Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 12th October 2024, 20:34   #331

Re: BYD Atto 3 Review

My BYD Atto 3 Dynamic variant was delivered to me on the 7th of October 2024. The showroom provided a warranty of 6 years.
axedrone is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th October 2024, 23:30   #332

Hi, Took delivery of Atto 3 Dynamic variant couple of days back. Have done approximately 300 km since. Would like to share my experience so if someone wants to buy this Variant can make an informed decision:

1. The 50kwh battery pack gives 320 to 370km in mix of heavy Mumbai traffic and some highway usage. I'm getting 14 kWh per 100 km, which translates to 357km. This is with AC at 24-25 degrees when outside temperature is around 36-37.

2. The Dynamic variant comes with 17 inch wheels instead of 18 inch in the other two. The ride comfort that I felt in during TD of the superior variant is still there. Couldn't notice any improvement or degradation in ride comfort.

3. The Dynamic variant doesn't have electric powered tailgate. Honestly not a big feature to miss out on unless you frequently load your boot.

4. Dynamic variant as per catalog and sales person should have only blue ambient light. But they have delivered multicolour rhythmic ambient lights on door pads. Just on the tweeter ring lights the color is fixed to a blue. This makes it such that only blue and purple shades will make sense otherwise the lights look out of sync.

5. The TD vehicle had Chaoyang tyres. They have delivered it with GoodYear tyres. The traction and grip till now seems fine/routine.

I feel from a value for money perspective this variant of Atto 3 is better than the other two variants. You don't really lose must have features features except ADAS which should've been provided but then they would have a bunch of unhappy customers who bought the top variant at 36L on road.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 12th October 2024 at 23:43. Reason: Please capitalise wherever necessary.
rkgi10 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 17:12   #333

We have an Atto3 owners telegram group. A few BHPians are also members of it. This group aims to discuss Atto3's ownership experience, accessories, delivery experience, and anything related to Atto3.

If an existing Atto3 owner or potential Atto3 owner wants to join, then please send me a PM.
linuxworld is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th October 2024, 22:33   #334

Hi guys.
Received our White Premium Atto 3 on 11/10/24( 3 months after booking).

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241012_100310.jpg

The BYD eMax7 launch event at Kochi was scheduled on 11/10/24. BYD had scheduled delivery of a batch of Atto 3s as part of the event.We arrived late for the event and hence received our car at around 8.30 PM! A photo session, handing over of keys and signing of documents.And that was that.

The car had 35 km on the odo.Only issue was that the touchscreen was erratic.It wouldnt start along with the car and had to be started separately. BYD people said that it is a software bug and the softeare has to be reinstalled.Other than this issue, the car worked fine.They picked it up today, reinstalled the software and returned the car today evening.The touchscreen is working fine now.

The car has a request sensor only on the driver side. Its not there on the passenger side. Come on, BYD! My Ignis which cost 8 lakhs has it on both sides. Should not have done it on such a premium car.

The car came with a 7.2 kw Relux charger. Since we already had a 7.2 kw charger at our home, sold the unit to one of my colleagues who was in need of a charger.
Will have to buy a 3.3 kw charging cable for the car.

This is the first instance where
- We bought a car without going to the showroom. The test drive car was brought to our home. Everything was done online or by phone calls. The car was handed over at Hotel Crowne Plaza. Still haven't
been to Kochi BYD Showroom.
- No folder was given to keep the manual/documents.
Tll date, with every car purchase, we had got increasingly premium folders.Nothing this time.Not that it matters much;Just an observation.

They gave us a complimentary ChargeMOD & Zeon RFID card & a Zeon voucher worth Rs 500.

Regarding accessories, we had taken only mud guards from the showroom( Rs.1850). We got Graphene coating done for 1 yr duration by Yasmark through the dealership(Rs.15,000). I got the mats online from a site called qpoindia. Came to Rs.3150( much more value for money than the dealership's quote of Rs.11,000).
Mats are of good quality.

Looked for more accesories online. There are a few sites which sell BYD accessories. I checked out topbyd.com. They are based at HongKong & UK.Shipping charges for orders beyond 50 USD is free.Customs charges are applicable.
Bought 4 accessories from topBYD.
- Rubber Ring seal for the charging port( prevents water & dust entry into the charging area)
- Boot Mat
- Atto3 sill plates
- Brushed Aluminium Performance Pedals

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241012_154020.jpg

The total cost came to Rs.10,300. I placed the order at the end of September.The consignment reached Kochi RMS within one week but was stuck there for more than 10 days. The consignment was finally delivered one day after we got the car. It was delivered by our local post office. I paid a Customs duty of Rs.2660.

I installed all the accessories by myself. It was easy enough. The only issue was with the Brake performance pedal, which did not fit( the brake pedal is inverse trapezoidal but the one which I got was rectangular). Enclosing a few pics.

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241012_164504.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241012_171309.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241012_171332.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241014_175845.jpg

The boot space is good. To check for the feasibilty of spare tyre, I placed our MG ZS EV spare tyre( 215/55/R17) in the boot for reference. It took up most of the space. During long drives, the only feasible option is to carry the tyre behind the driver's seat. Will have to explore other options for spare tyre. For those interested, you can get an alloy from BYD for 15k and a full size tyre from 10k onwards. The space saver which BYD can provide is a 17 inch tyre, so may not work well.

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241014_180218.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241014_180323.jpg

We travelled to Trivandrum two days after we got the car. Its a 340km round trip. Traffic was heavy in the return leg. We started with 100% SoC and came back home with 17% SoC( did not charge on the way).So, a realistic range of 400km is definitely available.

Happy with the car so far. That's it for now.
sushanthys is offline   (37) Thanks
Old 15th October 2024, 10:53   #335

Originally Posted by sushanthys View Post
Hi guys.
Congratulations on getting the car. I also bought a few accessories from TopBYD, and their support is really nice. They respond to queries very fast. I will get the car sometime in November or December, and hopefully, the accessories will arrive by then.

Regarding mats, I really like the TopBYD TPE SGS option but it is costly. I am still searching for options.

Last edited by Axe77 : 16th October 2024 at 09:51. Reason: Trimming quoted post.
newenergy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th October 2024, 18:38   #336

Hi guys.

The boot space is good. To check for the feasibilty of spare tyre, I placed our MG ZS EV spare tyre( 215/55/R17) in the boot for reference. It took up most of the space. During long drives, the only feasible option is to carry the tyre behind the driver's seat. Will have to explore other options for spare tyre. For those interested, you can get an alloy from BYD for 15k and a full size tyre from 10k onwards. The space saver which BYD can provide is a 17 inch tyre, so may not work well.

I believe you can store the spare tire under the floor bed panel in the trunk. You have to remove a couple of screws and that unit that holds the tire repair kit can be removed. Your spare tire will fit in that space with enough extra space for the tire repair kit, jack, etc. There are quite a few videos on youtube (and earlier in this very thread) with details as to how to do this. Much better than keeping it behind the front seat or on top of the bottom panel in the trunk (which takes up too much space).
thejaguar is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 15th October 2024, 23:16   #337

Hi guys.
Please share images of the qpo mats. Also what is your review with the mats. Im confused between the qpo mats and the pharoah mats for my atto3.

Last edited by Axe77 : 16th October 2024 at 09:53. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Please don’t quote entire long posts. It inconveniences readers on mobile devices.
Old 16th October 2024, 11:44   #338

Originally Posted by sai47 View Post
Please share images of the qpo mats. Also what is your review with the mats. Im confused between the qpo mats and the pharoah mats for my atto3.
Hi sai47.

The mats are XPE mats.
They are not premium mats.But they are of good quality. For Rs 3150, its definitely worth it. Along with the car, they should age well.

Enclosing pictures.

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241016_110034.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241016_100056.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241016_100033.jpg

I have no idea regarding Pharoah mats.
Premium mats are available at topbyd.com, bydaccessories.com etc. But they are priced in the 10-15k range. Customs duty will also be applicable.
sushanthys is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th October 2024, 16:47   #339

Hi sai47.

The mats are XPE mats.
They are not premium mats.But they are of good quality. For Rs 3150, its definitely worth it. Along with the car, they should age well.

Enclosing pictures.

Attachment 2668570

Attachment 2668569

Attachment 2668568

I have no idea regarding Pharoah mats.
Premium mats are available at topbyd.com, bydaccessories.com etc. But they are priced in the 10-15k range. Customs duty will also be applicable.
Thank you for sharing the images. I have just ordered the mats after looking at them.
sai47 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 10:11   #340

Congratulations on your new car. Hope you have an excellent time munching miles. Looks like you already have an EV, is that so. Waiting for a detailed user experience from you. Thank you for sharing.
Kkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 17:17   #341

Originally Posted by Kkumar View Post
Congratulations on your new car. Hope you have an excellent time munching miles. Looks like you already have an EV, is that so. Waiting for a detailed user experience from you. Thank you for sharing.
Thank you. Looking forward to the ownership.

Yes, we also have a MG ZS EV at our home which has clocked 43k km.

Last edited by sushanthys : 17th October 2024 at 17:18. Reason: Spelling mistakes correction
sushanthys is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 17:28   #342

Hi guys.

A small update.

I had mentioned that the Aluminium performance brake pedal was not fitting. So I sent a mail to topbyd.com explaining the problem. They replied 2 days later.They explained that the rubber pad on the brake pedal has to be removed before installing the Aluminium pedal. They advised the use of a hair dryer( the hot air will warm the rubber and make it softer & more malleable).They sent a youtube link detailing the process in BYD seal.
Today, I went to work with my wife's hair dryer. Warmed the brake pedal and the rubber pad came off easily.

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241017_131135.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241017_131140.jpg

Installing the Alumonium performance pedal after that was easy. The size was correct after all.

BYD Atto 3 Review-20241017_131235.jpg

Only other accessory being planned now is a dashcam.
Kindly suggest any good brands.
sushanthys is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th October 2024, 18:09   #343

Hello everyone,

I have completed about a month of ownership with the car and have completed around 2300 kms.

I have seen a lot of discussions regarding the tyre sizes and the spare wheel, so would like to give my input regarding the same.

Stock Size: 215/55 R18

Versus the Dynamic variant size 215/60 R17

Name:  17 vs 18.png
Views: 179
Size:  32.9 KB

Versus the tyre size used in Singapore, 235/50 R18

BYD Atto 3 Review-215-vs-235.png

Versus the spare tyre used in Australia, T145/80 R18

BYD Atto 3 Review-spare.png

Tyre calculator used: http://tyrestore.in/upsizing.htm

The dealerships are still not sure regarding the spare tyre size, there are multiple reports of people being told anything from R16 to R18 spare space savers.

For completion on the topic of tyres, for electric cars, it would be ideal to look at the Load Index along with the tyre size.

BYD Atto 3 Review-load-index.png

Source: https://www.bobjane.com.au/blog/load...d-symbol-guide

For the BYD Atto 3, the stock tyres have a load index of 95, which means each tyre can take a load of 690kg per tyre, total for the 4 tyres would be 2760 kg. the stock tyres are not XL-rated either.
Kerb weight of BYD Atto 3: 1750 kg
Gross weight of BYD Atto 3: 2150 kg.

I did read somewhere online that EV tyres should be ideally XL rated or have a higher load rating. This has to be kept in mind while upgrading tyres.

On the topic of floor mats, these are mine for now. I bought them online via Instagram. Although I wanted the red stitching on the outer leatherette and the actual mat to be black or grey, this was the only option they had. The price was 6500 including shipping. Shipping took around 2 weeks and was delivered via DTDC. The tracking they provided was difficult to trace.

Attaching images for the same. Sorry for the poor image quality, had a busy week and had taken these photos in a hurry on my phone.

BYD Atto 3 Review-whatsapp-image-20241010-20.59.43_506bbdcd.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-whatsapp-image-20241010-20.59.43_1d0d28ec.jpg

BYD Atto 3 Review-whatsapp-image-20241010-20.59.41_60bbaaf6.jpg

Also, an important number for all BYD vehicle owners is the BYD Roadside Assistance.

BYD RSA: 1800 419 2622
It is managed by Bajaj Allianz, and at the time of delivery, I was told the first 6 years of RSA are free. (As part of the introductory offer, but the dealership does not know if it is still free for existing owners)

God forbid, I hope no one has to use the above number, but just in case of an emergency I have added the number here. Searching online on Google, one will get the toll-free number of the other countries, and in a stressful situation, it will be difficult to quickly find out which is the BYD RSA number.

Closing my post, Wishing all the new owners many many happy kilometers with their new rides!

Originally Posted by Arav99 View Post

So byd has finally got the stock of the dynamic variant of the atto 3 in delhi. They've told me to come make the payment. Although i am still waiting for the rollback of registration charges (which is likely to happen based on recent news articles), i have a question if anyone is aware.
The earlier buyers of the atto 3 got 6 years free maintenance which i think has been withdrawn now. What im told is that only 1 service is free and thereafter it is paid. Anyone has any clue on the service costs? Since that is unknown territory, byd might try to fleece? Or maybe im thinking too much.

Any help would be appreciated.

Btw they have done away with the chinese tyres and the cars are now coming fitted with good year tyres. Have seen it myself.
Hi Arav99,

At the time of purchase, I had enquired with the service manager at my dealership, and he informed me that the service costs are usually Rs. 3000 per service, including wheel alignment, balancing, etc. The service interval is the first service/check-up at 5000kms or 3 months, thereafter every 20,000kms or yearly.

Regarding tyres, I recently had to visit the service center. I had seen a new Dynamic variant Cosmos Black Atto 3, which wore the Atlas Batman A51 tyres, but in the R17 spec.

Originally Posted by Sid9306 View Post
Congrats on the new car monster. Hope you are enjoying the drive. It is indeed a wonderful and comfortable drive.
I got the same car in Boulder Grey delivered to me on 16th of September. Similarly the previous batch with full “Build Your Dreams” badge instead of “BYD” and the grey C pillar.

-snip-

How do you feel about the sound quality? I haven’t found any other car in the city where I can ask someone to check their speaker system but it seems I’ll probably have to travel back to the dealer (which is far from my house) to check the quality of the speakers once again.

If anybody could help with advising me regarding my options I’d really appreciate that.
Hi Sid9306,

Thank you; and Congratulations on your new car!

I also found another difference between MY2024 and previous years cars. Cars produced this year have 'BYD ATTO 3' on the rear bottom right on the hatch, the earlier models have just 'ATTO 3'

I found the air conditioning struggling to cool when under direct sunlight, otherwise, it is cold.

On the topic of audio, I found the sound quality is average at best (I would give it 6/10). While the clarity and the highs and lows are acceptable, the mid-range and the bass on the lower side are for my liking, although, I would not call it terrible.

One of our fellow BHPian, TurboHead had upgraded his speakers in the Atto 3 and had posted about the same here. Link to post (BYD Atto 3 Review)

Rainbow Audio (Link) is selling a direct-swap replacement speaker for the BYD Atto 3. It's rather expensive, though, at Singapore Dollars 4300, which is about 2.76 lakh INR. For that much money, we can install a better audio set-up for our liking, albeit at the cost of the vehicle warranty.

On the topic of Audio upgrades for the BYD Atto 3, this particular video caught my eye. It is one of the higher-end set-ups, which definitely might cost the same as buying a premium hatchback.

Hi guys.

-snip-

Congratulations Sushanthys on your new ride, wishing you many happy miles with your new car!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TopBYD products. I too have ordered some products from the website and am awaiting delivery. I will upload the photos of the products after delivery and installation.

I am not sure how to reply to your new post and to merge it with this one.

Regarding dashcam, you do have the option of buying the BYD dashcam from TopBYD and installing it yourself. There are multiple YouTube videos on the same. It would give a cleaner appearance on the car, but will only record videos from the front.

Many of my friends use the RedTiger F7NP dual-channel dashcam (Link on Amazon) The clarity is good, and even the number plates are visible during nighttime driving. Do note that with the hardwire kit, polarizer lens, and 128GB memory card, the price will be around Rs. 15,000.

I have heard that Viofo dashcams are the best in business, but the price is on the higher side, usually more than Rs.20,000-25,000.

Last edited by themonster : 17th October 2024 at 18:16. Reason: Replying to post # 342
themonster is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th October 2024, 11:55   #344

The stock speakers provided by BYD for the Atto 3 Dynamic are not great. I am planning to replace them. Has anyone modified the stock speakers? Thank you.
Old 28th October 2024, 18:30   #345

BYD Atto 3 Adaptive Cruise Control is 'Not Recommended for highway' by Euro NCAP

https://www.euroncap.com/en/ratings-...ratingId=53020
BYD Atto 3 Adaptive Cruise Control is 'Not Recommended for highway' by Euro NCAP?
This is what the report says
"BYD's appropriately named Adaptive Cruise Control' accurately portrays system functionality. The promotional material and the handbook correctly indicate the limitations of the system capabilities. System status information is displayed but there is no head-up display. Sensing that the driver's hands remain on the steering wheel was not robust, and the car lost points in this area, and for driver monitoring more generally. However, the system balances driver steering input with lane guidance, promoting co-operative driving.

The ATTO 3 uses camera inputs to detect speed limit signs. However, the speed limiter reacted to some temporary and/or conditional speed limits as though they were primary limits, and did not meet Euro NCAP's requirements. There is no speed adaptation for upcoming road features such as curves and junctions. The ATTO 3 responds to avoid a collision in some of the ACC test scenarios. The driver is supported through the S-Bend, but the car is kept fully in lane only at the lowest test speed. A lane-change assist function is not provided. In case of an unresponsive driver, the ATTO 3 disengages the lane centering function but keeps the adaptive cruise control active. If the radar or camera is blocked the car provides a warning but does not disengage.

The BYD ATTO 3 provides modest levels of driver engagement and vehicle assistance. However, it is in the area of safety backup and, specifically, the lack of action which is taken in case of an unresponsive driver, that the car performs poorly. Overall, the system is Not Recommended for highway assistance."