Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st November 2011, 05:39   #1
Senior - BHPian

6 ohm or 8 ohm speaker??

my current home theatre is with 6ohm speakers and i want to replace the front with Sony SS-B3000 bookshelf speakers (8 ohm, 120W power). The receiver manual dont specify what is the impedance it can support, it just says the provided speaker impedance as 6 ohm. I am considering a different 8 ohm floor standing speaker as well.

Also the receiver supports 135 watts per channel at 6 ohm.

Can I connect the SS-B3000 speakers to my current receiver?

Is it a safe assumption that the power delivery to the speakers increase as the volume is increased ?
Old 21st November 2011, 09:14   #2
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: 6 ohm or 8 ohm speaker??

@Arjithin, while I am no expert in this area, but one point (in Electronics) is that for best output, you need to match the impedance. Hence if your HT has a 6 ohm impedance, then it will be best if you can use speakers of the same rating.

(Do you remember the Max Power transfer theorum ? )
condor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st November 2011, 10:00   #3
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
@Arjithin, while I am no expert in this area, but one point (in Electronics) is that for best output, you need to match the impedance. Hence if your HT has a 6 ohm impedance, then it will be best if you can use speakers of the same rating.

(Do you remember the Max Power transfer theorum ? )
Agree with you, but the question is should I change the complete set up for a defective front speaker. I am not finding a good/budget friendly 6 ohm speaker. My assumption is that it wont make a big issue as long as I keep the volume to moderate levels. but expert opinions always help.
Old 21st November 2011, 10:29   #4
BHPian

Hi Arjithin,