Old 14th July 2015, 16:39   #16

Re: GM India recalling 1.6 lakh cars (Beat, Spark and Enjoy) for defective wiring harness

Autocop being a popular OEM brand, does this affect OEM keyless entry autocops that have been fitted on other car models?
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2015, 08:13   #17

Re: GM India recalling 1.6 lakh cars (Beat, Spark and Enjoy) for defective wiring harness

Let try to understand some basics about the product which is being recalled.

The product which is being recalled (as per the report) is an Autocop Keyless Entry - This is basically a small sensor (which is ofcourse wired to battery) on the door's handle grab, and if you have a smart key in your pocket, the car auto-unlocks itself and you can get inside the car. Also in some cases, you just have to press the Start / Stop Push button in the car, without entering a key into the keyhole.
This is a big set up - Sensor, Chips, ECU Editing, Battery Connections, etc etc.
This is not a plug and play system, and is pretty complex to install as an accessory, which is why very few Indian cars offer it.

Now, coming to the vehicles affected - Spark, Beat, Enjoy - Which one of these vehicles come with such a feature ? Keyless entry is not even offered as an accessory option in any of these models.

What we get offered as an accessory - Autocop Remote Lock.

Autocop Keyless Entry IS NOT SAME AS Autocop Remote Lock Key.

I am not even sure if Cruze or Captiva (Chevrolet India's flagship models) have Keyless Entry.

So what I can infer from this news report is that the journalist who was assigned to cover this news is a novice about cars, or Chevrolet gave a half-baked recall scare to India.

Can we get some factual news about this recall ?

EDIT:: Very valid point made by hserus. Will this Autocop Keyless Entry accessory affect other brand of cars as well which uses Autocop as its vendor partner ? Hyundai, Honda, Skoda, VW ?

Last edited by Soumyajit9 : 15th July 2015 at 08:23.
Old 15th July 2015, 08:31   #18

From the horse's mouth: http://www.chevrolet.co.in/owners/chevrolet-recall.html

Chevrolet Voluntary Product Safety Recall Campaign
14 July, 2015

We would like to thank you for patronizing Chevrolet Beat; Spark and Enjoy. It has always been and shall continue to be our constant endeavor to provide you with the best in class products and services.

At Chevrolet Sales India Private Limited (Chevrolet India), we give utmost priority to product quality and customer safety & satisfaction. During our ongoing internal evaluation processes and routine quality checks, we have identified a need to inspect GM Approved Remote Keyless Entry Installation system (RKE System) fitted in certain Chevrolet Beat & Spark manufactured between 2007- 2014 and Enjoy manufactured between 2013 & 2014, at our Chevrolet authorized dealers. We are not aware of the occurrence of any untoward incident compromising safety on this account. Please refer below pictorial image for identifying GM approved RKE System)

As a good corporate citizen and keeping with our policy in center, to continue to provide our valued customers with a pleasant experience, Chevrolet India is undertaking a voluntary potential “Product Safety Recall”, for Chevrolet Beat & Spark manufactured between 2007- 2014 and Enjoy manufactured between 2013 & 2014 which is fitted with GM approved RKE System between 2007 – 2014 at our authorized Chevrolet India Dealers.

During your visit to our authorized dealer’s workshop, we would be inspecting your Chevrolet vehicle thoroughly and, if required carry out necessary modification of the RKE installation system, free of cost.

Note: In case your vehicle is not fitted with GM approved RKE System then we would request you to kindly take five minutes from your busy schedule to kindly inform us on our 24x7 helpline No: 1800 3000 8080 or email us at gmi.cac@gm.com.

Thanking you and assuring you the best and unstinted services at all times.
GM India recalling 1.6 lakh cars (Beat, Spark and Enjoy) for defective wiring harness-gmrecall.jpg
arunphilip is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th July 2015, 09:52   #19

Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
Bingo, now that is what I was looking for. Thanks for the info from Chevy's page.

However I still fail to understand why do they call it Remote Keyless Entry ? Shouldn't it be Remote Lock ?
Or may be I didn't pay attention while it was being installed when I bought my Beat in 2011 !!

Time to call the dumbos at Kropex Chevrolet, Bangalore.
Old 15th July 2015, 09:56   #20

This is plain old remote locking / unlocking - you don't have to insert your key into a keyhole and turn it in order to unlock your door.

Which is why I asked whether OTHER autocop installs on various cars were vulnerable to this issue. They are an OEM and/or aftermarket accessory for a very large number of cars indeed.

Originally Posted by Soumyajit9 View Post
Bingo, now that is what I was looking for. Thanks for the info from Chevy's page.

However I still fail to understand why do they call it Remote Keyless Entry ? Shouldn't it be Remote Lock ?
Or may be I didn't pay attention while it was being installed when I bought my Beat in 2011 !!

Time to call the dumbos at Kropex Chevrolet, Bangalore.
hserus is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com