Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2009, 01:37   #1
Senior - BHPian

ICE installation - Clarion DXZ785 + CDT + Kenwood

I am soon getting a whole new ICE setup for my baleno, details here-
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ask-gu...ml#post1219708

It is time to prepare myself for the installation now. Creating this dedicated thread because I understand that installation is as important as components themselves, and nothing should be overlooked. I have a vague idea, but need a lot of help as this is my first time. Given below is what I have thought so far, and all the questions. What I am looking for is a reasonably priced (read cheapest), reliable accessories that would be considered good enough for a high end system. Thinking of over-designing as much as possible. Please correct me if any of my thoughts are undesirable for a high SQ setup.

1. Power/Ground wiring:
I have read a lot about three local brands recommended for this- Finolex/L&T and Havelle or something. Using 4AWG (25sqmm) cables for both amps should be more than enough I believe.

Do I need any type of connector/terminals? I guess distributor and ring terminal on one side and "thimbles" on the amp side, right?

Plus fuse box/fuses. Anything else?

2. RCA:
I suppose MX is considered as a good VFM option for this. Tried searching for their official site, but couldn't find. Do they have any? I believe I have to choose something with twisted as well as properly shielded wires here, AWG should not matter. Also no connector would be required since everything comes as a single part, right? I should be happy with nickel plated terminals, no need to have gold. Does MX satisfy all this? Do they have different variants to choose from?

3. Speaker cables:
What is the recommended size for components and subwoofer? I believe 12AWG (4sqmm) should be enough, but 10AWG (6sqmm) would be conservative. Is that correct?