Team-BHP > In-Car Entertainment
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th September 2010, 19:56   #1

ICE for Vista Limited Edition without losing boot space

Hi
Firstly, I am a novice on ICE and new to this forum.
The default Audio system in the Vista is quite Sad. Worse in the limited edition, no USB, no line output, no remote.

However, 2 things: It fits well in the console. and it has buttons for 10 channels (unlike the usual 6 in many HUs). So I can directly with 1 button touch quickly move across any of the 10 FM channels especially with my wrist resting on the gearstick.
I play my own music only on long drives - Mostly good quality MP3s - Rock (hard & soft), Instrumental - Western and Indian, Indian - Tamil / Hindi fims

With a total budget of say 15-20k without losing any boot space, not even any protrusions below the tray in the rear, Need advice on:
1. A good HU which will fit well (no extra plates to cover - considering the LE version has good interiors) with 10 channel buttons (not 6)
2. Good speakers and Amp - anything is fine with which gives the boom and the clarity - the only space i have is in the doors and for components in front
3. A good shop in Chennai who will do it for me and not take me for a ride or push certain brands more than others
4. I am getting a GPS navigator from Dubai - so need to connect it to the audio system (in case it matters while giving your inputs)

Thanks in advance to the experts.
Regards
Koushik
Old 11th September 2010, 10:08   #2

Forgot to mention above.

I also need to buy a Steering mounted remote control

Pls advice for that as well.

Regards
Koushik
Old 11th September 2010, 12:53   #3
Senior - BHPian

HU + speakers + AMP+steering remote is not realistic within 15~20K - unless you are planning bottom of the barrel

would suggest an alpine CDE 100EUB, + 6.5" speakers all round on spacers + minimal damping
Old 11th September 2010, 16:38   #4