Old 20th June 2006, 12:30   #16

Hi guys,

I have booked an Indica Turbo and would like to know a cheap, good mp3 system for my car < 10 K.

2 or 4 speakers dont really matter. I just want decent quality sound. Dont need too much of bass or volume. Cost is the main criterion. It should be problem free also.
Old 21st June 2006, 07:41   #17

hi guys

just got a swift vxi. wanna ice it. budget about 15 K

thinking about a compo set with a cd HU

i already have a sony 444 4 channel amp.

will one component set be enough?
Old 21st June 2006, 12:57   #18

Originally Posted by Rayden
Hi guys,

I have booked an Indica Turbo and would like to know a cheap, good mp3 system for my car < 10 K.

2 or 4 speakers dont really matter. I just want decent quality sound. Dont need too much of bass or volume. Cost is the main criterion. It should be problem free also.

hey dude try to stretch it to about 12k.

you can get a head unit for 6 k.rear speakers for about 3.5-4k and front 4 inch/ 5 inch coaxials for 1.5-2k

so total will be around 12 k.

JBL, Blaunpank , pioneer , sony are some of the brands you could get.id suggest u hear each speaker and buy which ever sounds best to you.

Rev
Old 21st June 2006, 13:02   #19

Originally Posted by anshu22
hi guys

just got a swift vxi. wanna ice it. budget about 15 K

thinking about a compo set with a cd HU

i already have a sony 444 4 channel amp.

will one component set be enough?
i think you should get the JBL 606.its a 6 inch component and will set you back by about 6k.you could get a pioneer head unit.

i didnt quite understand your post.do you want components for front and rear or just one pair.i think u need jus one pair but then wht u gonna do about the rear speakers ??

Rev
Old 21st June 2006, 13:56   #20

Originally Posted by Rayden
Hi guys,

Rayden rule no. 1 - There is no such thing as Cheap & Good. It can either be Cheap & Nasty or Good & Expensive!!
Old 21st June 2006, 16:27   #21

Originally Posted by revtech
i think you should get the JBL 606.its a 6 inch component and will set you back by about 6k.you could get a pioneer head unit.

i didnt quite understand your post.do you want components for front and rear or just one pair.i think u need jus one pair but then wht u gonna do about the rear speakers ??

Rev
yeah thats right i just meant one set of components. yaar budget crunch hai
and since i am really new to this i wanted to know from you guys if just one set of compos on front would be enough. just looking for clear good sound.

also i am a little confused about component speakers. so a set like the jbl 606 would contain 2 woofers and 2 tweeters right? one for each door on the front? and 2 crossovers?
Old 21st June 2006, 17:21   #22

Originally Posted by anshu22
also i am a little confused about component speakers. so a set like the jbl 606 would contain 2 woofers and 2 tweeters right? one for each door on the front? and 2 crossovers?
You are correct, any crossover set would comprise of these items.
The JBL 606Ce has been replaced by the GTO607C. Nothing wrong with buying a 606, but you should get it at a discount.
Old 22nd June 2006, 11:32   #23

In fact get teh 606 befor ethey run out esp if you get it at a discount. given that the price difference between the 606 and 636 was about 2K if you get a 2K discount on the 606 at 4K they are fantastic value. I am shameless aren't I! :-)

I like dealers/manufacturers to make money so they can serve us in the long run. I like everyone to have the best sound for as little as possible. I like China for making this all possible! :-)
Old 6th August 2006, 18:35   #24

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
Hi Vandan,

The Indica stock setting is for a pair of 4" speakers on top (in the dash) and a pair of 5.25" speakers in the front door. With an additional mounting ring you could even squeeze in a 6" but you'd have to lose the original Indica grill.
4 speakers in the front wont sound bad at all. You could put a 6X9 in the rear parcel shelf, but the parcel shelf is rather thin ABS and WILL vibrate.
Hi Sam...This info is exactly what I had been looking for. Thanks so much! How much would the 'not so expensive but decent' speakers cost approx, also which brands. I dont want the speakers in the rear, just the 4 front ones.

Last edited by magiceye : 6th August 2006 at 18:42.
Old 7th August 2006, 12:03   #25

You are correct, any crossover set would comprise of these items.
The JBL 606Ce has been replaced by the GTO607C. Nothing wrong with buying a 606, but you should get it at a discount.
Sam.. does this mean that when i go to a shop and buy a GTO607C for Rs. 6500 i get 2 woofers, 2 tweeters and a crossover filter ??? I thought that it was only 1 woofer and 1 tweeter and 1 cross over filter.. please clarify..??

Last edited by jinu_joseph : 7th August 2006 at 12:05.
Old 7th August 2006, 12:14   #26

Originally Posted by jinu_joseph
Sam.. does this mean that when i go to a shop and buy a GTO607C for Rs. 6500 i get 2 woofers, 2 tweeters and a crossover filter ??? I thought that it was only 1 woofer and 1 tweeter and 1 cross over filter.. please clarify..??
u will get the follwing for Rs 6500

1) two woofers 6 1/2 inches
2) two tweeters
3) passive crossover
4) installation stuff (screws mounting rings , tweeter flush and tweeter base mounting kit)
5) woofer front grill
6) wires for the speaker (i am not sure)

hey man it is lots of stuff for 6.5 k........

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 7th August 2006 at 12:16.
Old 7th August 2006, 12:21   #27

LBM.. you just made my day...:-) I was always under the impression that cost was for a single set and not a pair. Does the same thing hold for Coax also so for GTO637 for 4000 do i get a pair or a single peice.
Old 7th August 2006, 12:31   #28

yaar you are taking to much tension speakers are normal sold as pairs and the sub woofer are sold as single pcs.....
Old 10th August 2006, 20:08   #29

Hey guys....please help me in selecting the correct 4"speakers to be located in the dash and a pair of 5.25" speakers in the front doors of my Indica...nothing fancy...but just to listen to some good classical music and a bit of jazz and blues! Please give the model nos and the prices in mumbai. Preferably all within 4k.

Last edited by magiceye : 10th August 2006 at 20:27.
Old 10th August 2006, 20:18   #30

The Indica stock setting is for a pair of 4" speakers on top (in the dash) and a pair of 5.25" speakers in the front door.
I was initially looking at the JBL GTO606Ce or the GTO607, but since the Indica front doors have provisions for a 5.25" speaker, is it recommended to go for the GTO507 instead?