Team-BHP - Why is Petrol Tank inlets on the Left Side ?

-   -   Why is Petrol Tank inlets on the Left Side ? (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/18741-why-petrol-tank-inlets-left-side.html)

Why is Petrol Tank inlets on the Left Side ?

Whereas its convinient for the driver to have a look while filling, if its on right side..

I think it's a safe bet for RHD verhices, having said that I found sonata in US had a left side petrol inlet.

The Fiat Petra has it on the right hand side. I think all Fiats do.

Some cars have it on the right and some on the left. lancer has it on the right whereas the alto has it on the left side.

I dont think there is any hard and fast rule just preference from manufacture to manufacture.

So does the daewoo matiz,actually this odd placing causes lot of problems at the petrol filling stations which are designed keeping in mind a left hand side placed tank.

Versa has the inlet right next to driver door. I don't think there is any regulation for this.

yeah, i think it is all a convenience in the placement of the fuel tank & getting the piping etc done, differing from car to car.:)

There is already a thread existing that discusses this topic extensively. Kindly use the search option! :D

Mods... kindly do the needful!

Godspeed,

Alok

My sumo's got it on the right too. :)

Originally Posted by finneyp
Hello there, I am a proud owner of Fiat Palio for the last 2.5 years!!!
And I am enjoying every bit driving this Italian Beauty!!!

What does this have to do with the topic???

Originally Posted by nitrous

Am i missing something?

Originally Posted by nitrous

I think you got confused with some other thread and posted it here.

BTW anyone has idea about the exact reason for keeping fuel inlet on Right or left side...

there is no 'exact' reason. it just different according to the manufacturer. id prefer it on the oppsite side of the drivers side.

I think it is basically because majority of the cars are designed with LH drive.

RH Drive is an adaptation over the original LH Drive. Petrol tank inlet on LH side has not been taken seriously by some manufacturers during this adaption.

Click here for the same topic.

I remember in the 80s and early 90s, the couch on wheels aka... Chevy Impalas, Buicks and Lincoln towncars had their inlets in the center which was accessed by pulling the number plate in the center of the vehicle.

Ideally I would like the inlet to be as far away from the driver as possible

-Sumit