Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st February 2006, 13:22   #1
Ram
Senior - BHPian

How did this tanker topple on a flat 10 km/hr road?

Dear friends:

I’ve been travelling by road between Mumbai and Pune for the past forty years or so.

Even as a kid, I’d always wondered how big trucks could manage to “lose their footing” and land on their sides, like resting elephants.

Later on after reading about centrifugal forces acting on a truck cornering at speed, one could imagine a severe impetus to overturn.
A truck driver, could also misjudge the angle of a sideways slope sharp enough to throw the truck’s centre of gravity outside its track, causing it to keel over.

But this morning, I saw a tanker lying on its left side, completely blocking the expressway turnoff to a petrol pump and restaurant area.

Location: the turnoff for the HP petrol pump at Khalapur-Sajgaon on the Mumbai-Pune expressway, just a few hundred metres after the Khalapur-Sajgaon toll station. This is the first toll station on the Mumbai to Pune expressway.

A perfectly flat good concrete surface at a spot where vehicles slow down to 10 km/h to enter the rest area.

It was carrying highly flammable nitrocellulose thinner, which was pouring out of its four filler necks, onto the road. Had it been a tar road instead of a concrete one, the NC thinner would certainly have dissolved the tar and caused it to run into the gutters.

A Khopoli local municipal fire truck was on the scene and rescue personnel stood about wearing scarves around their noses, totally at a loss as to what to do.

Here’re pics.

Does anyone know any more about this?
Old 22nd February 2006, 12:39   #2
BANNED

The Metrowater lorries in Madras used to be famous for toppling over until someone realised that the tanks didn't have internal compartments.