Old 16th May 2012, 12:53   #1

Updated SsangYong Rexton!

Updated SsangYong Rexton!-1.jpeg
Updated SsangYong Rexton!-2.jpeg

The Rexton is powered by a Mercedes-sourced 2.7-litre in-line five-cylinder DOHC engine that churns out a modest 165bhp. The updated Rexton will be unveiled at the upcoming Busan Motor show in Korea. Mahindra will launch the pre-facelift Rexton, also known as Rexton II (Codename: Y300) in India soon and it will be followed by this updated version.
Source : Updated SsangYong Rexton coming soon - News - Autocar India

I fail to understand why M&M wants to launch the old and outdated Rexton when the facelift is ready to be unveiled.

Another article : Mahindra’s Saangyong to showcase revamped Rexton SUV at the 2012 Busan Auto Show | IndianCarsBikes.in
raj_5004 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 13:01   #2

Re: Updated SangYong Rexton!

M&M probably thinks they should take the SUV mad Indian market's money and thereby recover some of their investments made in acquiring Ssangyong. This can be done by selling a product here, like the old Rexton, whose dies etc must already be fully depreciated and hence will mean greater profits.

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I fail to understand why M&M wants to launch the old and outdated Rexton when the facelift is ready to be unveiled.
Old 16th May 2012, 13:24   #3

The SUV looks very Chinese. Even though the lines have been redone and a refreshed version is launched, may not suit many indian palettes.

Although the front looks a bit stylish, the rear is very pale in comparison.

Last edited by gauravdgr8 : 16th May 2012 at 13:28. Reason: Added text
Old 16th May 2012, 13:43   #4

Originally Posted by gauravdgr8 View Post
The SUV looks very Chinese. Even though the lines have been redone and a refreshed version is launched, may not suit many indian palettes.

Although the front looks a bit stylish, the rear is very pale in comparison.
Do looks even matter in case of Mahindras. I don't see a single Mahindra UV being rejected by the market due to ugliness.
tsk1979 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 13:51   #5

Do looks even matter in case of Mahindras. I don't see a single Mahindra UV being rejected by the market due to ugliness.
You said it.

BTW, any idea if they will launch this as CBU or assemble locally?
Old 16th May 2012, 14:02   #6

Is it only me, or does the rear view resemble a slightly stretched Santro Xing.
sachinayak is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 14:06   #7

This is not a UV and won't be coming for the price of a typical Mahindra UV. The target audience is completely different.
I see a lot of SangYong roaming about here in Dublin as Taxi's and trust me when I say this, they are butt ugly.
extreme_torque is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 14:28   #8

Looks brilliant actually - I see no Korean or Chinese weirdness in the design. Rexton would allow M&M to compete in the Rs. 25 Lacs Toyota Fortuner segment.
Old 16th May 2012, 15:15   #9

OT: Take a quick look at this Chinese Great Wall machine.
Do a mental comparo with the XUV and this Rexton.
Then say what you think!
Updated SsangYong Rexton!-dsc08162.jpg  

Old 16th May 2012, 15:28   #10

I think Rexton will fill up the gap between XUV/ARIA and Fortuner. Rexton will be a Fortuner built by Mahindra but priced 3 lacs cheaper. It would price in the 16-19 lac Ex-Showroom range.

Dies are already used in Korea, Mechanicals are tried and tested (MHawk, MEagle) and so the Pre-Production costs are lesser so this should translate to competitive pricing. The knowledge Base of SangYong while the initially produced the rexton would be tapped and so that they dont re-invent the wheel. All this would translate to minimal pre-prod costs, so the cost of break even / recovery would also be the least.
Old 16th May 2012, 15:28   #11

Originally Posted by smartcat View Post
Looks brilliant actually - I see no Korean or Chinese weirdness in the design. Rexton would allow M&M to compete in the Rs. 25 Lacs Toyota Fortuner segment.
Thats the exact point. When one has 25 lakhs budget why would one get a Rexton when he can get a Fortuner ?
That is the only reason I see the product not taking off.

They have a good budget in the 15-20L range, where today there is not product offered but the high end D
segment sedans. Now M&M want to sell the Korando in that range. I would say they should put the Rexton
in there. (But yes that would mess up their product strategy. But somehow I cannot see how a Rexton can
compete against Toyota Fortuner.
ampere is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 15:31   #12

Re: Updated SsangYong Rexton!

Going by the XUV's competitive pricing, I somehow feel M&M wont compete the Rexton with the Fortuner. They will place this vehicle somewhere between the XUV and the Fortuner.
raj_5004 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2012, 16:08   #13

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
Going by the XUV's competitive pricing, I somehow feel M&M wont compete the Rexton with the Fortuner. They will place this vehicle somewhere between the XUV and the Fortuner.
True, but that would mess up their Korando pricing. I think they have gone on record to say that SsangYong products would be priced higher than M&M. So the modest 5 seater Korando with 2L and 173 bhp comes in at 16-20L range and the Rexton above 20L.

That is the confusing part on how they would be handling this. My take they should price the Korando alongside
XUV and let people side what they want.
Old 16th May 2012, 17:44   #14

Just a wild thought.

Mini Xylo 5-7L
Xylo 8-10L
Scorpio 10-12L
XUV 13-15L
Korando 16-18L
Rexton 19-20L

Basically, fill the entire space between 5L-20L like what Maruti has done to the small car space and Ensure that there is an SUV/UV for every budget buyer in that price range.
Old 16th May 2012, 20:23   #15

OT: Take a quick look at this Chinese Great Wall machine.
Do a mental comparo with the XUV and this Rexton.
Then say what you think!
When I saw this pic, I was like - hey wait a min, I have this before. Where was it? Ahhh it is the Isuzu Axiom!!! Check it out here - http://www.cardomain.com/ride/804509/2002-isuzu-axiom

Greatwall has redesigned the front and the back though.