Old 25th January 2007, 01:39   #16

Originally Posted by vivekkr_99 View Post
Offtopic - My 2001 model zen VX (covered 76000 kms) has been quoted 1.3 -1.4 lakhs by maruti true value in Bangalore.. the resale value has gone down drastically.
thats pretty low.my 2000 zen lx mpfi (covered 78000kms) was quoted the same amount at the true value.1.45 to be precise.
Old 25th January 2007, 03:00   #17

Originally Posted by hellspawn View Post
thats pretty low.my 2000 zen lx mpfi (covered 78000kms) was quoted the same amount at the true value.1.45 to be precise.
When?Also if its 2000 model ...it wrongly named as 2001 model in your BHP Garage?..I thing any thing above 1,10,000 is not a good buy for a 2000 model Zen. I have a friend willing to sell at 1,25,000 and it has 62000 KM on Odo and hard time finding buyer.

Last edited by rohitbagai : 25th January 2007 at 03:03.
Old 25th January 2007, 12:50   #18

Originally Posted by nikhil3456 View Post
Hey Vivekkr_99,
Just in case you r plannin to sell ur car to True Value, here is a tip:
From my experience, you will easily get Rs.20k more than what the True Value guys quote.
Yes, they always quote low. I havent given them a yes or no on this. Just told them I'm not in a hurry to sell off at any price, and asked them to come back with their best quote. :-)
Old 25th January 2007, 14:00   #19

Originally Posted by nikhil3456 View Post
Adding to points you have already covered:

- Stopping of production means spare parts wont be easily available for long - unless
(a) The car is in production in other parts of the world
(b) A new car or other cars are being built on the existing architecture/platform which share common parts.

Im not scaring any Zen owners (I also own a Zen ), but here is my observation:
In a lot of cases, just one part wearing out/needing replacement in a phased car meant that the entire assembly had to be replaced with that of a similar car with a few modifications. Replacing an entire assembly in place of a just one part does increase maintainence costs.
as a zen owner yourself, you will realise that whatever you have said here is not applicable to maruti. these points are more applicable to daewoo, fiat, peugot, tata, premier etc who have simply abandoned their loyal die hard customers. maruti will continue to provide spares for the zen as also will the local market.

@16v100bhp , MPFI - 1.4 L, Carb - 1.25L.
do not pay more since it is a 2nd owner car, you will have a lot of trouble finding buyers when you want to sell it. try to get a single owner car.
Old 25th January 2007, 14:25   #20

Originally Posted by rohitbagai View Post
When?Also if its 2000 model ...it wrongly named as 2001 model in your BHP Garage?..I thing any thing above 1,10,000 is not a good buy for a 2000 model Zen. I have a friend willing to sell at 1,25,000 and it has 62000 KM on Odo and hard time finding buyer.
well its nov 2000 and didnt notice the 2001 inn my garage
got the quote just 2 days back as i am planning to sell my car.
Old 2nd February 2007, 08:34   #21

hellspawn...is it a final deal or they given just a rough estimate?... checked valuation online for a Zen 2000 VX and true value quoted 1.14 lkh for a GOOD conditioned car. If tehe condition is Excellent their quote is Rs. 1,16,500 ....It was online...and when I will ask them to fill out full 120 checks they will even bring it down. IMO Its a great deal that you are getting!!
Old 5th February 2007, 19:33   #22

I recently bought a 2001 MPFI Zen VX with Power windows (front), 50,000 km for mere 1.35 lac. The car was (still is, I hope) in mint condition, no servicing required. But two of the tyres were little old (still can go for another 5000 km).

Considering this, your deal seems overpriced.
Old 12th February 2007, 00:26   #23

i think 1 30 to 1 40 is enogh for the car if in good condition if in good condition then 1 40 is ok then acvcording to the work reduce the price
Old 20th September 2008, 16:35   #24

Today i went to true value to book a second hand car...found a 2002 model Zen LXI. True value quoted me 2.35L then they reduced to 2.30L and that is final price. The car has run only 24000Kms, no music system, no central locking. True value guys have changed the cluch plate, front 2 tyres, rear tail light assembly, brake assembly, overhaul all the shock obsorbers etc. Maruti provides 3 free service and 1 year warranty. I was told that 2002 model has the suzuki engine.

Experts please throw some light on the 2002 model Zen LXI model's performance and also tell me is it a better deal.
Old 24th September 2008, 20:19   #25

I would suggest go some good dealer. Maruti true value is highly overpriced.

I think you should get it for around 1.5 - 1.8 not more than that .
Old 1st October 2008, 14:20   #26

Originally Posted by rash28 View Post
I would suggest go some good dealer. Maruti true value is highly overpriced.

I think you should get it for around 1.5 - 1.8 not more than that .
Yep..agree..mines a 2003 lx..mint condition...done around 40k kms..and im letting it go for around 1.65..2 lacs+ is too much for that car...
Old 1st October 2008, 20:28   #27

Originally Posted by DineshKanna View Post
Today i went to true value to book a second hand car...found a 2002 model Zen LXI. True value quoted me 2.35L then they reduced to 2.30L and that is final price. The car has run only 24000Kms, no music system, no central locking. True value guys have changed the cluch plate, front 2 tyres, rear tail light assembly, brake assembly, overhaul all the shock obsorbers etc. Maruti provides 3 free service and 1 year warranty. I was told that 2002 model has the suzuki engine.

Experts please throw some light on the 2002 model Zen LXI model's performance and also tell me is it a better deal.
Hi Dinesh,

I am selling a 2004 model Zen Lxi for Rs. 2,30,000. Run 45K Kms. Second Owner. You might have seen the ad in the classifieds section. The car is loaded with everything you can think of including Automech FFE, K & N Filter, Iridium IX plugs, Pioneer deck, JBL speakers, central locking etc. etc. etc.
Only problem is that I'm in Bombay and you are in Madras!!!

2.30L for a 2002 model is far too much without any accessories.

SS