Old 22nd January 2009, 13:13   #1

Plz help shortlist a car

hi friends.

i am planning to buy a new car and am really confused. i am 6ft. 2in tall and have a large frame. my daily commute is of about 90km (mumbai to navi mumbai run). due to this reason alone i have decided to buy a new car n leave my current safari dicor 3.0 for family outings only as i spend a bomb on diesel bills alone.

so far i have shortlisted the following cars (no test drives yet)

1.Tata Indica V2 DLS - Mumbai on road Rs. 4.03 Lac approx.
2. Indica Vista Aqua 1.3 Quadrajet - Mumbai on road Rs.5.10 Lac approx.
3. Santro Xing GL LPG - Mumbai on road Rs. 4.0 Lac approx.
4. WagonR Duo Lxi - Mumbai on road Rs. 4.25 Lac approx.
5. Palio Stile 1.3 SD - Mumbai on road Rs. 5.2 Lac approx.

i am purposely leaving out the Swift Vdi as i have taken a test drive n find it really really cramped.

as for the Spark .... its very feminine. otherwise i have heard a very good car.

my requirements are as listed below in my priority order:

1. high FE (thus the indica ;-D ... i heard it gives almost 20kmpl on highway)
2. high seating since i suffer from slipped disk n just cannot drive low cars.
3. low maintenance costs.
4. should last atleast years.
5. Basic reqirements only (Power steering and AC)

i personally am inclided towards the Indica but my experience with the Safari Dicor has not been good. There seems to be major finishing problems and cabin noise with practically no insulation. Thus am very reluctant to go for any TATA car. Maybe this is solved in the Vista. But on the other hand the old indica give Fe of almost 20kmpl !!

i drove the santro n found it good but the central console with music system kept hitting my knee. so -1 point for santro.

Kindly help guys. i don't want to buy the wrong car and regret like i did with the Safari Dicor 3.0
Old 22nd January 2009, 13:25   #2

Hi Machine,

We have lots of threads on all the cars that you have mentioned in this section, please go through them & ask specific questions in individual threads.

Thread Closed