|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 11,496 views |
![]() | #1 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2014 Location: Planet Earth
| I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Hello everyone! So, this is going to be a long post. TDLR: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3, it took about 3.5 months for me to get the car back. ****** Note:
About a month into ownership, after driving about 2200-odd km, I met with an accident in the notorious ghat section of Kerala, between Kuntikanam and Vandiperiyar section of Idukki district. (people who regularly visit Sabarimala would be more familiar with this route) Coming to the accident. A bit of background. For some time, say 2-3 years; I have been a regular on this route (Kottayam - Madurai), and for over a year, there have been times I take this route maybe 3-4 times a week. I usually leave early morning at 3-4 am and drive back on the same day after finishing my work, usually arriving back the same day, either by late evening or midnight. I usually drive my Honda City on this route, and I have gotten very over-confident regarding both my knowledge of the route as well as my driving skills. (my biggest fault). I had been continuously traveling the previous 3-4 days before the accident, (I came back from an international trip, went to Munnar with friends, and then proceeded with this journey. I definitely should have taken more rest in between. (my second mistake) So, I was driving towards Kumily direction after Kuntikanam, and around 6.30 am I had just finished overtaking a vehicle just before a 90-degree curve. An oncoming vehicle hit me on the right side exactly in the curve, following which I hit the front left side to the side rock on the road which also had a ditch. (The photos will give a better understanding of the situation). The whole thing may have just taken a second or two, but before I knew it, the car was stuck. I would like to thank the owner of a Blue Jimny who stopped and helped me get out of the car and enquired about my well-being, God bless you where ever you are. After getting out of the initial shock of the situation, I spoke to the other party who hit me and we parted ways. (nothing happened to him, it was a Maruti Eeco with a front bull bar attached). There may have been another 2-3 reasons I can give for the accident, but ultimately I have to accept that it was entirely my fault and my over-confidence catching up to me. The accident was not at a very high speed, maybe around 50-55kmph at the first impact on the right side, just below the B pillar; followed by a second impact on the left side at maybe 35-40 kmph. I guess because of this airbags did not deploy. The seatbelt did tighten and hold me into place though. I did try to avoid the accident at the last moment, but I couldn't. Retrospectively thinking, I found this in the Team-BHP Official Review. I should have been more cautious. Quote:
I did try to search Google for the BYD RSA (Roadside Assistance) and ended up calling my Sales Advisor who promptly sent me the number. The BYD RSA is handled by Bajaj Allianz, and the service is free for the first 6 years of car ownership. (I am not sure if the new car purchases are covered by this, do confirm with the sales advisor at the time of purchase of the car.) BYD RSA Toll-Free: 18004192622. Since it was a far-off remote location, nearly 100km from the nearest BYD service center. The BYD RSA representative was courteous and stayed on the call with me until he arranged the flatbed tow truck. (I have previously never utilized the services of RSA until this point.) They did offer me a cab service for my journey, but I politely declined. While from the BYD RSA's end, they did inform the towing company to send a HI-TRAC, the towing company which was sent did not realize the car was in a ditch from the photos. Ultimately, they pulled the car out using the tow winch, while a couple of passersby placed some stones under the wheel which was in the ditch, and helped push the car up. The flatbed truck took about 4-5 hours to arrive, followed by another 2-3 hours to extract the car. The car was dropped off at the dealership at night. I was very curious and concerned regarding the battery pack. safe to say the plate protecting the battery took the impact well. Car at the dealership after getting towed, showing the extent of the damage. Paperwork. 1. Accident site photos I had taken insurance from an outside channel, which led to a delay in me getting back the car (will come back to this later)3. RC card/RC particulars. Timeline:- My car was still on Temporary Plates. I did get the number assigned to me, but as per the new rules, the dealership staff after affixing the number plate onto the car, and uploading photos of the same onto the VAHAN portal, then only the car details will be available on the VAHAN portal. Almost all websites require the vehicle number in AB-01-YZ-1234 format.5. GD (General Diary) entry with police. Some dates are an approximation, while I did follow up regularly regarding the status of repairs, I was preoccupied with other personal commitments, so I just made a mental note of the same. 15.10.2024: Accident takes place. The vehicle was towed to the dealership 19.10.2024: All required documents submitted, claim process initiated, replacement parts order placed. 11.11.2024: Parts arrived at the dealership 14.11.2024: Car shifted to body shop 20.11.2024: Works started on the car 06.12.2024: Accident repair completed 09.12.2024: First free service done (5000kms/3 months) 16.12.2024: Insurance resurvey done post-accident repair. 27.12.2024: Claim form submitted 20.01.2025: Claim settlement processed 21.01.2025: Amount credited to the service center 28.01.2025: Car delivered back. The final Bill: The insurance issue: At the time of purchase of my car, I took the insurance policy from a known agent as I have 2 other cars through the same channel. The dealership did inform me that insurance claims would be a little difficult for non-dealer channel claims, but I anyways went ahead with my own thing. They did make me sign a paper stating that if any insurance issues it would be my responsibility to settle the matter. For reference, the dealer has a tie-up with New India Assurance and Royal Sundaram, I took the insurance with New India Assurance through a non-dealership channel. So, at the time of the accident, even the service manager had mentioned to me, that since my policy is taken from outside (other than the dealership channel) until the amount is credited to their account from the insurance company, they will not release the car; or alternatively, I can pay the amount now and claim reimbursement from the insurance company. This is the dealership's policy. Well, initially I did hope the dealership would let this slide and return the car (wishful thinking) and as the time took longer, it did leave me a bitter taste of the experience (naturally, as a human being). I did try talking with the service manager politely regarding the whole episode, but it was an upper management policy and I did not find any reason to make a 'hue and cry'. The service manager did his best along with all the employees to complete the work, as well as keep me updated. I too kept visiting the service center on and off whenever I was passing by. Also, this old thread (Link) (Not-so-major accident in Mercedes E-Class. 15 lakh rupees & 6 months before car returns!) helped me understand a few things. Anyway, the final delay in me collecting the car, is due to the service center needing the email from the insurance company detailing the bank transfer (NEFT/RGTS) details. I did call the toll-free number and my insurance agent, but I ultimately had to visit the insurance office, where they gave me the details and emailed the service center within 10 minutes. I had to pay a balance of around Rs. 17,500/-. Interesting learnings I had from the experience: - The insurance company dispenses the amount minus tax (GST). There is a GST TDS deducted for the service center. - The message I got from the insurance company initially quoted a much smaller amount, which was later found to be the claim amount minus tax. - New India Assurance settled the claim amount within 24-48 hours after the final filing. A lot of people will say that I was rather too patient with the entire thing, but I was constantly traveling during the entire time my car was with the service center (Out of the 100 days the car was at the dealership, I would have been out of station for around 60 days), and I also had 2 more accidents (in my other 2 cars) around the same area in the same time period. So, I was dealing with the cards that life was giving me. Who knows, maybe the BYD may have ended up with another accident again if I received the car back earlier. Other aspects include that insurance companies are sometimes quick to reject claims for Electric Vehicles and that since it is a large amount, I do not think any dealership will take the risk. Anyway, I have driven about 1000km over the last 3 days, and the vehicle performs well dynamically. And in case you are wondering:
![]() Also, I am open to answering any queries, and constructive criticism. Last edited by themonster : 1st February 2025 at 14:03. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 161 BHPians Thank themonster for this useful post: | 5hank3r, abhi9044, abhi_tjet, AlphaKiloPapa, Amby955, anandhsub, anb, anshumandun, ArjunPadmakumar, arjunsatheesh, arnav17, AROO7, arun_josie, asbshyam, ashpalio, asifnkhan, bharatbs, blackwasp, black_and_red, Blue Vitriol, Bonemechanic, brownkaiser, Buzzard_storme, Captain_Slow_01, CArspeed, catchjyoti, CEF_Beasts, CentreOfGravity, chinmaypillay, Chrome6Boy, Col Mehta, d3mon, DHARM, dhruvritzed, digitalnirvana, Doge, Dosojin, Draunzer21, drrajasaravanan, ecenandu, espraveen, expcretrvlsmile, eyesice, ferrarirules, FlankerFury, freakmuzik, FueledbyFury, GaryTSI, GeeTee TSI, Geo_Ipe, gischethans, GKR9900, GreenerPlanet, GST, GTO, Harjot37, Hayek, HIGHWAY_PATROL, icar, idoctor, ike, InControl, ItsMeTheCarBoi, itwasntme, JithinR, JoshuaM, Just_A_User, K a s h, karthikg87, kashesh, Kelly66, keroo1099, Kevinrevvz, Klub Class, LakeWalker, Lobogris, M35, Madrasin_selvan, mh09ad5578, MotorDev, mugen_pinaki27, mxx, myavu, NarediAni7518, newenergy, ninjatalli, NirmalK, NPV, Nrulz, Old_Salt, Omkar, OpenRoads, Padam2151, PearlJam, Pennant1970, pkulkarni.2106, PNTEN, Precision, qr20de, Ragavsr, Raghu M, rajaramgna, rajathv8, rajshenoy, rajvardhanraje, ramnaresh_2000, RavSam, Red Liner, redruminator, Remsoft, Researcher, Revotorqued, ron178, Roy.S, rroy92, Rudra Sen, saikishor, Samba, sanjayrozario, sarathlal, searacer932, Seenz, Sharanam, shashant, shatananda.k, shipnil, shobhit.shri, Shreyas Aterkar, SILVER-ARROW, Simhi, Simple_User, skoda0505, slango97, Snow_man, Sourd810, src, SRISRI_90, sri_tesla, srvm, SS338, SteeringStar, sudeepg, supernova105, sushanthys, texens, TheRandomGuy, Thyag, TorqueIndia, TORQUEINDUCTION, TSIboy, v1p3r, varkey, Vasuki, vdi, vdk, VinsWagen, Voodooblaster, WhiteSierra, WindmillsFly, Yieldway17, yogiii |
![]() | #2 |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Kottayam,Kerala
| Re: BYD Atto 3 Review Hi TheMonster Glad that you and the car are safe. Thank you for such an informative & exhaustive post. Its good to know that BYD RSA is prompt to respond. By the way, has anybody taken extended warranty from BYD? They have quoted 64k and the terms are reasonable. The extended package for the battery pack is not attractive. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank sushanthys for this useful post: | knp, Lobogris, themonster |
![]() | #3 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: CHD
| Re: BYD Atto 3 Review Glad to see that you are safe. The age old golden rule: Never overtake on such undivided Ghat roads unless there is a clear view of road ahead. An innocent person could be on the correct side of their road on the other side. Looking at the bill, the Atto3 not only looks like a baby Porsche, its spares are priced like one too. Zero depreciation insurance is a must for Atto3. Wishing you a safe and happy ownership experience with your Atto3. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 23 BHPians Thank PaddleShifter for this useful post: | ArjunPadmakumar, arun1100, athalaga, black_and_red, ComboCutter, digitalnirvana, Draunzer21, espraveen, GaryTSI, GeeTee TSI, GrammarNazi, GreenerPlanet, Lobogris, MotoMoto418, saikishor, sandeepmohan, Sharanam, SILVER-ARROW, themonster, twincharger_gt, UD17, WhiteSierra, yogiii |
![]() | #4 |
BANNED Join Date: Aug 2019 Location: Traffic
| Re: BYD Atto 3 Review Sorry to hear about your ordeal TheMonster. I had a fender bender while overtaking recently as I almost got squished between two cars. Here, the road seems narrower so it is good you realized the mistake like me. However, 60k+ for a door assembly is outrageous. Overall, bill of 5.8L for a few panel changes, and painting is outrageous. I guess they billed the insurance company as high as they could. Luckily, there was no structural damage on the car based on the pics, so I think the car is still safe to use. Do check for any leftwards or rightwards pull. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank wheelspinner for this useful post: | Draunzer21, GreenerPlanet, themonster |
![]() | #5 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2008 Location: Bangalore
| Re: BYD Atto 3 Review Quote:
Was your battery protection plate not changed? It shows a scratch and if it wasn't changed, you must take it in writing from BYD that this is not going to affect your battery warranty in any way in the future. There have been some unfortunate instances in India and globally, where such a simple scratch has led to the manufacturer denying battery warranty citing external damages. Last edited by d3mon : 2nd February 2025 at 12:54. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 7 BHPians Thank d3mon for this useful post: | asifnkhan, r0n1n, sanjayrozario, SilverSmoke, subie_socal, themonster, WhiteSierra |
![]() | #6 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Mysore
No doubt that each accident has its own set of root causes but if you are okay to share them, please do as everyone learns to be safer as a result. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 6 BHPians Thank McLaren Rulez for this useful post: | black_and_red, gischethans, Lobogris, MotoMoto418, SJD@NewDelhi, themonster |
![]() | #7 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2014 Location: Chennai
And looking at the repair bills, time is not far away that insurance will become 200-300 usd expense monthly like in the West. The front right door had a small dent that could have been repaired and repainted. Instead it was replaced at 60k expense ![]() It's actually shocking that insurers penny pinch in approving small claims in health policy while being extremely liberal in their auto division. Last edited by Ragavsr : 2nd February 2025 at 23:47. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 10 BHPians Thank Ragavsr for this useful post: | anandhsub, ArjunPadmakumar, gischethans, InControl, JSaarinen, r0n1n, rt363, sri_tesla, themonster, Thyag |
![]() | #8 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Bangalore
| |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 10 BHPians Thank Red Liner for this useful post: | ArjunPadmakumar, Baristyro, Castro Gunner, doga, GaryTSI, loki, sri_tesla, Sudarshan_N, themonster, varkey |
![]() | #9 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() | re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 My 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 had an accident | Took 3.5 months to get the car back - Posts moved to a new thread. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Aditya for this useful post: | GTO, themonster |
![]() | #10 | ||||||||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2014 Location: Planet Earth
| re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Quote:
Thank you! I have taken the extended warranty for both the car and the HV battery pack, I usually take the maximum possible extended warranty for all my vehicles. I did it just before the 0-60 day period ended (about 2 months back). I don't remember the exact amount I paid, but I guess it was around Rs. 1.3 lakhs. (inclusive of 18% GST) Most details are on their website Link Shall enclose screen grabs from the Extended warranty Invoice cum Certificate. I took the extended warranty for the HV battery pack as my running is usually on the higher side. I have driven around 2.75 lakh km on my petrol Honda City in 11 years. Vehicle Extended Warranty: HV Battery Extended Warranty: Quote:
Thank you! Yes, I have learned my lesson and I do keep my emotions in check while driving. Quote:
Nope, there is no wheel pull as of now. I drove about 1500km over the past week and there have been no issues with alignment. They had also changed a lower arm during the repair. Will anyways get Wheel Alignment and balancing done at the 5000km mark. (I usually follow this with all my cars very religiously.) Regarding parts cost, I checked with Topbyd website too, it is almost similar to what is quoted by the service center. Link Quote:
Thank you for bringing this up. Shall cross-check with the service manager the next time I visit the service center and update here. Quote:
Other two accidents are on regular ICE vehicles. 1. Maruti Swift Dzire VDi 2010 model This happened on the same day. I had asked a friend to come pick me up after the BYD accident. He came over in my car, and on the way, maybe 10 kms away from this spot, while he was waiting at a junction, a private bus sped and rear ended the car. No injuries or anything, but the entire boot section had to be repaired. I am planning to keep the car as a beater car at home, and I have the retest/renewal of RC this year for the car; so during the repair I also got the car repainted. I did this at an FNG, did not claim insurance and paid from pocket.2. Honda City iVTEC 2014 model This happened about 2 months post the above accident, maybe 5 km before this spot. I had gone for a long drive , and had a driver driving for me for a majority of the distance (about 1200km out of 1500km in 2 days). I had dropped him off at his town and was continuing back home. It was late night 2am and I was going very slowly (30-40 kmph) as a lot of Sabarimala devottees were travelling plus it was foggy. I blinked at a curve and ended up dozzing off for 15 seconds, ended up on the side of the road. I was lucky cause it was a ~100 meter drop at the next curve. While cosmetically, only the front bumper was damaged, the underbody took the maximum impact with the suspension components and driveshaft getting damaged. I got the car towed to an FNG for repair. I was anyways planning to get a suspension overhaul done for the car cause it had run about 1 lakh km since last suspension overhaul. I gave the car to a FNG, the car is still undergoing repairs. Quote:
I mentioned the time for settlement of the claim as a positive. Even when I called their toll-free number, they mentioned 5-7 days. I did wait for the said amount of time, and after visiting their office I got to know that the fund transfer was done within 24-48 hours of filing the claim. I agree with the waste of resources part. If the car had not gone off-road and had I not needed the services of the RSA, I would have gotten it repaired at an FNG, as most panels could have been dented and repaired, except for the bumpers, the left headlight, and a few other parts. Nonetheless, almost all OEMs usually replace parts and not repair them unless the roof and side skirt (running board) are involved. Also, all damaged parts are taken for salvage by the insurance company and sold for scrap or sold after repair. (I am not sure about this, I was given this information years back in 2018 or so when I had made my last auto insurance claim). it is saddening regarding Health insurance claims, but that is another discussion altogether. Quote:
Yes ![]() As the age-old saying goes, "Better late than never". | ||||||||
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank themonster for this useful post: | Fighter_82, Ragavsr, Red Liner, sushanthys |
![]() | #11 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2014 Location: Chennai
| re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Quote:
![]() All OEMs replacing spares is true but they will repair and repaint if customer insists. But if insurance is involved , they have a free run and that is why I feel insurers have a role in reigning them in. Also get a driver for your own safety if I may suggest. Somehow, if our minds are busy thinking about work, it gets impossible to have 100% concentration while driving. I have had one near miss and a small accident in December, and looking back i myself was surprised how such a lapse of concentration had happened. Last edited by Ragavsr : 5th February 2025 at 18:44. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Ragavsr for this useful post: | themonster |
|
![]() | #12 |
Newbie Join Date: Nov 2024 Location: bhopal
| Re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Glad that things ended up well. It is psychologically strenuous to think about tackling such a situation especially while being with dependent family members and kids on board and while being miles away from home place. I wonder can we not make a dot map of member bhpians and their locations who would love to offer assistance to fellow members here in case they need help while being in their respective areas? I guess it would be a big help to our own mates who happen to need our assistance and it will also save them hassles of interacting with strangers and problem makers in such situations of accidents, breakdowns or other emergencies. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank onco.opinion for this useful post: | black_and_red, Capri89, red_hot_punto |
![]() | #13 |
Senior - BHPian | Re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Great post and thanks for being very open and honest about the whole incident. Glad to know that neither you nor anyone else involved suffered any physical injuries. The lessons you learnt are what any experienced driver including myself learn at some point of their driving life. Over confidence in our capabilities do result in such mishaps. But if you are ready to learn from it, you will emerge a better driver. I have been taking external insurances via policy bazaar for quite a few years now primarily because the markup dealership put on policies is simply outright cheating. I recently had the same experience but only a much smaller timescale to claim insurance for by father in law's car that met with a mishap. The car was a new car as well, where the number allotment had not been approved as the dealer delayed uploading the registration plate pictures. However once I got that done things moved fast. I had an SBI general policy and fund dealing with the surveyor a very pleasant and professional experience. Drive on, Shibu. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #14 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: New Delhi
| Re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 Great to see that both you and car are safe and back. It was brave of you to pen down this journey as it happened with all of us. It surely will guide us to be better. Thanks for sharing. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #15 |
Newbie Join Date: Jan 2025 Location: Dehradun
| Re: I met with an accident in my 1-month-old BYD Atto 3 2 more accidents while the BYD was getting repaired? For me, that's really concerning. Appreciate your mindset and sportive spirit. Take care and drive safe. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Flamethrower for this useful post: | athalaga |
![]() |