Old 16th January 2008, 09:31   #1

Santro ICE : Kicker V/s JBL..

Hello Team-Bhpians,

I recently bought a new Santro Zing GLS.. and then came the biggest and difficult most question ICE .. ( Its more difficult than selecting a car ) ...

I went through a lot of threads on team bhp for past few days and then had decided to go for :

HU : Alpine 9881
Front: GTO 0607 components
Rear: GTO 0937

Later i went to SounfFX ( andheri-kurla road) and checked the music system and its sound..

The guy there ( Vicky) showed me kicker system and it sounded too good..

He gave me the following 2 options and their quotations :

HU : Pioneer 5050 : Rs 6750 ( Without B&W)

Rear: Kicker KS69 : Rs 6800 / JBL GTO937 : Rs 2800 ( Both with B&W)

Front: Kicker DS600.2 : Rs 5740 / JBL GTO607 : Rs 4950 (Both with B&W)

SubWoofer: Kicker C-12: Rs 5440 / JBL GT51100W : Rs 3850 ( Both with B&W)

Amp: Blaupunkt gta480 : RS 8900 / Gt4 spl : Rs 5700

MDF : 1450
Wiring : 950
Installation : 850

Now guys, I am very confused.. should i go for JBL or Kicker ...

@ SAM is SoundFX a dealer of JBL audio ( Vicky knew you ) cause the prizes he is quoting is too cheap too believe ..

Rahul
Old 16th January 2008, 12:08   #2

Originally Posted by rahulv1 View Post
HU : Alpine 9881
Front: GTO 0607 components
Rear: GTO 0937

HU : Pioneer 5050 : Rs 6750 ( Without B&W)
Rear: Kicker KS69 : Rs 6800 / JBL GTO937 : Rs 2800 ( Both with B&W)
Front: Kicker DS600.2 : Rs 5740 / JBL GTO607 : Rs 4950 (Both with B&W)
SubWoofer: Kicker C-12: Rs 5440 / JBL GT51100W : Rs 3850 ( Both with B&W)
Amp: Blaupunkt gta480 : RS 8900 / Gt4 spl : Rs 5700
MDF : 1450
Wiring : 950
Installation : 850

@ SAM is SoundFX a dealer of JBL audio ( Vicky knew you ) cause the prizes he is quoting is too cheap too believe ..
1. the 9881 I believe should sound better than the Pio 5050.
2. THe GTO 937 at 2800 is a steal. Just get JBL at those prices.
3. The 480 is a more powerful amp than the gt4 but a little rougher in sound. for the sub the 480 is essential, the gt4 wont cut the mustard.
4. MDF is a bit pricey. Shouldd be under 1K.
5. Wiring looks too cheap to be good. Stick to Audison, Illusion, etc..

Lastly everyone knows Sam.
Old 16th January 2008, 12:50   #3

Have they made a stock provision for mounting 6.5" speakers in Santro now? Strange, all Santro-wallahs on T-BHP have put in 4" components (Illusion, etc.) in the front, and no one - except Daktar-babu, I think - has gone for cutting-shutting the front door to put 6.5" components.
Old 16th January 2008, 12:52   #4

@navin

Thanks a lot for the help..

I just had a chat with family and dad is very adamant on not having an amp...

Also restriction on Budget now : its only 20 K

What should i go for guys ??

@navin Do you think i will get genuine JBL for that price ?? I am skeptical ... but hes giving manufacturer's 1 year warranty .. so should i trust him .. ( I checked for the importer's seal on the box which i couldn't find )

Gurus pls help me with ICE in 20K ...

Thanks in anticipation ..

Rahul
Old 16th January 2008, 12:59   #5

One can install 6.5 inch in the santro door but it will take some work to make it fit there and run clean.
Old 16th January 2008, 13:43   #6

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
One can install 6.5 inch in the santro door but it will take some work to make it fit there and run clean.
O ji navi navi gaddi litti hai, why to put choona on Rahul-bhai! He will also need to damp his front doors - otherwise he will hear buffaloes and bull-frogs singing along with the bass guitar.

@Rahulv1 (oh, OK, your son will be v2), to put in the 6.5" mid-bass driver, the "some work" translates to stripping the door pads, cutting the bottom sill (metal sheet), cutting open the door pad and mounting the driver.

If you REALLY want to put 6.5", make sure you stand there with a stout staff in your hand when they open up your car (I assume you love it), and supervise every tiny bit of the work, even if you land up irritating the guys doing it. If they come with a hathoda-chheyni to do the cutting, tell them to use a nibbler, or a gas-cutter (careful, put wet rags all around).

Anyhow, since you are from Mumbai, ek bar B&T-bhai se mil to lo, maybe he can audition the Illusion 4" components for you - maybe you will change you mind.
Old 16th January 2008, 13:44   #7

Yeah I ran the GTO 606 comps for a brief period in our zipdrive with the help of a spacer ring.
Old 16th January 2008, 13:59   #8

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
O ji navi navi gaddi litti hai, why to put choona on Rahul-bhai! He will also need to damp his front doors - otherwise he will hear buffaloes and bull-frogs singing along with the bass guitar.

@Rahulv1 (oh, OK, your son will be v2), to put in the 6.5" mid-bass driver, the "some work" translates to stripping the door pads, cutting the bottom sill (metal sheet), cutting open the door pad and mounting the driver.

If you REALLY want to put 6.5", make sure you stand there with a stout staff in your hand when they open up your car (I assume you love it), and supervise every tiny bit of the work, even if you land up irritating the guys doing it. If they come with a hathoda-chheyni to do the cutting, tell them to use a nibbler, or a gas-cutter (careful, put wet rags all around).

Anyhow, since you are from Mumbai, ek bar B&T-bhai se mil to lo, maybe he can audition the Illusion 4" components for you - maybe you will change you mind.
DerAlte Bhai .. B&T ka contact no milega....

Guys ...

Now that i am not allowed to use the woofer suggest me which will be better :

HU : Pioneer 5050 ( 7K)
Front: Kicker components/ illusion components ( 4") ( 7K)
Kicker KS69 ( 7K )

Total : 21K

OR

HU : Alpine 9881 ( 13K)
Front : JBL 0427 : (3K) / illusion comps : 6-7K
Rear : JBL GTO937 (3K)

total : 19K / 22K

which according to you would sound better ??

PS : I have assumed the cost for components. Can you pls tell me the actual cost for illusion / hertz / any other nice 4" comps ..

thanks,

Rahul
Old 16th January 2008, 17:26   #9

DerAlte Bhai .. B&T ka contact no milega....
Try PMing him.

Old 16th January 2008, 19:11   #10

Rahul hi,

I know you PMed me, here is my answer. Vicky from SoundFX is an authorized JBL dealer yes, but he does not sell JBL only with B&W.
Let's just say he mixes and matches lol.

GTO937 at 2800 is a grey market product -100%. That said it does not make it fake. It makes it a deal you cannot refuse, so I do understand.
Old 16th January 2008, 19:41   #11

Sam,

He's giving me GTO937 in 2800 Rs with Bill and warranty. So i will buy it right??
Old 16th January 2008, 19:47   #12

ICE, avoiding the 'hammer & tong' nightmare

Rahul hi,
a warm welcome to you first and congrats on purchasing a Santro. As a fellow Santro user who has been through his share of 'hammer & tong' walla installers, i would strongly suggest you approach some one who is competent enough.
Coming to your ICE requirements, i have used the Kicker speakers, same series though not the same models, i would strongly advise you to consider JBL, Illusions or Hertz. unless you are into the whole 'Livin' Loud' scene. Ain't trying to malign a particular brand here, just trying to put things into perspective.
6.5'' Components are possible in the doors after cutting shutting and MDF rings. IMHO, these are strongly advised. 4'' hardly do any justice, except if you want to go in for a stock look.
Also, where in Mumbai do you reside, PM me if you want an installer in the Khar area. All the best in your ICE Quest.
Old 16th January 2008, 22:58   #13

He's giving me GTO937 in 2800 Rs with Bill and warranty. So i will buy it right??
make sure he stamps the warranty and enters the correct serial numbers then mail it in yourself.

HU : Alpine 9881 (13K)
Front : illusion comps : (6K)
Rear : JBL GTO937 (3K) or Illusion 6x9 (4K)
if you sit in the front get components. so your girlfriend wont get flowers and you'll have to skip wine during dinner atleast you will enjoy the music.

P.S. You must realise that listening to this old man can be detrimental to your social life. I am old and married and have little use for wine or flowers; my wife is stuck with me.

Last edited by navin : 16th January 2008 at 22:59.
Old 17th January 2008, 00:10   #14

Sam,

Yes. But he cannot give you this price with Bill and a Sahil International, JBL India warranty.
I suspect there will be some sort of a bill maybe and no real warranty card. In any case, it's a good deal.
Old 17th January 2008, 00:17   #15

Chalo it is good to have Sam Bhai Back !!!!

Go for the deal as these Speakers will not go bad and enjoy music.