Old 10th March 2015, 09:52   #76

Re: February 2015 : Indian Car Sales Figures & Analysis

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Not really. They are going to replace existing Figo with new model and sub four meter CS for the same. New Figo looks okay okay only and nothing exciting about it. CS model will struggle to compete with New DZire, Amaze, Zest and Xcent as i don't see any particular USP in that car. It will be very difficult for Ford to get market share there. New Figo hatchback is good, not great for sure and will easily get lost in the crowded hatchback market in India. It will struggle to compete with cars like Swift, Grand i10 etc. I can see Figo twins to become market duds after honeymoon period is over. Ford should think of launching something game changing like they done with EcoSport. When other companies having more than 4-5 models doing well in market, company like Ford playing with only 1 main model in market doesn't look good.
Yes, the new Figo and the Figo sedan are coming soon. The new Figo sports the 1.6 liter petrol and the 1.5 liter TDCi engines. The classic will also be discontinued after this. The engines will be powerful. They may beat the Swift, Brio and i10 and i20 on this point.

They will be priced competitively against the Swift and the Dzire. The pricing will remain unchanged. The 1.2l petrol and the 1.4l diesel engines may be used in the smaller alto-competitor Ford hatchback.

Ford is offering huge discounts on the Classic and the Figo now-70,000 off on the Classic and 60,000 off on the Figo. But would you risk buying a Ford product that would be discontinued soon?
Old 10th March 2015, 10:54   #77

Originally Posted by RSR View Post
The cars haven't even been launched, no one in India (outside Ford & associated companies, of course) has driven them or even got to sit in them (unless they happened to drive the hatch in Brazil), and you're already dismissing them as potential market duds. This isn't fair, aniketi.

The EcoSport's success has shown that models developed by Ford do Brasil have the potential to succeed in countries like India, even if they happen to sell poorly in Europe.

As for USP, Ford only need to plonk in the EcoBoost engine (even in 100 PS guise, if not 125 PS) into the new Figo twins, and they will instantly become the most fun-to-drive cars in their respective segments (given Ford's traditional strengths in the ride, handling & steering departments).

IMHO, after the launch of the new Figo twins, I think Ford's monthly sales will jump from 5k~8k units a month to at least 10k+ units a month, catapulting them into a potential top-5 position.
I know it's not fair but it is going to happen. I don't think Ford has much of a chance to get huge success with new Figo. I may be little harsh but its truth. There are couple of reasons to that. Firstly Ford don't have brand value developed in India as others like Hyundai, Honda has. All knows their cars has really poor resale value. Also Ford is known for costly spares and service, may not be true in general but assumption is that only. So due to all these reasons, even though they launch a good car, most common people don't even consider it when they buy new car. Sad but true.

One model developed from Brazil got success doesn't guarantee success for all models, right? Else everyone will get car designed there only. I am sure Ford will not put Ecoboost engines in these cars. If they put it will be costly affair for sure and it will take them two steps back only in the competition.

Originally Posted by Ashok Naik View Post
Yes, the new Figo and the Figo sedan are coming soon. The new Figo sports the 1.6 liter petrol and the 1.5 liter TDCi engines. The classic will also be discontinued after this. The engines will be powerful. They may beat the Swift, Brio and i10 and i20 on this point.

They will be priced competitively against the Swift and the Dzire. The pricing will remain unchanged. The 1.2l petrol and the 1.4l diesel engines may be used in the smaller alto-competitor Ford hatchback.

Ford is offering huge discounts on the Classic and the Figo now-70,000 off on the Classic and 60,000 off on the Figo. But would you risk buying a Ford product that would be discontinued soon?
Sorry but I am not sure what exactly you are trying to say here

Last edited by aniketi : 10th March 2015 at 10:57.
Old 10th March 2015, 14:00   #78

I know it's not fair but it is going to happen. I don't think Ford has much of a chance to get huge success with new Figo. I may be little harsh but its truth. There are couple of reasons to that. Firstly Ford don't have brand value developed in India as others like Hyundai, Honda has. All knows their cars has really poor resale value. Also Ford is known for costly spares and service, may not be true in general but assumption is that only. So due to all these reasons, even though they launch a good car, most common people don't even consider it when they buy new car. Sad but true.

One model developed from Brazil got success doesn't guarantee success for all models, right? Else everyone will get car designed there only. I am sure Ford will not put Ecoboost engines in these cars. If they put it will be costly affair for sure and it will take them two steps back only in the competition.

Sorry but I am not sure what exactly you are trying to say here
Hello Mr. Aniketi,
I feel there will be a sudden jump in sales in the next few months. Remember the period when the Figo was just launched in India-the car sold in great numbers then-the comfort levels, the engines, the drivability-all made the car a huge success. 16,000 figos were sold in the first 10 weeks.

The new Figo may produce such an effect. The new Figo may be the game-changer here.

Ashok.
Old 10th March 2015, 14:22   #79

Originally Posted by Vigkey View Post

I repeat - Launch the Zest with a Hyundai badge, it would have sold some 10k per month.
You know I feel the same way about the Premier Rio. If Hyundai/Maruti/Mahindra were to launch that car with a little sorted handling and a lighter clutch like the Swift D (They share the same engine), that car would appeal to the buyers SO MUCH. It has a puny size, ample ground clearance, looks like a Gypsy but is an SUV. Can trudge along in Mumbai floods, be your everyday office car, can fit in between small parking spaces as well as take you to Leh if you want it.
humyum is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th March 2015, 14:37   #80

Originally Posted by balajisv View Post
Every person evaluates their purchase options and buys a car which he/she feels is the right value for money spent!

Points you mentioned about Tata are due to people who are not ready to evaluate or accept the change over!
They need to experience the change. And I did see the change personally.

I own a Zest Revotron XT, purchased in Jan.
My entire buying experience, sales team follow up and closure, service center support (have had 2 visits for an ECU update and Harman system update) have been brilliant! It's no way less compared to my Swift VDi purchase experience 5 yrs back!!

The Zest has been a perfect upgrade to my Swift VDi, in every aspect!
Totally agree with you Balaji. I too agree Zest is a great car and Tata has improved leaps and bounds in terms of reliability and quality and service. But how many know that? You are one of the few who chose to ignore the perception and bought a Tata. But how many in real world to that?? How many would take the so called "risk"?? Thats why I said, Tata WILL HAVE to do something to break the perception to make the impact they deserve to.

Originally Posted by humyum View Post
You know I feel the same way about the Premier Rio. If Hyundai/Maruti/Mahindra were to launch that car with a little sorted handling and a lighter clutch like the Swift D (They share the same engine), that car would appeal to the buyers SO MUCH. It has a puny size, ample ground clearance, looks like a Gypsy but is an SUV. Can trudge along in Mumbai floods, be your everyday office car, can fit in between small parking spaces as well as take you to Leh if you want it.
Haha humyum, unfortunately I havent seen a single Rio on road till date. This Poor car proves how important the BRAND perception is. I have heard people say "Fiat engine is bad. Tata engine is waste. Maruti has the best engine" Actually all three use the same engine and poor guys dont even know what they are talking and what they reflect is just the brand perception.
Vigkey is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th March 2015, 15:02   #81

Originally Posted by aniketi
Not sure what exactly Toyota is doing which you are talking about. They are No 1 company in the world and they should show that by launching world class cars here. They mainly exists in India due to Innova right now which is a success but mainly as a luxury cab i.e. in commercial segment. They don't have anything special for common people in India within 4-8 Lacs price bracket. They have Fortuner and Corolla but those are in higher price band, so limited volumes.
No.1 company in the world will not automatically translate to No.1 company in all parts of the world. The markets are different, the buying power is different, the buying logic is different. They have stellar products in Innova, Corolla & Fortuner with sales being rock-steady from launch time and are ranked 6th in India with a 5% market-share. Inspite of this, if you call them not-serious, then what will you call the likes of Skoda, Fiat, HM etc.

And given that MSIL plays in the lower-end of the market, which is tough to penetrate given the high-competition / low-margin, comparing against Suzuki sales is not valid.
Hyundai (No.2 in India) sells lesser total cars monthly than just what 2 models of MSIL sell. As you go down the pyramid, the numbers decrease more vis-a-vis Suzuki. But that does not mean they are not doing good or are not serious.

Originally Posted by aniketi
I guess in this regard German trio of Merc, BMW and Audi are doing great. They are giving world class products to Indian customers like they give elsewhere in the world. People in India buying them too !!!
Isn't it odd that in Toyota's case, you ignore the success of the sub-20lac Corolla and sub-30L Fortuner, but laud the German trio for the sales of their cars priced much higher ?

Last edited by supremeBaleno : 10th March 2015 at 15:04.
Old 11th March 2015, 18:04   #82

As I see it, Zest owners / admirers are heart burnt over disappointing sales of the car. Critics have no dearth of fuel to stoke that burn.

So much discussion about a car which, according to a few, is a flop is surprising.

Even the most strident critics of TML have dropped the words boring, lacklustre, etc. Now the name of the game is 'perception'. And, as usual, the much talked about marketing skills of TML.

Sales people are as ignorant or as knowledgeable as those of the competition.

However, the commonly or randomly used word 'perception ' intrigues me. While it is true thatTata does have negative perception, I tried to find out what kind of perception that TML has.

Far from the commonly held belief that Tata is low quality car, many more are concerned about Taxi image and the resultant low resale value. While it is true that the quality is not great, the low quality perception is reinforced while seeing abundant badly maintained, badly driven Indicas and Sumos.

Making a cheap diesel car can become an albatross.

Coming to Zest, I do believe that car is quite competent. But as I said earlier, the negative perception is quite all pervading. In this instance, I do think it has gone overboard. It is a sign of times of global economy that the desi thing, however good it might be, is always low class compared to the foreign ones.

Despite quarter page ads or less, there hasn't been much penetration in semi urban or rural markets, traditionally a stronghold of Tata. A majority do not even know Tata launched a model called Zest.

Where I live, a bustling taluk headquarters which has innumerable Dzires, Ford Fiestas, Dusters, i20s, Vernas, Zest doesnt have a presence. The town which has Sunnys, Scalas, Terranos doesn't know Zest.

I was able to spot only a Zest, a white coloured one, in all these months.This is the case of TMLs marketing in one of the state's richest towns.

A perception that TML doesn't care. A perception that is real.
simplyself is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th March 2015, 19:44   #83

World cup advertising should positively affect Ciaz and Alto sales in the coming months. And I guess will also make a lot of us to add two wheels to our two wheeler. But this has got nothing to do with the advertisement quality. Ciaz advertisement is particularly not-so-great. If pidlite can do it with every one of their advertisements why can't Maruti? Should say that Ciaz is selling inspite of the advertisement quality.
Old 21st March 2015, 06:50   #84

Originally Posted by simplyself View Post
Far from the commonly held belief that Tata is low quality car, many more are concerned about Taxi image and the resultant low resale value. While it is true that the quality is not great, the low quality perception is reinforced while seeing abundant badly maintained, badly driven Indicas and Sumos.
This is so true. The image that comes to mind when I think tata cars is that of a battered white small car with a yellow number plate with bad quality inside and out. It is going to take some innovative marketing to get rid of this image from people's heads. Forget innovative marketing, we could use some marketing at least to life the zest. See the number of ads k10, ciaz and celerio are churning out.
Old 21st March 2015, 11:49   #85

Originally Posted by phreakv6 View Post
This is so true. The image that comes to mind when I think tata cars is that of a battered white small car with a yellow number plate with bad quality inside and out. It is going to take some innovative marketing to get rid of this image from people's heads. Forget innovative marketing, we could use some marketing at least to life the zest. See the number of ads k10, ciaz and celerio are churning out.
It will take a few more launches to get rid of whatever perception Tata has got. One cant expect a complete transformation of the brand with just the Zest and Bolt, especially after having had a tough time with previous products which failed to gather the numbers.

Also, a personal thought is that their advertising should focus more on the car than funky music and dance. I can catch the tune of the Multi drive theme, but I still dont remember whether that was to the Zest or bolt. Thats where they should strike the right chord.
Old 27th March 2015, 02:48   #86
RSR

CS model will struggle to compete with New DZire, Amaze, Zest and Xcent as i don't see any particular USP in that car.
Originally Posted by RSR View Post
As for USP, Ford only need to plonk in the EcoBoost engine (even in 100 PS guise, if not 125 PS) into the new Figo twins, and they will instantly become the most fun-to-drive cars in their respective segments (given Ford's traditional strengths in the ride, handling & steering departments).
I am sure Ford will not put Ecoboost engines in these cars. If they put it will be costly affair for sure and it will take them two steps back only in the competition.
Okay, it may not get the EcoBoost (at least for a year or two after launch), but it looks like the folks at Ford have read your comment and have given the car a USP that none of the others in the segment have.

From the Figo Aspire's teaser site:

The Figo Aspire goes to great lengths to keep you and your loved ones well protected. It comes equipped with first-in-class side and curtain airbags for that extra layer of safety. And its robust body structure, crafted from high-strength steel, ensures enhanced protection for everyone.
It may be true that safety is something low on the priority list of the average Indian car buyer, but 6 airbags on a sub-4m sedan is simply fantastic - kudos to Ford!

After Hyundai stupidly discontinued the Asta(O) variant when they introduced the Elite i20, the least expensive cars with 6 airbags were the Ford EcoSport {Titanium(O) & Titanium AT} and the Hyundai Verna {SX(O), now just SX} and they cost over a million rupees (on-road).

Soon, the Figo Aspire is going to become the most affordable car on sale in India with 6 airbags, and a sub 1 million rupee one at that! I hope they provide 6 airbags as an option on the hatchback as well.

Last edited by RSR : 27th March 2015 at 03:10.
Old 27th March 2015, 08:22   #87

Originally Posted by audioholic View Post
It will take a few more launches to get rid of whatever perception Tata has got. One cant expect a complete transformation of the brand with just the Zest and Bolt, especially after having had a tough time with previous products which failed to gather the numbers.

Also, a personal thought is that their advertising should focus more on the car than funky music and dance. I can catch the tune of the Multi drive theme, but I still dont remember whether that was to the Zest or bolt. Thats where they should strike the right chord.
I agree with your comments. Adding to it, I believe good word of mouth from existing customers also is driving up sales slowly but gradually. I have seen a lot more Aria (base version) as fleet taxis now, especially in the north part of India (Gujrat and Rajasthan). About 200 odd Aria doing taxi service with KK between Mumbai and Pune. A lot of Storme's in and around Hyderabad, Belgaum, and Pune. Since Tatas have got their fit and finish and quality act together, the sales have shown an upswing and with more good launches and even better quality control and servicing experience, Tata will regain their market share.
Old 1st April 2015, 10:50   #88

Re: March 2015 : Indian Car Sales Figures & Analysis

Another blockbuster month (March 2015) for Maruti. Sales & market share rising steadily in spite of ever increasing competition. Hats off to Maruti, even though I don't really dig their mass market products.

Maruti Suzuki total sales in March stood at 1.13 lakh units including exports.

The company’s domestic sales rose by 1.4% in March 2015 at 103719 units, as against 102269 units in corresponding month last year. Of the total, the company has sold 85733 units of its passenger cars during last month, down by 0.3% as against 86018 units in March 2014. The company’s sales of vans have increased by 20.7% to 11768 units as against 9752 units in March 2014. Moreover, the company’s sales of its utility vehicles declined by 4.3% to 6218 units from 6499 units in March 2014.

Meanwhile, the company’s exports have decreased by 29.3% to 7836 units as against 11081 units in March 2014.

Source: Livemint

Last edited by Rehaan : 1st April 2015 at 14:06. Reason: As requested

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com