Old 10th February 2010, 18:35   #1

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?

Is there anyway I could play songs off a USB pendrive in my car? My car is a year 2000 Maruti Suzuki Zen which doesn't have a cigarette lighter as we don't smoke (lol). Also, my Pioneer Head-unit doesn't have aux-in as there is no option for "Aux-in" in the menu. So, is there a way out?
Old 10th February 2010, 19:34   #2

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?

Please can anybody tell me the model no. of this Pioneer head unit. I used for quite a lot of time so the print has washed away. If possible, find me it's Manual too.
How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-hu1.jpg  

Old 10th February 2010, 19:48   #3

Is it Pioneer DEH-P5800MP? Looks like one to me at least!!
Old 10th February 2010, 20:06   #4

You were close there! Actually, the Pioneer site wasn't showing up on Internet Explorer so I switched to Firefox and I found out that it is DEH-P4800MP. Now, the query, does my system support AUX-in? If yes, can I use something like USB to Audio converter to use a pendrive for playing songs?

I wanted to ask whether my system supports Aux-In and If yes, can I use something like a USB to audio converter to listen to songs from my pendrive?

Last edited by Technocrat : 12th February 2010 at 13:22.
Old 10th February 2010, 20:13   #5

Here is the link to download User Manual for DEH-P4800MP
http://caraudio.manualsonline.com/md...515923823f.pdf

Last edited by HammerHead : 10th February 2010 at 20:15.
Old 10th February 2010, 20:33   #6

Referring to the specs, it appears that it indeed has AUX-in.
Old 10th February 2010, 23:06   #7

@tauk2mi the one you linked is a European version and visually not the one I own. Also, I feel my system does have Aux-IN. So, is there a way I can connect a USB to Audio converter ad then my pendrive to play songs from it?
Old 10th February 2010, 23:29   #8

i think the aux in is supported via an IP bus adapter.
Google for Pioneer IP bus hack for cheaper options
edit: this is a 4850, not a 4800
the difference
How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-pioneerdehp4800mpp165b.jpg

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-pioneerdehp4850mp_big.jpg

Last edited by greenhorn : 10th February 2010 at 23:35.
Old 11th February 2010, 07:23   #9

Hope this thread helps.
Old 11th February 2010, 10:20   #10

uhh, I think mine doesn't have an Aux-In so please guide me with the IP bus hack as the reading material elsewhere is confusing
Old 12th February 2010, 12:45   #11

Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
... DEH-P4800MP... can I use something like a USB ...
It has a rear Aux-in, so you can use a PMP but not a pendrive directly. It is also capable of interfacing to an iPod via an accessory cable. Not sure if there is any accessory to interface to USB-based drives.
Old 12th February 2010, 13:12   #12

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do...-y-thread.html
details on how to get aux in with your player
Old 12th February 2010, 13:33   #13

2 Questions-
1. I tried to feel if there is an AUX-IN port at the rear but could not find it.
2. I do not find any option of AUX-IN in the menu of my Head Unit. So, regardless of whether I use IP-BUS Hack or Rear AUX-IN (if it is present at the rear, not sure), how will it show on my Head Unit?
Old 12th February 2010, 14:24   #14

OK, if I have to build this IP BUS to Aux-in cable, can somebody guide me with the connections. The terminals to which I need to connect the wires are confusing. 7,9,10,11? What's that? how to connect? Where do these four wires come from?
Anybody who can guide me with a simplified diagram?

Last edited by abhipuru16 : 12th February 2010 at 14:27.
Old 12th February 2010, 14:45   #15

Okay, so this is what I did. I cut up and old headphone wire (3.5mm) and this is what I see. 1 wire two portions (red and copper) and second wire with two portions (blue and copper). I have attached pics. What to do now?
How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-dsc01433.jpg  

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-dsc01434.jpg  

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-dsc01435.jpg  

How can I use USB/Aux cable in my Pioneer DEH-P4850MP?-dsc01436.jpg