Old 18th March 2009, 11:59   #1

How do you define sound ?

dear friends,

i had come across many words like bright,harsh,soft,tight,crisp,in the ice section but i am a bit confused with all these words every one has his own way/taste of judging sound & describing,so i request all of you to help me and all the newbies on the forum to get familiar with this.

kk

Last edited by karankapoor : 18th March 2009 at 12:00.
Old 18th March 2009, 12:03   #2

I think I can post here...

Karan like food there is no defination some like it spicy, some like sweet, some like it hot and some like it cold. There are many variations in every ones in habit. Same goes for the sound also...It all depends on the individual liking. Like Sam Bhai says "mere maa ke dal sab se acche hai" (My mother cooks the worlds best DAL.)

One man`s sweet would be other man`s poison.

Hope you get my point.

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 18th March 2009 at 12:05.
Old 18th March 2009, 12:11   #3

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
I think I can post here...

sirjee tussi great ho saadi hope ho.

i totally agree with you but i was talking about the different verbiage used to describe sound.

say for some bright stands of open sounding and for other its sharp
Old 18th March 2009, 12:20   #4

Originally Posted by karankapoor View Post

say for some bright stands of open sounding and for other its sharp
Same like you said...for some it might be smooth sounding and for some it might be bright.

Also the terms like this are very exaggerated here on this forum. I would request everyone who is buying ICE audition as many options one can before spend the hard own money. It is your ears which will be listing and not to impress others.
Old 18th March 2009, 12:52   #5

something that makes me happy
Old 18th March 2009, 14:32   #6

still it'd be really a big help if you guys post your own interpretations of these adjectives.
Old 18th March 2009, 14:48   #7

regarding bright/harsh/soft. let me try an analogy with lemon soda
if you use too much lemon and too little water, it will be too strong and sharp. Still there are some people who like it. Thats kinda what bright feels like
On the other hand , there are some artificial lemon drinks, some of which when too concentrated, tastes horrible, not like what natural lemon tastes like . thats what it feels like when its harsh
Soft is when you pour too much water and sugar , and the lemony taste isnt too sharp
crisp would be when you add soda to it, and there is that sparkle in the taste

now imagine if people were asked to differentiate between 7 up, sprite , limca, and mountain dew. Thats the same way how one would differentiate between the top end of various speakers with these terms.

Last edited by greenhorn : 18th March 2009 at 14:56.
Old 18th March 2009, 14:59   #8

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
regarding bright/harsh/soft. let me try an analogy with lemon soda
if you use too much lemon and too little water, it will be too strong and sharp. Still there are some people who like it. Thats kinda what bright feels like
On the other hand , there are some artificial lemon drinks, some of which when too concentrated, tastes horrible, not like what natural lemon tastes like . thats what it feels like when its harsh
Soft is when you pour too much water and sugar , and the lemony taste isnt too sharp
crisp would be when you add soda to it, and there is that sparkle in the taste

now imagine if people were asked to differentiate between 7 up, sprite , limca, and mountain dew. Thats the same way how one would differentiate between the top end of various speakers with these terms.
Great!!! Now I'm thirsty...
Old 18th March 2009, 15:01   #9

For me;
Bright means the highs are emphasized more than any other spectrum of music.
Warm means easy highs, smooth mids and low end.
Harsh means over emphasized highs and lows with irritating mids.
Sharp means irritating highs and lows with no mids.
Boom means stretched and uncontrolled low ends.
Tight means accurate end to musical notes. Mid bass, drum rolls, lower ends etc.. all stops where it has to and starts where it has to.
Soft means laid back and less emphasized highs, smooth mids and shadowed lower ends.
Crisp means good sounding highs and lows with a hint of tightness and a very light shade of brightness in overall sound spectrum.
Natural means, ahem.... ahem..... it feels as if I'm sitting in between the band in a well acoustically designed room and the whole music is direct from the instruments and artists, not from loudspeakers.

Butter chicken means one 12"/15"/21"/42" or two/four/eight subs fed with 1000W each playing in the name of clarity while knocking my head out of this world with insane air movements!
Old 18th March 2009, 15:46   #10

Each term has a different meaning for different person. It is how you feel at that tine & what adjective jumps to your mind. There are really no fixed descriptions for the sound. Each one perceives it differently. The same song in the same system might sound 'Bright' for someone, but for another it may be 'Harsh'.
Old 18th March 2009, 16:01   #11

My definition is simpler.

If the system gets me to tap my feet and enjoy the music It's good otherwise it's not.

There are many systems that are obviously coloured but still are very musical
Quad (the ESL63 and the electronics but not together), Magneplanar, Jamo (909), KLH (the old ones with small sealed boxes), AR (2a, 3, 2ax, 4, 4xa...9, 9L), Polk SDA-SRS (with modified tweeters - remove the ferro fluid and introduce line level notch filter to protect), ...the list is quite endless.
Old 18th March 2009, 16:07   #12

Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Great!!! Now I'm thirsty...
gunnu paji today you are very hungry and thirsty. Should i call for "30 mins nahin to free pizza" or Subway - Eat Fresh

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com