid of lightning cable, was it worth it? No, but I was getting irriated carrying so many cables! Heck, I even bought a type C mosquito bat after searching for days.

Coming to education, I’m spending a fortune on it. Will it ensure that my kids will become succesfull in life? No way, if that was the case, all the kids who studied in government schools with Malayalam medium would have ended up as losers, far from the truth. I just go by my perspective, which may be wrong when I look back. But when I took most decisions, it was right at that point of time. Retrospectively, I rue a lot of decisions. If life was so easy and we all could make only the right and best decisions.

PS: this thread has come up because one fellow bhpian was willing to let us know that he spent a big amount for audio. Now some want to question his choice, thats it. If he hadn’t disclosed, so many wouldn’t have got heartburn I guess. I’m not in his shoes, so I have no right to take a stand on his choices regarding his money. It’s his money, why loose midnight oil on it?
The Rationalist is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 10:28   #17

I voted 'Yes,' but my 'yes' does not mean I am going to invest in a music system that costs lakhs.

However, I want to ensure that the music system in my car matches the quality of the one I use at home.

So, it is subjective.

If someone is truly an audiophile, they will have a high-end audio system at home, and they cannot settle for something of inferior quality in their car.
antonylejos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 11:21   #18

As with any such discretionary spends, what's worth it to one person, seems downright idiotic to another. I personally am tone deaf. Music out of an ipod is fine with me. But I spend (money, and more importantly significant time) on pursuits that seem downright idiotic to almost everyone else I know. To each his own.

The problem is when you aren't secure enough to:

Admit that it doesn't make a difference to you and can't resist the peer pressure to spend on something that doesn't matter to you. (Not just high-end audio, this could be phones, a bigger car, house, fancy wedding, vacation, etc.)

or

Know what you really want and don't care if others think it's stupid or over-the-top.

[And then need a poll on a forum to justify either choice. ]

Last edited by am1m : 3rd October 2023 at 11:23.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 11:50   #19

The way I see it, if you are passionate about good audio and have disposable income, I dont see why not.

A car is inherently noisy and terrible for any kind of criticial listening.
However, if you spend a lot of time on the road or your situation at home prevents you from turning up the volume or you just dont get time to listen to music at home, investing in car audio can make a lot of sense. You are stuck in a car anyway, might as well make use of it and immerse yourself in music.

You can get a pretty great system for between 1-2 lakhs. Another thing to keep in mind is that the equipment is built to last decades and you can keep the same gear through many car upgrades. Personally, if I had the money to spend, I wouldn't think twice.
Old 3rd October 2023, 12:22   #20

For me, it's hardly ever about the system. It's about the music and the journey.

I am more impressed by a 1L system that sounds 90% as good as a 10L system, especially when some DIY is involved.

Except for 2 pairs of JBL 4312s from Sam Kapasi (long story), I have never bought/purchased a pair of speakers or tube amplifiers (solid state is a different story).

Car audio is a little different since there is limited DIYing possible. I did DIY a 4 x 35Wrms amplifier "back in the day," and still replace the stock crossovers with ones of my construction (tip: the plastic boxes one gets for visiting cards make for excellent housing for compact crossovers).

Once a system is done, I will listen to it for a bit but I get bored easily and, sooner or later, get the itch to build something else.
navin is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 12:41   #21

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Having placed myself at risk of being accused of trying to spread objectivist propoganda - I will remind everyone again that I'm merely responding to a question. I have no intention of affecting people's livelihoods because of my immature beliefs, insufficient knowledge, limited spending ability or deficient hearing skills/abilities
Here's a case in point. Two weeks ago, I was at a car accessory dealer in Coimbatore. They are a generic shop and are not specialists in audio.

A guy brought his new Brezza, and his conversation with the shopkeeper went like this:

Shopkeeper: Shows the guys a bunch of Alpine components, amplifiers, sub-woofers, and a Maxxlink HU.

Guy: These are expensive. Do you have any other brands?

Shopkeeper: No, we don't deal with any other brands because Alpines are the "best". They are expensive because the speakers have silicone cones instead of paper cones used by OEMs.

Guy: Okay. Put them on.

Now, I think the guy must have paid in the higher thousands (if not in a lakh range) for this system.

Did he get his money's worth? Should he have done damping? How much better would his OEMs have sounded if he had just added damping? Would he have spent extra on the components if he was happy with the result?

There is no easy way to know. All of this is a grey area for lay people like me. So, for the more common folks, I think it's best to stay away from high-end installs unless they are ready to research a lot and find equally competent installers.

Last edited by navin : 3rd October 2023 at 23:33. Reason: typos, spelling
buzzy_boy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 14:08   #22

Haha, many people seem to be offended by this poll.

I voted for 'No.' I don't think even the actual audiophile will know that they cannot achieve perfection in car audio, no matter what they do, like they can in a room studio.

Most of the reviews ( youtube ) are just paid ones from the seller. All you have to do is read carefully how many times the owner of the shop is mentioned and how many people praise the shop and owner. You can figure it out.

But if it is genuine, let them use it. If they have enough cash flow, they can spend on it. We should not criticize such things, as others have said. But was it worth? No. You just can't achieve perfection on the road sitting inside the car no matter how much I spend so No.
raptor_diwan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 14:24   #23

Seems like this poll has received a mixed response!

A small clarification once again, I'm not against spending money in audio systems. I have had a doubt if they are worth, as I'm planning to do one soon. But seems like many people have started holding a grudge on me and marking me as making unnecessary polls or disturbing people's mindsets. If I have done any such thing, I am really sorry, nothing personal was meant to any of the BHPians.

@The Rationalist, I don't want to question his spending, and I appreciate how much he loves to listen to quality audio. I don't understand why we are getting worked up. Am I at fault? I wanted a clarification to my query, that's all. I am not criticizing him or anything. I thought this forum was to get everyone's doubts clarified and create a homely environment right? And I definitely don't have a heartburn. I am not jealous of him, nor think that he is wasting money. I just wanted to ask your opinions on this. Surely did not expect to get bitter comments.

I do not object spending money or splurging on cars. After all, that's what we BHPians earn for right? To experience the best of the automotive world? I just wanted to ask your views if it is worth an upgrade in my Astor.

Mods, please delete the thread if not necessary. Many people have stated so, please feel free. I have no objections

Signing off,
Old 3rd October 2023, 15:07   #24

Does a medium-grade audio upgrade count ?

When I got my Kushaq last year, they had, for a few months, downgraded the audio system supposedly due to chip issues. I'n normally not fussy about my sound system. However, the stock Panasonics sounded really flat to my non-audiophile ears so I did a mid-level upgrade by adding a DSP, an amplifier, two components up front and coaxials at the rear. All by Audison. And did some damping on the doors. I spent a roughly 1.2 lakhs in total, roughly 20k over my initial budget. There is night-and-day difference once it was done but I was still grappling with the 'value' angle at the end of it all as I drove around town.

Then I went for a lovely drive to Chickmalauru last month. I was playing my favourite Downtempo playlist and driving through the mountains that were enveloped by cloud and rain. I was hearing detail in the music that I had forgotten about, things that the stock system had flattened out. The sound enveloped me and left me with a warm, fuzzy feeling. It took my drive to the next level. The upgrade was totally worth it.

You cannot really answer this poll rationally as responding to music is emotional. You do you is what I feel.

Last edited by ranjitnair77 : 3rd October 2023 at 15:11.
ranjitnair77 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 16:11   #25

The same applies to designer brand perfumes like Ferrari or a Jaguar or Davidoff perfumes who retail at 5000-10000Rs, then there are the french houses where life starts at 125 US$ to 350 US$. Niche ones like Baccarat Rouge starts from 400 US$ and high end crosses 1000US$ for a small 50-100ml perfume.

Same with watches, luxury ones are from 5000-25000Rs, real Swiss names start from 5000US$ can reach 50,000 US$. For the cream (5%) of the world, life starts at a 100,000 US$ wristwatch.

Or in our TBhp jargon, you have happy customers for CEAT, JK Tyre and MRF, and those who believe only in Pirelli, Michelin, Bridgestone, Conti, Hankook, Kumho, Goodyear, Dunlop... and those like me who is happy with used tyres from Kalasipalya market (near Lalbagh) also.

Who are we mortals to decide or judge? Just enjoy the world and share such rare stories over a chai pe charcha with friends.

Imagine starting the office chai Tete-e-tete by saying... "Do you guys know, in my club, I know a dude with a 40Lac audio setup..."

Last edited by Turbanator : 3rd October 2023 at 16:50. Reason: No alcohol related discussions, please.
svsantosh is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 16:13   #26

Highly personal. If it makes sense to you, who am I to say otherwise?

I know people who spend more on their audio system than on their car.
I know people who spend a huge amount of money on buying the latest camera, lens.
I know people who spend money on buying old cars with at least 100-200K on the clock, and repeating that over and over again!

I like to have a decent sound system in all of my cars. And I have spend some money on the older cars, with no factory fitted radio. Still, small change compared to what I have seen spend by some folks?

To some extend, if you ask the question, it probably means no for you. People who are very keen on something and can afford it, never ask these questions. Because they don’t need to choices validated by others. They are happy to spend sometimes considerable amounts of money on something that is relevant, important to them, or just brings them satisfaction.

It’s not just people who have got plenty of money that do this. I know plenty of people with average means, but who happen to have a particular interest or hobby and they save in other areas to spend it on their one hobby/interest.

I have friends whose whole life is about sailing their small yacht. They choose to live in a small rental apartment. They have had, for as long as I have known them, only camping type furniture. Because it is cheap. They both have a job, earning decent money. And most of their income goes to their boat hobby. They don’t go on holiday, they don’t eat out, they drive a clapped out VW Golf. Life is about your own choices and what you make of it.

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 16:37   #27

The question reminded me of the Burma episode of Grand Tour.

For those who just want to get to the point, See from 0.3 to 0.45 and from 2.15 to 2.30.

I've so far managed with mostly only one speaker and a basic kit in all my rides.
srini1785 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 16:41   #28

The all important questions are,
1) How much is too much and
2) What's the regular usage of the car.
Point 1. It's a given to upgrade the OEM speakers as OEM by nature is meant to do cost cutting. Of course, I remember the Koleos coming with Bose set of sound system and our TATA itself used to give Alpine audio systems which really rocked. Nowadays, any decent upgrade using the OEM interface alone is going to be around 50000 to 60000 for which we can get co-axial and component speakers, underseat subwoofer with amp, a 4 channel amplifier and budget sound proofing. I wouldn't say this is essential but for anyone looking at a reasonable sound quality, this is fine. Which brings us to the 2nd point.
What's the regular use of the car? Given the narrow bandwidth where we can travel alone and my car is my inner sanctuary bleh le bleh et al, it is a transportation medium which uses public road and more often than not, it ferries more than a single person at most points of time, unless you're a lonely bachelor(ette) for life who prefers solitude. I do enjoy a very wide range of music. In fact I started listening to gramophone LP from Chitti Babu to James Last Band to Early ABBA, Giorgio Moroder. Ancient people will relate to these music devices and vacuum tube radios. But now, with family trips and even regular school pick up and drop, I would rather spend time when I'm driving talking to my sons, discussing their life's ambitions, taking long drives with my dad and discussing his younger days.... In short shuttling between Nostalgia and future. And to be honest, in present day city traffic and some days even highways, unless you're chauffer driven, you definitely can't be "in the groove" with all the maniacs wanting to commit harakiri in front of you.
The dynamics of driving and commuting has changed significantly in the last two decades. We are more accountable than ever on roads and I'm sorry to say that spending more than a lac for car audio is really not worth it. If one can afford that much money, it will be well spent in the sanctum of one's home where the variables are much lesser and the enjoyment is significantly more.
Old 3rd October 2023, 21:09   #29

This thread is more philosophical then objective, as called out by many. When it comes to tech or most material things, my experience is that 50% of the money gets you 80% of the experience. Getting the last 20% is the variable and the amount of money a person is willing to pay is totally dependent on the appreciation for it. For some audio quality is more important, for some picture quality in TV, for some that German build experience etc. My personal example, for home theatre setup I was specifically particular about picture quality and went for top end of LG Oled however for audio I stuck with a midrange but decent sound bar. Felt ok spending on TV but not as much on soundbar

Purely from audio standpoint on a car with non branded audio, I would say that swapping all 4 doors speakers with components up front, damping, amp and a sub are bare minimum that gets you the 70-80% experience. Beyond that its one's ability to differentiate and appreciate. This is very much achievable with a sub 50K budget.

Last edited by supertinu : 3rd October 2023 at 21:14.
supertinu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2023, 21:16   #30

What I personally feel is, many people would drive a car with more than 1 person in the car, who may be a family member or a friend. I'm an audiophile and though content with my car's stock setup, I rarely get to enjoy it fully to myself. When I'm with family, their taste of music is world's apart meaning if I am to play my music, they'll feel blocked off from any conversation. When I am with my friends, they like to play punjabi music whereas I solely listen to english music. The driver can't always be the DJ

On rare occasions do I get to play my music on full blast with a wide grin on my face.
So unless your passenger listens to similar music or you drive alone it's not that worth plonking too much money into upgrading your speakers. Rather you could get some damping done which reduces some amount of noise that creeps inside cabin so you can talk with passenger calmly at higher speeds.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com