Old 4th January 2012, 18:31   #16

Re: SCOOP! Ford EcoSport Details Revealed. EDIT : Now, caught testing!

Originally Posted by avingodb View Post
i have learnt from a source that Ecosport will be launched in East/South East Asian markets by march followed by India late May or June. This is subject to the buzz this car creates in the AutoExpo and also subject to the setting up of the production line in the Gujarat production facility
It will be manufactured in the Chennai facility with additional $140M investment for the EcoSport!

You need to check your sources mate
Old 4th January 2012, 18:34   #17

Re: Ford EcoSport Revealed

Will they release the 4WD drive version? That is the biggest question among the offroad fraternity.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:36   #18

Why does the front look like a tadpole.. is that some design inspiration?
Old 4th January 2012, 18:43   #19

From the pictures it looks like a baby Evoque to me from some angles. The large front grill looks really out of place for me and is too dominating to allow you to see the rest of the car.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:43   #20

Pictures look quite cutting edge - I guess the production version will be tamed.

This may turn out to be a good alternative to a premium hatch / sedan.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:45   #21

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Will they release the 4WD drive version? That is the biggest question among the offroad fraternity.
Highly unlikely, it will be mostly a FWD vehicle best we can expect is a AWD but that will not fit an offroader.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:49   #22

As is the million$ question. Whats the price likely to be?

I saw a magazine mentioning that the price would be around 5 - 7 lakhs. Another website quoted 12 lakhs. I'm rooting for the former.

But price would determine the success or failure. Hope the Senior Management learn their lessons through the Figo.
Old 4th January 2012, 18:53   #23

they should have retained the Fusion giving better looks launching at say 7 lakhs would have been even nice than this macho toy for many. after all we are looking at a decent mini SUV that can give Ford some numbers
Old 4th January 2012, 18:58   #24

As per tweets from Hormazd Sorabjee, the Ecosport will be launched in end 2012 and the price will be in the range of 8-10 lacs. Looks exciting to me and holds potential, and the new Ecoboost engine should be a benchmark for petrol engines. Other engine option will be the 1.5 diesel from the Fiesta. The Ecosport will certainly be a very small vehicle and they are calling it a CUV, compact utility vehicle, no pretensions of being an SUV!

Last edited by Behemoth : 4th January 2012 at 19:18.
Behemoth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2012, 19:08   #25

Video posted on Fords Official Facebook Fanpage

Looks promising to me!
Old 4th January 2012, 19:10   #26

The engine options are well.... disappointing.
For the petrol 120 PS is adequate for an SUV but 170Nm isn't. Then comes the inherent unbalance of the 3 pot... there goes the refinement. I would rather have a proper 4 pot engine.
And as far as the diesel goes, it is not an entertainer in Fiesta. No way will it be adequate for a SUV.
Old 4th January 2012, 19:14   #27

This looks gorgeous. As long as its sensibly priced its a nice lifestyle vehicle. I think it appeal more to first time owners like me.

The final version may/may not look like this but then ultimately what matters is affordability. Just my two cents.