Old 8th September 2007, 19:55   #1

what can i expect from this Palio 1.2 ELX..help me to decide

There is an offer from MYTVS-Chennai. PALIO 1.2 ELX.2003. SINGLE owner . has done 55000 km. in good condition except one dent near driver door which THEY will correct it. Tyres are good & seems to go for another 10-12000 KM.price quote is 2 lakh.( i feel this quote on higher side )
there are mixed views about maintenance/spares/ FE.. so looking for better insight on these issues from PALIO users & the BHP experts . How good this palio in chennai traffic & for long journey say 300-450 KM. is TUBELESS a must .TIA
Old 8th September 2007, 20:18   #2

Hey Shapath, the good condition of the car - is it supported by service record. The car has already done 55k. Try bargaining more for another 30 to 50K.
How is the Fiat service in chennai?
Old 8th September 2007, 20:20   #3

Just my 2 cents-The price is too high for a 4yr old palio, are they giving any warranty for the car?? any extra accessories??(alloys, etc). its worth 30-50k less..
Old 8th September 2007, 20:31   #4

what can i expect from this Palio 1.2 ELX..help me to decide

thanks for the quick response.
Yeah they do give warranty on engine & gearbox for 1 year & 3 free service .
reg FIAT SERVICE in chennai..im reading mixed respone. so looking for more clarity on service & maintenance/spare parts cost.
in chennai getting 30K lesser than quoted price is NOT possible AFAIK.

Last edited by shapath : 8th September 2007 at 20:41. Reason: adding a detail reg warranty
Old 8th September 2007, 20:36   #5

damn mytvs offered me 2 lacs for my 2004 palio 1.2 can see what profit margins they are making now

regarding service, sundaram motors in whites road (behind satyam theatre) is good but parts availability is an issue after tata merger and also they are more concentrated on GM now.. but i still see quite a large concentration of palios there

i guess you can give it to sundaram for basic service and to tata if you need parts and something more demanding

Last edited by bottle : 8th September 2007 at 20:38.
Old 8th September 2007, 20:56   #6

in my opinion 2 lakhs is just too much. the dealership would have picked up this car for about 1.3 - 1.4. probably even lesser. you could try to buy a palio from a private seller. also i think 55k is a bit too much. palio 1.2 is quite a trouble free engine (my dad has one) and spares are not difficult to get. but after so many km there is bound to be some expensive maintainence in store for you. since palios are such slow sellers i am sure you could get a car with lower no of kms and a much lesser price.

you could try calling up TVS and pose as a seller wanting to sell your 2003 palio. It will give you a good idea of the price ;-)
Old 8th September 2007, 22:04   #7

Originally Posted by Locomotive View Post
but after so many km there is bound to be some expensive maintainence in store for you
The suspension setup, Clutch, The timing belt, liners, alternator, AC coil - all these need careful attention if this has done 55k

All these would cost a extra money.

Does the warranty offered cover all above? Well the clutch is never part of warranty but should not happen that one buys and in 2 months need replacement.
Old 8th September 2007, 22:45   #8

Just a small clarification. You had a santro & then decided to buy a zen & then an esteem & you got yourself a M-800, now whats this about a Palio ? And what next ?
Old 8th September 2007, 23:15   #9

all i have to say regarding this car is its very very underpowered! it weights a ton, strong build and thats it!
on a recent drive i have noticed all this, i wouldn't advice this car to anyone no offense to current owners!
Old 9th September 2007, 09:46   #10

attn -esteem

hai. Esteem. thanks for maintaining my list of cars . i yearning towards learning automobile & so the list is continuing & changing .

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Just a small clarification. You had a santro & then decided to buy a zen & then an esteem & you got yourself a M-800, now whats this about a Palio ? And what next ?
Old 9th September 2007, 11:05   #11
aZa

2Lakhs too much ... Someone i know i getting a 1.6 Sport 44K done for 1.15L. And the 1.6 prices are below 2L anyday so there is no reason why should a second hand 1.2 be costlier