Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 19th April 2009, 21:47   #1

Airtel to launch DTH for cars

There are news in various sources regarding soon to be launched Airtel direct-to-home (DTH) services for automobiles. This DTH service will need an auto-tracking antenna that will be mounted on the roof of the car. (Source: Airtel to launch DTH for cars )

Just curious how useful it will be to watch the TV in car.

This is my first post in the forum and I hope I'm placing this thread in correct section.

Samdarshi
Old 19th April 2009, 23:27   #2

Shouldnt it be DTC in that case ?
Old 20th April 2009, 00:12   #3

AFAIK the same is already being offered by Dish and the antenna costs somewhere around 90K - 1.5L. There are two types of antenna, the cheaper one being around 90K (works in some states of India only, no idea why) and the expensive one works all over.

I dont think Airtel will be any cheaper.

Definitely not worth this kind of money.
Old 20th April 2009, 00:47   #4

Does Airtel want its customers to die?

Old 20th April 2009, 01:16   #5

Originally Posted by samdarshi.pali View Post
Useful, big zero. Entertainment, 100%. Iceman91, Jay, and me were probably the first people in India to watch a live telecast F1 race while on a highway.

Thad, yes I think they do. We almost did!
Old 20th April 2009, 02:01   #6

Fantastic, so not only can drivers use their mobiles to make calls whilst driving (and get distracted) but they can watch Indian Idol, Star Voice of India and all those Ekta Kapoor dramas whilst driving. Will sure make indian roads a better place....NOT
Old 20th April 2009, 02:36   #7

Originally Posted by samdarshi.pali View Post
There are news in various sources regarding soon to be launched Airtel direct-to-home (DTH) services for automobiles. This DTH service will need an auto-tracking antenna that will be mounted on the roof of the car. (Source: Airtel to launch DTH for cars )

This is around for a very long time now. The set top box can be the same that is used for getting DTH channels at home, the difference is only in the antenna - which is the most expensive component. IPTV is a better option, just a matter of having inexpensive wireless broadband services.

Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
Shouldnt it be DTC in that case ?
Old 20th April 2009, 12:45   #8

Not a bad idea for the chauffeur-driven (rear screens)! But the sound will still distract the driver.
Old 20th April 2009, 14:59   #9

Already we are suffering due to idiotic drivers talking on mobiles while driving but at least they have their eyes on road, but this TV in cars will ensure doubling the road accidents.

Cant these company wallahs have some respect for human lives, or is the sheer greed for profit overrides every other aspect. And of course our netas and babus 'managing' the road transport are not bothered about such trivial things because they never face such threats on roads thanks to their 'Lal battis'

'Har shakh pe ullu baitha hai,
Anjaame gulstaan kya hoga'
Old 20th April 2009, 19:20   #10

I understand this will be a costly product and will be used for chauffeur-driven (rear screens) SUVs.

Samdarshi
Old 20th April 2009, 22:45   #11

Well.... DVD players in cars, of course, is nothing new, and this is just more along the same lines.

22-inch LCD screen in front of the driver's face, anybody?

v1p3r --- I'm glad you survived the race!
Old 20th April 2009, 22:55   #12

Automotive applications are not necessarily restricted to cars.

Long distance buses and trains are a possible market. Imagine the day when you sit in your A/c Chair Car compartment and order your movie or your TV channel by swiping your credit card. More people travel by Bus or Train in India than the ones that fly around.

If you dont have a credit card, you may also be able to use your AirTel recharge card.

The possibilities are endless. The ones who want to watch TV while driving their cars probably deserve to die anyway.
Old 20th April 2009, 23:00   #13

And Worldspace has been twiddling its thumbs in India all along.
Old 20th April 2009, 23:02   #14

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
The ones who want to watch TV while driving their cars probably deserve to die anyway.
Problem is, that they might kill others too in the process.
Old 20th April 2009, 23:07   #15

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
The possibilities are endless. The ones who want to watch TV while driving their cars probably deserve to die anyway.
It is not a question of their death, the fear is more of deaths of other road users, caused by such drivers.