Old 19th March 2007, 15:46   #1

Which car for city use?

I have posted this before but with a different set of needs, hence I am taking the liberty to post again.

My wagonR 2000 vx has been with us for a long time now. We have been on the lookout for a replacement since a long time too.

Finally the cars is asking for some care and we have decided to replace it.

our needs

1. budget is flexible around 2.00 or more but not much.
2. Petrol or Diesel (only crdi)
3. automatic preffered
4. Used may do if post 2002 in good condition.

I tried to search for a hyundai santro AT but am having tough luck. Also am looking for a good 2001 accent crdi if possible. Looked at Indica diesel but not impressed.

what cars will I be suggested?
Old 19th March 2007, 16:13   #2

If it is going to do duty as the regular family workhorse - suggest you go for the tried and tested Wagon-R or Santro - a new one preferably.

ATs are very tough to come by, and the nearest CRDi would be the Swift.
Old 19th March 2007, 16:33   #3

A diesel CRDI for 2 lakhs ??? i dont think you will find it that cheap.
Old 19th March 2007, 22:35   #4

@ Goldie: no its not going to be the family workhorse. Its going to be more of a second car to fill in the gap until we buy a new car.

I am willing to spend 2.00 and am ready to stretch till 2.50-2.70
Old 19th March 2007, 23:39   #5

Why not XETA CNG will cost around 2.6 for base with CNG and 3 years warranty..!
Old 20th March 2007, 10:00   #6

I didnt see a CNG option on their website!!!
Old 20th March 2007, 15:36   #7

CNG is provided by the dealers i guess.

Why dont you keep your existing wagonr
Old 20th March 2007, 23:11   #8

existing wagonR has a lots ok mileage now and I am bored.

THe verdict has come out for a new car. Dad's against used that's good news as now I have a bigger budget.

SO now the question is Which new Hatch?
Old 20th March 2007, 23:24   #9

why not wait for the new getz crdi or take a test drive of the new diesel swift?

or buy a diesel fiat uno used for 1lac and odd and get the gap filled in for a while till the newer crdi cars are released?
Old 21st March 2007, 08:58   #10

Originally Posted by devarshi84 View Post
SO now the question is Which new Hatch?
Can you state your budget?
And monthly running?
And city/highway usage?
Old 21st March 2007, 10:23   #11

Budget : 5lacs
Monthly running: 1000-2000 kms depending on use.
Usage: 90% in the the city.

I am toying with the idea of swift (either diesel or petrol). Even have the santro AT in mind but its FE is putting me off. Dont want to stretch all the way to CVT. Indica looks to be good but My sister will be driving too and so I need to take a test drive again.
Old 21st March 2007, 10:28   #12

Budget : 5lacs
Monthly running: 1000-2000 kms depending on use..
Getz if you need room for 4 adults. 4 adults in a Swift are tight.
Indica if you can deal with the minor rattles and buzzes and need the space
Swift if you like the styling
Aveo UVA if you are have an alternate to GM A.S.S. or if the GM dealer in your area offers good A.S.S
I dont know about the Palio, etc..
BTW a NEW Santro AT will also come under 5L. CVT is around 9L.

Last edited by navin : 21st March 2007 at 10:30.
Old 21st March 2007, 12:39   #13

Yes I need room for 4 adults and I need a comfortable noiseless cabin.
Old 26th June 2007, 14:23   #14

Go for the AVEO UVA. It is extremely spacious for a car of its size. Good sound insulation provides for a near noiseless cabin.
Old 26th June 2007, 19:47   #15

I'd recommend the Spark - easier to drive and park in the city and can seat 4 and silent as well.
But only 4 in comfort!!

Nimz