Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2009, 16:26   #1
BHPian

Hesitation, Confusion, Recession and then the Decision – ‘Budget’ ICE for a Swift Vxi

Ok folks, here’s my story!

I. Oct 2006 – Super basic set up

I was an absolute newbie to ICE. I wanted a USB HU and the Kenwood MP-5033U was being advertised then. Sourced the HU from the Middle East with a pair of 6” and a 4” Kenwood Coax thrown in. Cost: HU – 5K, 6” Coax – 2K, 4” Coax – 1k. Came with speaker cables.

This was my PM to Sam then:
“hi sam, please help me out - i know the sound quality would be abysmal, but would 4 inch cones fit into my Swift VXI? I have a pair of 6 inchers and a pair of 4 inchers, fresh from Bahrain. Where do I dump my 4 inchers??”

And this was Sam’s reply. He would have been outraged, now I wonder how he replied in such a civil way!

“Honestly I would not suggest you even try fitting a 4" in a swift. Maybe you can try trading them at your dealers, or post them here, at the market-place.”

Now, I thought hard – I would install the components anyway someday, so why waste money on new 6” coax? So, the 4” went to the rear doors, the 6” to the front doors.

The system was absolutely sub-par. Just about passable SQ at low volumes. Again, I wasn’t using the car all that much so I let the matter rest.

II. Mar 2008 – Components come in!

I was driving a bit more, and started hating the lack of grunt/clarity. So one fine day, went with my cousin to GP Road in Chennai, bought a 607c for 3700 (if I remember right), went over to Technokrat for installation. Didn’t install an amp. The front 6” Coaxs went to the rear door and the 607Cs were up front. The 4” coaxs were dumped.