Old 3rd June 2008, 12:18   #1

Accent GLE or Getz GLX 1.3 or Fabia 1.2

Hi all. I have been planning on buying a new car for quite a few months now. After having gone through tons of reviews and posts on Team-BHP, I have shortlisted three cars. I am still very confused in making a final choice and the expert help of fellow BHPians will be highly appreciated.

As mentioned in my post title, I am evaluating the following cars,
1) Accent GLE : @5 lakhs ex-showroom.
pros (what prompts me to buy): Back seat comfort, Boot Space, Tried and tested.
cons (my observations from your research): Old engine, Body colored door handles and mirrors, Unsure about the resale value I'll get after 3 years.

2) Getz GLX 1.3 : @5.03 lakhs ex-showroom.
pros : Good interiors, Relatively new car, ABS, Spacious back seats, Decent resale(I think).
cons : No boot, Road presence is not all that great, Bit under powered.

3) Fabia Classic 1.2 : @5.48 lakhs ex-showroom.
pros: Very good build quality, Great features, Good road presence.
cons : Expensive, Under powered, Skoda not known for great after sales, High maintainence (spares), Low resale value.

My basic priorities for a new car are: Space, Decent power, Good features, Good road presence, Low maintainence, Good resale.

I also evaluated,
Swift ZXI : Space was an issue.
Swift Dzire ZXI : Waiting period, Space.

Please help me out. I have to buy my car this month at least.

@moderators: This is my first post so excuse mistakes if any. I did not find a similar thread but if my thread is redundant kindly redirect me.
Old 3rd June 2008, 13:55   #2

[quote=anikate;852181]
cons (my observations from your research): Old engine, Body colored door handles and mirrors, Unsure about the resale value I'll get after 3 years.
Also is very outdated. FE can be a problem if you are not lucky with car you get. Better go for a secondhand if accent.

2) Getz GLX 1.3 : @5.03 lakhs ex-showroom.
pros : Good interiors, Relatively new car, ABS, Spacious back seats, Decent resale(I think).
cons : No boot, Road presence is not all that great, Bit under powered.
Very Good car, But Bad resale, Very Low FE, Overpriced and going to be phased out very very soon.

3) Fabia Classic 1.2 : @5.48 lakhs ex-showroom.
pros: Very good build quality, Great features, Good road presence.
cons : Expensive, Under powered, Skoda not known for great after sales, High maintainence (spares), Low resale value.
Fabia Very Over priced, And Features?(Hardly has any), Will be quite Bad on resale too

My basic priorities for a new car are: Space(Getz, Accent, i10), Decent power(Getz, Swift), Good features (Almost same in all. But Getz, i10 has the most), Good road presence(Quite Subjective), Low maintainence(Hmm I10 I guess), Good resale(Swift, I10).

According to what you need in your car. I would go for Swift zxi anyday. But if not Swift ZXI then only good option will be i10. Rest all have too many cons.
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:20   #3

Originally Posted by anikate View Post

As mentioned in my post title, I am evaluating the following cars,

Body colored door handles and mirrors, A con ??? DUDE care to elaborate why ?

My basic priorities for a new car are: Space, Decent power, Good features, Good road presence, Low maintainence, Good resale.
Accent has all this I am not sure of the resale as I just got mine and for 4.99 ex showroon i sat it's a steal
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:22   #4

Originally Posted by somebodystopme View Post
Also is very outdated. FE can be a problem if you are not lucky with car you get. Better go for a secondhand if accent.
\\\care to elaborate on this
mine averages 13 with AC in the city

i10 :lol
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:35   #5

Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
Body colored door handles and mirrors, A con ??? DUDE care to elaborate why ?
What I meant was Accent GLE (as per information from website) doesn't have body colored door handles and mirrors. Although it's not a big deal, I feel an Accent looks really good with these features.
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:57   #6

Don't go for Accent or Getz because of following commone reasons:-

Bad resale value
Bad FE
Soon will be phased out (Getz by i20) & (Accent already by Verna)

Skoda 1.2

Pros:-

Is a fantastic product in Quality and Reliability
A product which is relatively new in the market
Would also help turns some eyes on you, which everyone wants and like after buying a new car
Built like a tank, you will always feel safe
Also have relatively premium feel & comp better resale

Cons:-

After sales service
Costly maintainence

Other Choices

Palio MJD SX

Good diesel engine, Easy on pocket to run, good built qaulity, good space and best boot in hatchbacks (260 Lts)

Aveo UVA LT

Nice refined engine, good built qaulity, Safety features, good space & the best of the lot three years maintance free package
Old 3rd June 2008, 15:57   #7

@ Anikate :

You liked the back seat comfort in accent?? That is supposed to be in Cons! Accent is sure VFM as of today but surely will give bad resale few years down the lane.

Getz : Is better of the 3 options IMO ! Yes its underpowered but it is surely overpriced

Fabia : Underpowered , Overpriced

Swift ZXI seems to be the best bet ! If you are insisting on 1 of these i would suggest you the Accent since you seem to be in need of a boot.
Old 3rd June 2008, 16:00   #8

@whatcanthisbe
What meant was Accent GLE does not have body colored door handles and mirrors.

@karanraheja
Yes I definitely felt that back seat comfort (read leg space) is good in Accent. I was evaluating against Swift and Dzire.

Last edited by Technocrat : 3rd June 2008 at 17:11.
Old 3rd June 2008, 16:03   #9

Originally Posted by whatcanthisbe View Post
\\\care to elaborate on this
mine averages 13 with AC in the city
By that I mean its very outdated. The technology is very old as it hasnt changed till now since its release. Well I know accent can give average of 11 - 12 in City. Three of my friends have accent one is giving around 8(2000 Model) in city with ac, other one is giving 9-10(2005 Model) And another friend's accent is 11-12(2003) with ac.

Yours can a world record holder accent giving full 13 with AC.
Old 3rd June 2008, 20:32   #10

Many people have suggested Swift. Although I absolutely like that car, I feel it is too cramped in the back. Didn't any swift owners ever feel cramped while going out with family on long drives?
Old 3rd June 2008, 22:24   #11

Many people have suggested Swift. Although I absolutely like that car, I feel it is too cramped in the back. Didn't any swift owners ever feel cramped while going out with family on long drives?
Buddy I have done more than 1500km in 2 months in my swift(50% Highways). I find decent legroom but obviously its less than Getz. If legroom is main criteria then go for the Getz or Accent. But Swift will give you better resale.
Old 3rd June 2008, 22:32   #12

The new getz 1.3 is not underpowered at all,the FE i get is about 11-12.5 with 50-50 A/c on and the ride is any day better than the current hatches available it its segment,out of the 3 options Getz would be a better deal..but go in for Getz 1.3 GLS/GLS not the 1.1.another option is the i10.
Old 4th June 2008, 11:52   #13

@whatcanthisbe
What meant was Accent GLE does not have body colored door handles and mirrors.
It does come with body colored handles mirrors and trim here are a few old pics of mine

Originally Posted by somebodystopme View Post
By that I mean its very outdated. The technology is very old as it hasnt changed till now since its release. Well I know accent can give average of 11 - 12 in City. Three of my friends have accent one is giving around 8(2000 Model) in city with ac, other one is giving 9-10(2005 Model) And another friend's accent is 11-12(2003) with ac.

Yours can a world record holder accent giving full 13 with AC.
Lol I commonly hear people's accent's giving 12.5 - 13.5 with ac in the city it completely depends on the driving style of the person my 2001 Lancer gives me 12.5 with AC and 14-15 without whhen the driver drives it 8-9 with ac and 9-10 without driving style makes a HUGE diff in mileage.

Accent GLE or Getz GLX 1.3 or Fabia 1.2-picture-052.jpg  

Accent GLE or Getz GLX 1.3 or Fabia 1.2-picture-060.jpg  

Accent GLE or Getz GLX 1.3 or Fabia 1.2-picture-061.jpg  

Accent GLE or Getz GLX 1.3 or Fabia 1.2-picture-062.jpg  

Old 4th June 2008, 12:18   #14

Accent GLE is a very nice car with decent looks and brings you into the sedan space at a very less ownership cost. Re-sale maybe not that great but look at the original price that you pay for the same too. Body colored handles is not a great deal, negotiate with the dealer and he would be happy to do it for you. I did the same and he bent backwards to oblige me

@Whatthiscanbe, since your based in Delhi, which is known for long driveable roads you maybe be getting 13kmpl with 100% AC but, down south in cities like Bangalore, Hyderabad the roads aren't that broad and highway type and typically we encounter a lot of bumper to bumper and hence the mileage of 10-11kmpl in these cities. A friend of mine too has a petrol accent and he mentions the same mileage.
Old 4th June 2008, 12:38   #15

@whatcanthisbe
Nice images dude!! I am tempted. Will go and checkout both Accent and Getz today itself.