Old 27th November 2006, 16:18   #1

first car...

Planning to buy my first car..

- Good driver's comfort (new to driving too!)
- Expected Price range = around 4L
- Mostly city driving (Long drives will be there, but not frequent)
- Family car

Based on these requirements, is Santro Xing XO (without ABS) a good choice?
If not, can the experts suggest better alternatives?

Thanks in advance
Old 27th November 2006, 17:01   #2

Yes, Santro Xing is a good car. But if you can wait a little while, new Zen is coming & that could be the perfect car for you. cheers
Old 27th November 2006, 17:41   #3

In that range, simply buy an Alto (moreover it is ur first car), u will never regret...if u want more justification, read all my travelogues...

Abhi
Old 27th November 2006, 18:02   #4

Why limit yourself to the ALTO if you have a budget of 4 Lakh? Look at something more bigger say like the Santro or if you can, wait for the new Zen. ALTO is no doubt an awesome car, but has some limitations.
Old 27th November 2006, 20:16   #5

Wait for the new zen and then decide.
Old 28th November 2006, 07:10   #6

Thanks a lot..

Any idea when the new Zen will be launched?
Old 11th December 2006, 11:01   #7

New zen is already launched in many flashy colors. Looks a good alternative to santro. Looks roomy too.
Old 11th December 2006, 11:21   #8

i say go for the new zen.
for your first car it would be ideal because:
1.come from maruti stable so not heavy on packet for maintenance
2.good handling
3.better fe(i suppose)
Old 11th December 2006, 14:11   #9

Originally Posted by warhorse View Post
Thanks a lot..

Any idea when the new Zen will be launched?
didn't have to wait long, did you? the new Zen is available in splendid colours with all the dealers. check it out before you decide. cheers
Old 11th December 2006, 15:24   #10

Even i want to own first car.....Doing research since last one month.....First I was looking for used car 1.5 to 2 lac range......then i decided to go with new one as i want a car for long term like atleast 5 years. sO NOW RANGE IS 3.5 TO 5 Lac (on road).......I have selected Swift/Indigo GVE OR gvs......No......What about M&M RENAULT'S LOGAN ?Which is coming soon in Apriil or so?It's look very good and It is having everything what i need.......Any comments....
Old 11th December 2006, 17:26   #11

suggest you wait a while till all the new models are released. but for a first timer, i would suggest you pick up a car thats proved its mettle instead of going for one thats not yet come.
Old 11th December 2006, 18:19   #12

LOL man.......You are saying right......I agree with you..........I just started learning driving at driving school.....Let me complete it. Then I think i will go with SWIFT as it impressed me so far.....
Old 12th December 2006, 04:29   #13

Go for anything every thing is in you budget Swift santro Wagon R New Zen Getz If I were You I would prefer swift
Old 12th December 2006, 09:24   #14

Last I heard Warhorse booked a Santro XO. Just couple of days back! He says now "Santro is the best car in the world" :-)
Old 13th December 2006, 09:56   #15

Yup...I have booked a Xing XO..charming grey..

Zen Estilo was contending heavily, but then the experience of Santro on road attracted me, since am a first timer.

I heard that the VAT rates are going to be increased next year. Any idea?