Old 1st October 2009, 19:14   #16

^^^ If an amplifier isn't CEA 2006 rated, chances are that its overrated and doesn't actually produce the claimed power output.
Old 1st October 2009, 19:33   #17

@ Frank, what is the damping factor of the Clarion DPX?
Old 1st October 2009, 22:49   #18

Abhi, damping factor is good to have but all that it is cracked up to be.
Old 1st October 2009, 23:48   #19

I had read in Pas-mag the damping factor for DPX2251 was around 380 or so. In any case these amps are similar to Arc Audio mini/ks series where they have the damping factor to be 200+, am sure all the 3 DPX amp must be sharing around the same.

Gigy@ you can also have a look at Alpine MRP-m2000. Search for a better deal on these, rated at 2000Rms at 2ohms.
Old 2nd October 2009, 10:19   #20

Andy, where are you?

Guys a damping factor of 380 or 500 is barely distinguishable. What you need to focus on the the amps ability to produce current (it is called dumping current) into inductive loads.

Why....lets focus on subwoofers because this is where all this stuff comes from anyway.

a subwoofer 's impedance is partly inductive and partly resistive. the resistive part does no work. the work is done by the inductive part. however highly inductive subwoofers also mean that the frequency response of the subwoofer will be limited.

What is then important is that the amp should be able to tolerate and even muscle a highly inductive subwoofer into moving accurately and in control.

This is not to say that an amp with a damping factor of 10 will work just as well as that with a damping factor of 500 but there is adequate arguement that as far as damping factor alone goes there is little to choose between an amp of damping factor 100 or 500 just as there is little to choose between an amp with a TBHP of 0.0001% and 0.01%.

Past a threshold numbers are just that. Numbers.

Last edited by navin : 2nd October 2009 at 10:23.
Old 3rd October 2009, 14:01   #21

Originally Posted by navin
little to choose between an amp with a TBHP of 0.0001% and 0.01%.
What is this tbhp, navin?
Old 3rd October 2009, 14:02   #22

hahahhaha. THD. HAAAAA HAAAAAAAAA!
Old 3rd October 2009, 15:12   #23

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
What is this tbhp, navin?
This is what i call addiction.
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:57   #24

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
hahahhaha. THD. HAAAAA HAAAAAAAAA!
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
This is what i call addiction.
Kya karun. Bheja fry ho gya.

Old man's disease. Chalo atleast it was worth a laugh.

Today I took out 2 pants. Wore one and put my wallet in the other and left for the office leaving the pant with wallet behind. Now you know why I request you guys time and again never to depend on the information I post.

Last edited by navin : 3rd October 2009 at 19:06.
Old 3rd October 2009, 18:59   #25

I might fall off the chair laughing! This is hilarious. One question: Do you put your wallet in your pants BEFORE you wear them?
Old 3rd October 2009, 19:05   #26

Not normally Frank but I tell you my mind is slipping. Maybe one day my mind will be in my pants right next to my head.

I have left the house in my suit but no underwear (only realised this half way when I was in the car, carried on regardless and spent the whole day commando), gone for a function where I was on the dias with 2 socks of different colour, the list is endless.

Frank you should meet my dentist. She'll tell you. I have even walked off the chair in mid RC - I think the RC was done but the cavity was still open so something like that.

Last edited by navin : 3rd October 2009 at 19:09.
Old 3rd October 2009, 19:08   #27

:-) Just pulling your leg. Don't mind plz ;-)