Team-BHP - MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L

-   -   MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/205468-mg-indias-first-suv-named-hector-edit-launched-12-18l-28.html)

Spotted this undisguised MG Hector near Akshardham, New Delhi. The Hector looks quite mature and smart, thanks to the dimensions. :thumbs up

Originally Posted by //M (Post 4587224)
Spotted this undisguised MG Hector near Akshardham, New Delhi. The Hector looks quite mature and smart, thanks to the dimensions. :thumbs up

Interesting, but not a fan of the rear. Looks plastic-y to me.
The sizable sunroof will surely woo a lot of folks!

Put in a good Diesel automatic and price it aggressively and this could sell reasonably well here.

Originally Posted by //M (Post 4587224)

Just wondering whether the sunroof is openable ? The size of the sunroof is so large that there is no way it could slide even 50% to open! Or the other possibility is that it is a fixed panoramic glass roof?

Originally Posted by Behemoth (Post 4587244)
Just wondering whether the sunroof is openable ? The size of the sunroof is so large that there is no way it could slide even 50% to open! Or the other possibility is that it is a fixed panoramic glass roof?

I guess one part of the glass opens as sunroof where as the other part will be a fixed panoramic glass roof. Hope there will be two separate slider doors inside the car covering the both parts of the glass.

Seems Auto-HiTec, erstwhile Maruti dealer in Kolkata has taken the MG franchise for the city.
Their showroom location remains the same as where their Maruti showroom was located, at the upscale South Kolkata locality of Southern Avenue. When passing by today, civil work was on in full swing readying the showroom in its new corporate identity.

Originally Posted by Behemoth (Post 4587244)

Front section opens and is a sunroof, whereas the rear coverage is just panoramic glass roof.

Images from Wuling Almaz should clear the confusion -

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-2593912658.jpeg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-fc0eef1477a340019f9a0d731861fc25.jpeg

Found these on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p_AJfjgsFk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=naRJ6ufldZY

Demo cars have started arriving at dealerships for mechanic training.

Some feedback on the Semi Hybrid Petrol Manual, White with Panoramic Roof model. Variant is named Sharp

The Voice command through app is just simply amazing, makes one so relaxed and car is putting on AC, setting the temp you want, Opening the Panoramic Roof, or even turning it off is a whiff.

The quality of black leather used is very classy. Steering control and grip tuned to ones likeness. The best part is the 10.4 ” Touch Screen right in the centre to make u scroll so swiftly

The Leg room of Rear passengers is the best in class

boot has got good amount of space and opens and closes fully with a push button
MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-01.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-02.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-03.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-m3.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-m1.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-m2.jpg

Grey MG Hector seen is likely to be the top-spec petrol-manual variant.

Gets a panoramic sunroof, a 7-inch digital MID, 10.4-inch touchscreen infotainment system, and more.

Will be offered with both petrol and diesel engine options.

A segment-first 48V mild-hybrid coupled with a petrol engine will also be part of the package.

Prices expect to begin from Rs 15 lakh (ex-showroom)
Link1

15 lakh ex showroom price would mean squarely in the Jeep Compass territory. Jeep has recently launched the sport plus variant which is decently equipped and good value for money. I would think the Hector has its task cut out against the well sorted Compass. But then again, the compass inspite of such good reviews and brand heritage, is struggling with less than 1.5k units a month. For a brand like MG, it would get tougher post the initial buzz. You cannot keep advertising all the time. Post the first 6-8 months is when the real challenge will begin. If the Hector is genuinely a good solid car, word will get around and you never know, MG could create a niche for itself.

There is no way its starting at 15 lacs ex showroom. Won't sell even a 100 units at that price. A birdie told me it will start from around 10L for the base petrol going upto 15L. First I was quite stunned with the pricing, but seeing the diesel Harrier starting at INR 12.69L, and subtracting INR 1.5L for petrol and a bit of discount for the brand, around INR 10-11L for the base variant sounds about right.

Brace yourselves! MG Hector is all set to be unveiled on 15th May, 2019.
Stay tuned to witness the car in its full glory. #ItsAHumanThing

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-imageuploadedbyteambhp1557631882.805628.jpg

Source : MG India LinkedIn

Spotted the Hector in Noida.

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum. We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

When I first saw the unevenness here, I thought its the angle and not the car. That doesn't seem to be the case. How many of you guys who have not seen the car thinks that it won't have a good build quality?

and this clears the doubt on the wheel size, it surely is puny 215/60 R17 for the size of the car. Question for those considering the car, I'm not sure if you guys will upgrade the tire but if you do, what size will you opt for?

Keeping the difference under 2% a few options are

1. 225/60 R17 here the difference is 1.74%
2. 235/55 R17 here the difference is 0.07%