Old 10th December 2010, 11:32   #16

Re: Query regarding music system in Altis

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Sir, don't paint with a broad brush. What most of them lack is some bass, and wherever the OE fronts are components, they have decent treble response. Nothing great, but if 90% of the people are happy with OE systems, they have numbers on their side! Almost all such people don't have iPods or iPhones either, yet they listen to music and are not unhappy with what they have and don't care what is better in the world. Different philosophy, no?
absolutely true, couldn't have said it better. though i've seen a lot of them with chut put iPods. in fact, so long as a HU plays their iPod or pen drive, they hardly care what equipment it is.
Old 18th December 2010, 12:32   #17

Could someone pl guide me to a good ICE shop who knows their stuff. Subs and all. In Delhi / Gurgaon. Where did LBM get his rig? Your help is solicited.
Old 18th December 2010, 18:40   #18

Originally Posted by druberoi View Post
... Where did LBM get his rig? ...
Our beloved Bhai LBM Freedabadwale is not dependent on any installer or dealer. If he WANTS something, he will go to the end of the earth to get it himself, or import it.

PM him anyhow - he should be able to tell you what to do.
Old 19th December 2010, 18:27   #19

Our beloved Bhai LBM Freedabadwale is not dependent on any installer or dealer. If he WANTS something, he will go to the end of the earth to get it himself, or import it.
You make him sound like the Rajnikanth of car audio.
Old 20th December 2010, 11:34   #20

P M him anyhow - he should be able to tell you what to do.

How do I PM him? Am new around here.
Old 20th December 2010, 14:24   #21

1. Go to Members List (from menu at the top of the page)
2. Search for "low_bass_makker"
3. Click on his username on the left side to see his profile (don't let the picture fool you, that was looooooong before he became SPL-ICEkanth )
4. In the Contact Information panel, click on "Send Personal Message ..."
Old 7th April 2011, 14:19   #22

Using IPod in Altis

Dear Friends,

The Altis has a single Aux Line in (simple stereo jack). Is there a jack available to play my ipod on the same? Is it worth the effort? I hear that the controls are all lost when using the ipod; the manual does not mention the details at all.

Pl advise.

druberoi
Old 7th April 2011, 16:48   #23

Re: Using IPod in Altis

Common Guys. Pl help. Am trying to get "up to date" here.

Rgds,
druberoi
Old 7th April 2011, 18:08   #24

If there is only an input AUX jack, that means the player will simply route the input fed by the jack via its speakers.

Whatever you need to control, you need to do it on your iPod while it is connected. The only thing that you can control on your car music system would be the volume.

I don't think there is any aftermarket product that will allow you to control the player via the AUX jack.

( To play via your ipod , get a male to male Stereo cable, one end goes into your iPod, the other into the Aux jack )

Last edited by Fillmore : 7th April 2011 at 18:32.
Old 8th April 2011, 09:23   #25

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post

( To play via your ipod , get a male to male Stereo cable, one end goes into your iPod, the other into the Aux jack )
Thank you so much for your suggestion. I was thinking that there may be a special line out cable using the charging port. (Since the regular headphone socket has some amount of amplification all the same.)

Rgds,
druberoi
Old 8th April 2011, 13:38   #26

Dear Friends,

The Altis has a single Aux Line in (simple stereo jack). Is there a jack available to play my ipod on the same? Is it worth the effort? I hear that the controls are all lost when using the ipod; the manual does not mention the details at all.

Pl advise.

druberoi
I did not understand what you meant by the controls are lost. I have been using the AUX cable in my Vista to connect iPOD for more than a year now. It works perfectly fine. It also has a single AUX line.
Old 8th April 2011, 14:29   #27

I guess what he means by controls are lsot is that, the HU cannot be used to control the iPod, like some players can, but instead only the volume button works.

All other control are only via the iPod. I had the same problem wen i tried it on my cars, though one of them has a USB port, but it did not detect the Ipod. I have to resort to the aux in port only. But it plays great none the less
Old 9th April 2011, 09:37   #28

Something missing; overwhelming bass

Dear Friends,

The ICE bug seems to have bitten me. All over again.

I just got a JBL subwoofer attatched to my stock system in the Altis and for a day, it sounded fine. Now I tend to feel that something is missing again. The punch is there but not well defined. Maybe the bass is overwhelming the sound which sounded fine otherwise. At least to me.

Pl note: I sit in the rear alone. I do not get to drive anymore.

Do I go ahead and now change my rear speakers too. Get a splendid coaxial speaker pair to liven up the stage in the back seats. (Pl suggest which are the best.)

Pl advise.

Rgds,
druberoi

Last edited by druberoi : 9th April 2011 at 09:50. Reason: Addition of a line
Old 9th April 2011, 10:07   #29

Re: Something missing; overwhelming bass

Maybe the bass is overwhelming the sound which sounded fine otherwise. At least to me. Pl note: I sit in the rear alone. I do not get to drive anymore.
Do I go ahead and now change my rear speakers too.
A small sealed box sub will offfer tighter bass than a bass tube. I dont know which JBL sub you have got but think sealed box for tight well defined bass. Not that proted boxes cannot do this but saledf boxes are generally more successful (for a myraid of technical reasons which we wont go into right now).

I dont drive much either. My solution is an ipod, a small headphone amp and a pair nice open ear headphones. This ensures that I can listen to music without disturbing my chauffer. The only issue I face is if I recieve a call on my mobile phone I have to first remove the headphone and then take the call.
Old 9th April 2011, 10:12   #30

Re: Something missing; overwhelming bass

Originally Posted by navin View Post
A small sealed box sub will offfer tighter bass than a bass tube. I dont know which JBL sub you have got but think sealed box for tight well defined bass.
I got the sealed JBL Sub as advised by yourself. So the base is fine. But the sound seems to overwhelm the remaining notes.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com