Old 27th June 2011, 21:28   #16

Re: Recommendation for a small hatch

Ex-showroom price of i10 Magna is more than 4L in Hyderabad. Carwale is showing 4.77L OTR for 1.1 magna and 4.97L for 1.2 magna kappa. For i10, you have to stretch you budget, I guess.

Spark looks better bet. Do let us know the discounts offered by the dealers.

Last edited by ottocycle : 27th June 2011 at 21:40.
Old 28th June 2011, 02:07   #17

Originally Posted by ottocycle View Post
Ex-showroom price of i10 Magna is more than 4L in Hyderabad. Carwale is showing 4.77L OTR for 1.1 magna and 4.97L for 1.2 magna kappa. For i10, you have to stretch you budget, I guess.

Spark looks better bet. Do let us know the discounts offered by the dealers.
You may also check out the cheaper I10 1.1 Era. It has all the basic goodies (PS/AC, tachometer, central locking, etc) from the more expensive variants of the I10 and the easy ingress/egress would also be a welcome feature. The engine too would be more than enough to meet your requirements.

If the Spark and I10 1.1 Era are priced similarly, I would easily opt for the I10 1.1 Era (given a budget limitation), mainly because of the advantages of a tall-bodied car, roomier cabin, better boot space, better driver visibility and a better service network.

Last edited by misquitas : 28th June 2011 at 02:13.
Old 28th June 2011, 08:34   #18

I test drove the A-Star recently. The TD vehicle was in pretty bad shape.
But yet the car drove well. Only thing i did not like about it was the vibrations at idle.
Also it is pretty cramped inside, the front seats are just about adequate for a tall person. while the rear was extremely cramped and a place i would not be comfortable in at all.

Later in the day i visited the Hyundai showroom and sat in the i10.
Much better car overall. A lot more space in the rear. i could sit behind the front seat adjusted for myself. So it definately is more spacious.
The quality of materials too impressed.

Overall from your list.
It's the i10 anyday. You will not go wrong with it. I promise.

Edit ~ Spark is a great car too, but still would go with the i10 here.
Edit2 ~ Someone mentioned Wagon R. Now that is truly a great recommendation. A great car to drive, very light controls. Spacious, good boot. Do check it out.

Last edited by mdsaab : 28th June 2011 at 08:38.
Old 28th June 2011, 11:53   #19

I guess there is a life time free road tax offer on Spark, and more over there is some kind of 3 year free maintenance offer on spark so I guess Spark would make a best buy.

How ever I never driven either Spark on i10 so cannot comment on the ride feel about the cars.
Old 28th June 2011, 15:59   #20

Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Why not the Zen Estillo.
Too old & outdated (newer gen exists in the new WagonR), the build is really, really flimsy and the ride too bumpy. Better to buy the WagonR instead.

Originally Posted by misquitas View Post
You may also check out the cheaper I10 1.1 Era. It has all the basic goodies (PS/AC, tachometer, central locking, etc) from the more expensive variants of the I10 and the easy ingress/egress would also be a welcome feature. The engine too would be more than enough to meet your requirements.
Best part is, you still get a torque'y engine and the same interior quality.
Old 28th June 2011, 16:10   #21

I dont know whether Spark and 1.1 i10 fall in to same price category. If so i10 is the best option and new interior refresh looks nice and is better than Spark.

When I checked in 2009 price difference was over a lakh rupees between these two (Spark LT and i10 1.2)

@Musafir_blr - The leg space difference is common in all cars due to centre console, gear lever and cup holders arrangement in the area (left)

Last edited by Latheesh : 28th June 2011 at 16:13.
Old 28th June 2011, 16:10   #22

I test drove the A-Star recently. The TD vehicle was in pretty bad shape.
But yet the car drove well. Only thing i did not like about it was the vibrations at idle.
Also it is pretty cramped inside, the front seats are just about adequate for a tall person. while the rear was extremely cramped and a place i would not be comfortable in at all.
Yes, the interior of A-star is too crampy. I faced an unique problem in A-star. The distance between the knee and lower panel of the Dash Board varies. I mean, if you are sitting in the driver's seat, the distance between the left knee and the lower panel of the Dash Board will be far less than the distance between the right knee and the lower panel of the Dash Board. Overall, I didnt find the comfort in A-star. But surely the milage of A-star is really good.
Old 28th June 2011, 16:57   #23

i10 anyday. It is the classiest in your shortlist. You will always feel good driving it around. Image does matter you know. And to top it all Hyundai a.s.s is also pretty good.
Old 28th June 2011, 18:22   #24

I would suggest you to have a look at BEAT, while you TD Spark, as BEAT 1.2 PS version costs approx. 4.3 lacs OTR, you get FPW, PS, AC and a futuristic car with a peppy 1.2l engine for your budget.
Old 28th June 2011, 20:41   #25

IF you can stretch your budget to about Rs 4.5 lakh (on road), I would strongly urge you to opt for the I10 VTVT 1.2 Magna. In the Magna, you will get...

* Refined 4-cylinder 1.2 ltr VTVT engine
* PS/AC
* Tachometer
* Useful gear shift indicator (to maximize FE)
* 5-door central locking
* 4-door power windows
* Electric L/R mirrors
* D/N mirror
* 2 12V sockets
* Superb interiors/fitments

Plus, you can easily add to the I10 Magna:

* Luggage lamp
* Intermittent wiping facility
Old 29th June 2011, 09:00   #26

Originally Posted by satish_appasani View Post
My preferences are:
Maruti Alto K10
Maruti A-Spark
Chevy Spark
Hyundai i10 Magna
My suggestion will be the i10. Simply one of the best Hyundai available in our market.
Old 29th June 2011, 09:20   #27

If your budget is a strict 4 lakh none of the i10 variants fall into your budget.

I would recommend Santro GL Plus for you. It shares the same engine with i10 1.1.

Santro is very reliable and great fun to drive. ( IMHO evenmore so than i10 < 80 kmph ). Resale value is also very good.
Old 29th June 2011, 10:38   #28

If your budget is strictly 4L I'd suggest the Spark. A no-nonsense, simple, refined and peppy hatch that's great as a city runabout.

If you can up your budget by 50k or so, consider the i10 with the 1.2 engine. Excellent hatch and feels relatively luxurious.

Last edited by anekho : 29th June 2011 at 10:40.
Old 30th June 2011, 08:42   #29

Originally Posted by anekho View Post
If your budget is strictly 4L I'd suggest the Spark. A no-nonsense, simple, refined and peppy hatch that's great as a city runabout.

If you can up your budget by 50k or so, consider the i10 with the 1.2 engine. Excellent hatch and feels relatively luxurious.
I do not think you are aware of the latest i10 1.2 prices. The cheapest variant is slightly more than 5L OTR HYD.
Old 30th June 2011, 09:24   #30

i thought the i10 1.2 prices are as follows
1.2 magna ~ 4.88 OTR
1.2 Sportz MT ~ 5.23 OTR

Now add to this the discounts
1. Free insurance for sure.
2. Free accessories ~ depends on your bargaining skills.
3. Possible additional 5K discount.

So it would take the i10 sportz to around 5L too.