In a strange quandary: S-Cross Zeta 1.3 vs Polo GT TSI There is a thread in the "What car?" section that discusses decisions regarding hatchbacks in comparison to compact SUVs. I didn't think, my query fits in there, since according to the Indian definition, the S-Cross being 4.3 metres in length does not fall into the compact category. However, Mods, kindly merge my post with any existing thread if you think the topic does not deserve an independent thread.
Currently, we have two petrol cars: a 4 year old Honda City, driven by me, that recently got new tyres (Continental MC5 195/60/R15), and a 9 year old Hyundai Getz Prime (currently on third set of tyres: Yoko A-drives), chauffeur-driven, used by my wife.
We want to replace the Getz with a new car. The new car will be driven by me, and the older car will be driven by the chauffeur.
Our budget has a flexible max of 11 Lakhs on road in Kolkata.
Both of us work. The cars are used primarily for office commutes in dense to very dense city traffic. In addition, there may be evening trips for social occasions and occasional weekend trips on the highway. The Kolkata roads, in case you are not familiar, are rough, there is perpetual construction work, and even the manholes are not level with the road - and we take pride in putting a satellite around Mars. Our total drives are approximately 1000 - 1200 kms per month, distributed approximately equally between the two cars. However, we like to keep two cars, at least as long as both of us are working. And the kilometres do not justify a diesel car.
Our problem is, we do not have any specific requirement for the new car, except that it has to be a relatively niche product, solidly built, dynamically very stable, with all possible safety features available within the budget quoted above. Ideally, we would like to keep the car for at least 8 years. My Honda still drives like new, actually better than a new, and there is no reason why we cannot keep it for another 4 - 5 years. We expect the same from our new car. We also expect the new car to have features on par at this price point, but we are not sold on features alone. Build quality and driving dynamics along with safety are the most desirable qualities for us. A petrol automatic would be nice, if available within our budget, given that this would be the 13th car in my life and I am not getting any younger.
Keeping the above in mind, we set out test-driving three cars: S-Cross 1.3, Vitara Brezza ZDI+, and Ecosport Petrol Titanium Automatic. The S-cross came out as the winner from this lot by a long mile. The test drive on the S-Cross was amazingly good, even on the stock tyres. My son who drives a Camry in the US was visiting us, and he also drove the S-Cross and strongly recommended it. We could not test drive the Ecosport, since a test-drive vehicle was not available with the dealer. We sat in it and did not like the cramped inside, especially the passenger's proximity to the driver. The Brezza drove well, but looked and felt cheap at that price, especially in comparison to the S-Cross.
Everything's nice with S-Cross except that it runs on diesel and noise is not well-controlled inside the cabin, at least that was the case with the test vehicle. There is talk about a petrol version to be released in the future. However, two things have put me off regarding the petrol S-Cross: the speculated M15 engine does not excite anyone (it would stand no chance against even the 1.3 VGT which was a pleasure to drive, with minimal lag), and secondly, it seems to me that S-Cross is presently not a priority for Maruti, and hence it would take some time for the petrol to appear in the Indian market, that too perhaps without a boosterjet. Well, the bottomline is: we are not allergic to diesel, and if it turns out that our best choice at the moment just happens to be a diesel car, we would just go ahead with the deal, even if our driving does not need diesel.
Then all of a sudden, the idea of the Polo GT TSI came to mind. Apart from being solidly built, it has two technological marvels in that car: the TSI turbo petrol engine with direct injection, and the double clutch DSG 7+1 speed automatic transmission. On the negative side, the rear room comfort is much much less, in comparison with the S-Cross. But then, the argument of my wife is, having a smaller car in densely populated Kolkata really helps at most times. Since we already have a mid-sized car with a large boot, we can very well have the second car smaller. In any case, in our standard scenario, we do not usually have too many people to carry in our cars. In comparison with the S-Cross, the GT TSI comes with disc brakes only on the front, and for that price does not have navigation and rear parking cameras as standard, although I am told the screen can be used with my cell phone for navigation, and it has rear parking sensors.
The test-drive with the Polo GT TSI went really well. The car felt well planted with adequate braking. The engine response was very good and the transmission really beautiful. The NVH level inside the cabin was very satisfactory and the front doors closed with a thud, if that says anything.
The ex-showroom price of the cars in Kolkata are: 9.86 Lakhs for the S-Cross 1.3 Zeta, and 9.36 Lakhs for the Polo GT TSI - a difference of mere 50 thousand. The on-road prices are within our budget, especially keeping in mind that we enjoy the maximum NCB on the insurances of both cars.
One major complaint about both cars. Neither come with Xenon/LED projector headlamps (the alpha trim of the S-Cross does, but at a premium and much above our budget). I have read somewhere that VW is thinking of introducing these headlamps on a future Highline+ trim on the Polos and Ventos, but I am not sure when.
I am thankful to many many Team-BHP threads for having come this far in our selection for the new car. Kindly share your thoughts, especially in this situation when I have managed to put two very different cars together for a comparative evaluation. I need to hear from you if I am doing something very stupid.
Last edited by asitkde : 29th January 2017 at 12:37.
|