Old 3rd February 2018, 16:58   #1

Ambulance variants of the Omni, Gypsy & Eeco have been discontinued

Maruti has sent communication to all their dealers informing them of their decision to discontinue both Maruti Omni 800 & Maruti Gypsy.

Dealers have been advised to liquidate all their stocks.

Maruti will stop billing the above models to the dealers wef 28th Feb 2018.

Note to mods: Pls merge this thread in case this has been discussed already on the forum.

Thanks to my birdie who prefers to remain anonymous for sharing this information.
mints21 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 17:21   #2

re: Maruti to discontinue ambulance variants of Omni 800 & Gypsy

Thanks to my birdie who prefers to remain anonymous for sharing this information.
Gypsy, they are still taking orders, in fact, I have booked mine yesterday only

Edit: Just checked with my SA, there is no such communication that they are aware of. Only OMNI Cargo is not being produced.
Ambulance variants of the Omni, Gypsy & Eeco have been discontinued-screen-shot-20180203-5.24.56-pm.png  

Ambulance variants of the Omni, Gypsy & Eeco have been discontinued-screen-shot-20180203-5.24.43-pm.png  

Last edited by Turbanator : 3rd February 2018 at 17:26.
Turbanator is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 17:46   #3

Mints21, buddy, are you sure of this news? Could you please confirm if this news is really true?
Deepak
starter is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 17:53   #4

I have asked a couple of friends who own Maruti dealerships in other cities. They aren't aware of any such notice, atleast for Omni, which still sells in good numbers. They have promised to revert with details.

The only threat which Maruti Omni and Gypsy face( in addition to the EECO) is the upcoming BVNCAP crash tests, and Maruti can easily go around it by moving these models to their Commercial dealerships. I believe these norms are only for passenger vehicles.

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 3rd February 2018 at 17:57.
Leoshashi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 18:00   #5

Dear all,

I have just read the screenshot of the communication sent by Maruti which states Ambulance variants of Omni, Gypsy and Eeco have been discontinued. I have requested moderators to edit the thread accordingly.

Regret the inconvenience.
mints21 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2018, 23:55   #6

re: Ambulance variants of the Omni, Gypsy & Eeco have been discontinued

Omni Ambulance is ironic, that death trap trying to save lives!
A good and long awaited riddance.
Doge is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2018, 00:55   #7

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
A good and long awaited riddance.

Amen. But then again, I don’t see what else they could use apart from the Eeco now...since the number of fully equipped legitimate ambulances isn’t going to increase anytime soon and the price of one translates into a fleet of these smaller ones.
Kenneth Keymer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2018, 06:45   #8

That means some kind of product optimisation is happening, and all high roof models are discontinued. It may be to reduce shift in product lines for low-selling models. The rumoured new Solio will be suitable for ambulance without any modification like high roof.

Last edited by GTO : 4th February 2018 at 11:16. Reason: Typo
romeomidhun is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2018, 08:14   #9

Mod Note: There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers. Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use a spell-checker. Thanks for the support & understanding

Last edited by GTO : 5th February 2018 at 09:47.
QuickLink is offline   Received Infraction
Old 4th February 2018, 08:23   #10

Gypsy, they are still taking orders, in fact, I have booked mine yesterday only
Hey Turbanator,
Congrats on booking a Gypsy!!
Just a word of caution since it looks like a corporate booking.
I had booked mine last year and realized later that i would not be able to register it as a white board vehicle since it is an 8 seater vehicle .
Hope, it isn't an issue for you in your state.
Cheers and looking forward to the ownership review..
Deepak
starter is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 4th February 2018, 08:35   #11

Excuse me for the slightly post

Originally Posted by Kenneth Keymer View Post
But then again, I don’t see what else they could use apart from the Eeco now
I see many Tata Winger, Force Traveller, Force Trax, Mahindra Bolero XL etc as ambulances in my place
Old 5th February 2018, 11:12   #12

Re: Ambulance variants of the Omni, Gypsy & Eeco have been discontinued

When I saw the original thread title, I was . The Omni & Eeco bread-boxes sell over 10,000 copies / month. That's huge profit on cars built from fully depreciated machinery. Plus, it helps Maruti maintain a relationship with a segment (e.g. cargo industry) that its regular cars could never have.

Similarly, the Gypsy helps Maruti maintain relations with the Defence Forces.

On discontinuing only the ambulance variants, I agree with Romeomidhun's post.

Originally Posted by Doge View Post
India is still a 'developing' country, buddy and budget is a restriction. Which other Ambulance costing 3.xx lakhs ex-showroom would you prefer for a family member? Take a look at the options in the price band and you'll see that they are all death traps. Forget ambulances, even when it comes to regular cars, safety usually starts at 6+ lakhs (Polo, Liva etc.) and they cannot be used as Ambulances.
GTO is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th February 2018, 12:01   #13

There's one more factor other than those that have been discussed here (cost/safety); it's the compact size of these three vehicles. These can be driven through narrow gaps in traffic, these can access narrow roads where only auto ricks and two-wheelers would dare to enter. Especially the Omni. I don't know the prevailing rates, but it is certainly cheaper to hire one too, when compared to the Traveller/Winger class.

The Gypsy, being a 4WD vehicle, also has it's own set of unique and inherent capabilities.

IMHO, this decision by MSIL is an ill-timed one, with a mega-billion "Modi-care" health coverage scheme is just round the corner, as promised in the union budget. We all know the MSIL director board has a proven track record of wise decisions and frankly, I don't think they would take such a poor decision.

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 5th February 2018 at 12:10.
Old 5th February 2018, 12:05   #14

The decision might have something to do with this:
http://www.thehindu.com/news/nationa...le19678485.ece

If one major state bans the Omni, others usually follow.
Motard_Blr is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 5th February 2018, 12:22   #15

A big thanks to the OP for the information, but it is irrelevant to most of us as it's only about the ambulance variants of the aforementioned cars.

Whatever the reason maybe, it is always good to let the Omni go. Even if, one variant at a time.

Apart from being unsafe (I am not sure how safe the Eeco is), it was slow.

I remember, me giving way to an Omni Ambulance once. But, on the next traffic stop, I had no other option but to overtake it, as it was painfully slow.

Yes, the reason for any hospital / clinic to go for the Omni would have been the cheap price. Medical equipment costs lakhs and lakhs of rupees. Why penny pinching, when it comes to the ambulances, where, to save a life, even seconds count.

The Eeco doesn't cost a bomb, but, then opening a clinic or a hospital isn't cheap either, I am sure they won't miss the Omni much.