Team-BHP > Electric Cars

Old 1st May 2024, 19:15   #286

Re: Tata Punch.ev Review

Originally Posted by Quasar View Post
After the first 100% recharge, the range display read 330km which had been very encouraging. However, after city driving of just 124km, the charge dropped drastically to 36% with only 79km remaining! So, I was forced to recharge earlier than expected.

Now, after the second recharge to 100%, range is displaying just 198km, which is quite low - lesser that first by a whopping 132km. (All range readings at default regen-1 /city mode).

I'm wondering if the aircon is taking up huge part of the power since I am maintaining cabin at 22~23decC in this searing heat or if there is some serious issue with the battery pack.

Anyone facing similar issues?
I don't think there is a problem with the battery pack. In fact even my tigor and Tiago range has dropped by 10 to 15% over January figures due to the heat wave in our state and constant use of ac at 22 to 23 degree c. Now for the tigor we hardly get 140- 150 kms ( 100 to 10%) compared to 160-170 in January. Same as yours when I recharge nowadays it shows a paltry 175 kms DTE at 100 % charge. Battery cooling and cabin cooling is really sucking battery power and consumption is at 150 to 160kwh.
Nanolover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st May 2024, 19:38   #287

I have Empowered LR+. Hence its very surprising as to why the range is down to just 198km. IMO it should be in the range of some 240-260km.
You can check your AC settings. You can set it to Auto (Temp set to 25), ECON mode on and re-circulation on.

Rest, it is abnormally hot this year as compared to last year. There are heat waves happening in April. There is energy used to keep the battery cool.
ferrarirules is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st May 2024, 20:38   #288

After the first 100% recharge, the range display read 330km which had been very encouraging. However, after city driving of just 124km, the charge dropped drastically to 36% with only 79km remaining! So, I was forced to recharge earlier than expected.

Now, after the second recharge to 100%, range is displaying just 198km, which is quite low - lesser that first by a whopping 132km. (All range readings at default regen-1 /city mode).

I'm wondering if the aircon is taking up huge part of the power since I am maintaining cabin at 22~23decC in this searing heat or if there is some serious issue with the battery pack.
Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
Further, my Vivo mobile keeps hanging and becomes very sluggish once I get into the car since the infotainment system is automatically hooking on to it through wifi. While the car's infotainment system remembering my 'phone and hooking up automatically is a great convenience (especially for responding to phone calls on the go through steering wheel controls), it's a pain to manage the google road map display as I have been unable to use the settings on the mobile nor on the infotainment system!

Anyone facing similar issues?
Get the Infotainment software updated. I was also facing caller freeze issue. now sorted out after update.

Originally Posted by ferrarirules View Post
You can check your AC settings. You can set it to Auto (Temp set to 25), ECON mode on and re-circulation on.

Rest, it is abnormally hot this year as compared to last year. There are heat waves happening in April. There is energy used to keep the battery cool.
I am too getting a range of 200-220kms from Empowered + LR in April due to heat wave. I feel, the battery cooling system utilizes AC Compressor to cool down the liquid circulating the battery pack.
Gurudatta Nayak is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 09:54   #289
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Originally Posted by King_Julien View Post
I assume you have the top end model. Hope you have ensured that Wifi, Mobile Data, Bluetooth and Location has been enabled on your phone(All 4).
Yes, all are on but I'm still facing issues. Intend checking with dealer/service center about software /firmware updates.
Tried with cable connected but other /new issues seem to be cropping up!

Try checking your driving score and AEC on zconnect app for better understanding.
Thanks for this tip, installed zconnect & noted that climate system is sucking up 26-28% of the energy! On eco mode (with regen-2), range goes up to 205km appx. Intend using eco mode during this terrible summer!

Many thanks to Shreyans_Jain, Nanolover, ferrarirules and Gurudatta Nayak for inputs.
Old 2nd May 2024, 10:32   #290

Thanks for this tip, installed zconnect & noted that climate system is sucking up 26-28% of the energy! On eco mode (with regen-2), range goes up to 205km appx. Intend using eco mode during this terrible summer!
I did not intend to refer to the ECO driving mode. ECO/CITY/SPORTS are the driving modes, and I would not recommend driving in ECO mode for better range. I believe it is not a comfortable mode for experienced drivers.

In the "Climate" settings of the infotainment system, there is an "ECON" mode. Please enable it (green color) as it is said to reduce power usage.

(You can also access the "Climate" settings by tapping the thermometer icon on the top right of the infotainment home screen)
King_Julien is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2024, 15:55   #291

Originally Posted by King_Julien View Post
I did not intend to refer to the ECO driving mode. ECO/CITY/SPORTS are the driving modes, and I would not recommend driving in ECO mode for better range. I believe it is not a comfortable mode for experienced drivers.

In the "Climate" settings of the infotainment system, there is an "ECON" mode. Please enable it (green color) as it is said to reduce power usage.

(You can also access the "Climate" settings by tapping the thermometer icon on the top right of the infotainment home screen)
I used eco mode today & it seems fine. I prefer using it to city mode as response to the throttle is slightly slower which I actually prefer.

Will try to also use the ECON mode as that might improve milage even further.
Quasar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2024, 21:27   #292

It's been a week and a half since I bought my Adventure LR variant and the Odo is already at the 350 km mark. I am getting only 210-220 kms of range on my Adventure LR, (extrapolated figures for 0-100), but that's mainly because I think that the AC has to work overtime at maintaining 21 degrees when it's a sizzling 39 degrees outside, and have also used the charge up to stay in the car and run the AC for upwards of ten minutes when parked, which I learnt drains a lot of charge. Plus, I have have had a bit of fun with it, and have enjoyed the silly acceleration a lot in the first week, so taking all that into consideration, it is a good range. Economy mode makes very little difference to range, all it does is worsen the driving experience in my opinion. Sports though, sucks charge like a battery vampire.

When temperatures cooled down to around 24 degrees, and I drove sedately, I used up just 2 percent for 10 kms. I think most folks who aren't hypermiling will at best get somewhere around 200 kms of range from 100 to 20 charge, I'd surely love to be wrong and get more, but the SA himself said 290 is the best possible in ideal conditions. But still, 200 kms of effective range covers me more than enough for one week in the city.

But that's the advice for anybody considering an MR variant, don't. I think you'd struggle to even get 150 in this sort of heat, and that's just a little too less of a range. Plus the auto hold on the LR variants is a real blessing in traffic. So if you want something VFM, try to stretch to the Adventure LR, and if you want all the bells and whistles, go for the Empowered + LR. Empowered + LR( without sunroof or ACFC), and at the proper insurance amount is somewhere around 15.2 on road in Bengaluru. And it's comfortably better than anything else you'd find at that price.

If you already have a good main car at home, I'd really suggest the Adventure LR variant. It's a proper 1.5 lakhs cheaper, and driving wise, there's absolutely no difference. The infotainment is little smaller, but has the same fluidity and functionality, and with regards to the instrument cluster, I frankly like the semi digital one more. You get auto hold, you get the same driving experience, you get a pretty decent reverse camera, it's the perfect city car.
TorqueAddict007 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 4th May 2024, 07:35   #293

Finally, got my Punch EV Empowered + LR (without Sunroof and without ACFC) delivered yesterday, Good Drive yesterday, though couldnt drive much due to rains and high traffic in Bangalore, Plan for some drives during the weekend
shantanumishra is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th May 2024, 10:09   #294

Originally Posted by TorqueAddict007 View Post
It's been a week and a half since I bought my Adventure LR variant and the Odo is already at the 350 km mark. I am getting only 210-220 kms of range on my Adventure LR, (extrapolated figures for 0-100), but that's mainly because I think that the AC has to work overtime at maintaining 21 degrees when it's a sizzling 39 degrees outside, and have also used the charge up to stay in the car and run the AC for upwards of ten minutes when parked, which I learnt drains a lot of charge. Plus, I have have had a bit of fun with it, and have enjoyed the silly acceleration a lot in the first week, so taking all that into consideration, it is a good range. Economy mode makes very little difference to range, all it does is worsen the driving experience in my opinion. Sports though, sucks charge like a battery vampire.
Nice summary of your first experiences with new Adventure LR.
You mention "proper insurance amount" - could you describe further? Thanks.

Last edited by Sheel : 4th May 2024 at 12:47. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks!
Old 6th May 2024, 14:26   #295

Nice summary of your first experiences with new Adventure LR.
You mention "proper insurance amount" - could you describe further? Thanks.
At first, the SA quoted 95k for insurance to me, and I flat out told him I pay only 70k for my HyCross so I'd go outside if he doesn't give me a competitive quote. He did end up giving me the same quote as HDFC Ergo, for all the essential stuff plus premiums for add-ons.

As to what's the proper amount, I went for every add-on I felt was important, and the maximum possible IDV value that was available, for which HDFC Ergo quoted 52k and the dealer quoted 53k, so I just went with him as I could also get that amount with the loan.

How much your quote is could depend on what add-ons you want, the most basic one , just third party plus own damage would cost somewhere around 43k for an Adventure LR variant. I'm not sure if Acko could give it for less, but I don't trust Acko due to the experiences of a friend. But most of the established players would give you a quote around the same range.

Also don't accept any insurance without reviewing all the details first, sometimes you haggle, they'll reduce the money but usually it'll be at the cost of some add-on or they will reduce the IDV value. Zero dep, RTI, RSA, battery and motor cover are absolutely essential add-ons, and IDV should be at 95 percent of ex-showroom value. Any other add-ons, are up to you, ask anybody who's giving you the insurance to explain all the available add-ons and take what you think you will require.
TorqueAddict007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 15:33   #296

I'm not sure if Acko could give it for less, but I don't trust Acko due to the experiences of a friend.
Can you please elaborate on this experience with Acko

Zero dep, RTI, RSA, battery and motor cover are absolutely essential add-ons,...
Does any insurer give battery, motor cover or any EV specific add-ons? I thought battery and motor is covered under manufacturer's warranty
Old 6th May 2024, 16:26   #297

Thanks for the description, my policy has RSA & covers following:

Nil Dep, RTI, Consumables & Motor. IDV is appx 96% ex-showroom price.

I need to check about coverage for battery since it isn't mentioned anywhere on the policy.

Originally Posted by KuZeal View Post
Does any insurer give battery, motor cover or any EV specific add-ons? I thought battery and motor is covered under manufacturer's warranty
Guess insurance covers damage such as due to an accident whereas warranty is for manufacturing defect or failure.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 6th May 2024 at 17:11. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Edit/Quote+ functionality to quote multiple posts.
Quasar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 21:49   #298

Air conditioning is one major factor affecting range. What I found is that the way we drive the ev is really important in maximising range. If we are careful 350+ range is definitely possible with level 3 regen. The main factor is once we accelerate and reach a speed, do not lift our foot off the accelerator completely. Slow in advance by just decreasing the pressure on the accelerator so that the regen is not activated and the car keeps on rolling freely with the attained momentum. Only when we need to stop or reduce speed significantly , use the regen by lifting the foot off the pedal fully. This improves the range significantly.
thecarman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2024, 21:50   #299

Anyone sorted out the rear seatbelt alarm issue?
Old 6th May 2024, 22:39   #300

Originally Posted by KuZeal View Post
Can you please elaborate on this experience with Acko

My dealer told me Zuno Insurance (erstwhile known as Edelweiss Insurance) offers additional cover for battery in case TATA Motors doesn't cover it. Saw some articles on such policy launch by Zuno Insurance in November 2023
DHARM is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com