Old 16th July 2019, 15:21   #1

BS6 / BSVI fuel now available in Delhi

The environment minister has reportedly informed the Rajya Sabha that BS-VI fuel has been introduced in Delhi. He was replying to a question raised during the session.

BS6 / BSVI fuel now available in Delhi-bs6.jpg

In November 2017, the government had announced that BS-VI fuels would be available in Delhi from April 1, 2018. It was reported that around 397 fuel pumps in the national capital had started selling BS-VI grade petrol and diesel from March 2018. BS-VI grade fuel is expected to be available in the rest of India by April 1, 2020. Sale of BS-VI compliant vehicles will also commence from next year.

The minister also said that PM-10 levels in the national capital had come down as most of the heavy traffic was being diverted around the city.

Source: Money Control

Link to Team-BHP News
TusharK is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 16th July 2019, 15:50   #2

re: BS6 / BSVI fuel now available in Delhi

Any perceptible difference in driving with BS6 fuel ? Can Delhi members confirm ?
Mr. Nobody is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th July 2019, 16:56   #3

I thought that BSVI is already available in all major cities. If not, then how BSVI compatible cars like Toyota Glanza are coping with normally BSIV fuel?
No one should buy BSVI cars at all till the time BSVI fuel is available else BSIV fuel (especially diesel) can harm BSVI engines as already discussed in this forum already.
SahilS is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th July 2019, 17:12   #4

BS VI grade fuel is being sold even in Chennai from April onwards. And some other members had already mentioned the same from their non-NCR region cities.
Old 16th July 2019, 17:24   #5

Have highway pumps(used primarily by trucks and all) also started supplying BSVI fuel? Or it's only supplied in mega cities for now?
Old 16th July 2019, 17:49   #6

I am keen to know how BS4 engines are responding to BS6 fuel? Should lay to rest all the speculation that has filled up pages and pages on the other thread.
SPARKled is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th July 2019, 19:28   #7

Originally Posted by SPARKled View Post
I am keen to know how BS4 engines are responding to BS6 fuel? Should lay to rest all the speculation that has filled up pages and pages on the other thread.
I have taken this question to Maruti / Ford / Hyundai & Honda few months ago via email & their social channels.

All of them confirmed that there won't be any adverse effect on BV-IV engine running on BS-VI fuel (be it petrol or diesel) and all of them will stand by to their existing warranty on BS-IV car running BS-VI fuel.

NaXal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th July 2019, 10:36   #8

I am keen to know how BS4 engines are responding to BS6 fuel?
And I am keen to know about BS3 diesel engines running on BS6 diesel, mainly for my BS3 innova.

Originally Posted by NaXal View Post
All of them confirmed that there won't be any adverse effect on BV-IV engine running on BS-VI fuel (be it petrol or diesel)
Did any of them comment about BS3 engines/vehicles?
sukiwa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2019, 10:38   #9

They respond absolutely fine to BS-6 fuel. Really don't know who is causing all the unwarranted hoopla stating that there might be problems, but as far as my driving experience on BS-6 fuel goes, there is ZERO perceptible difference in the response of such engines to BS-6 fuel.
arindambasu13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2019, 10:55   #10

BS6 Fuel Set To Be More Expensive From April 2020

Refineries have spent more than ₹ 30,000 crore to improve its facilities to make sure that BS6 fuel is ready before the updated emission norms kick in on April 2020. One of the two officials told HT, "We have made large investments in upgrading to BS-VI and we need to get a return on our investments. This is only logical. The thought process is to recover cost and not profit-making."

The officials expect a price increase of anywhere between a few paise to a maximum of ₹ 2, which is likely to be charged in the form of a special cess or duty.

https://auto.ndtv.com/news/bs6-fuel-...report-2070786

Last edited by RM Motorsports : 17th July 2019 at 10:56.
RM Motorsports is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2019, 11:02   #11

Originally Posted by sukiwa View Post
And I am keen to know about BS3 diesel engines running on BS6 diesel, mainly for my BS3 innova.

Did any of them comment about BS3 engines/vehicles?
I am sorry, I don't have any BS-III cars within family so couldn't raise any official query with any of the respective manufacturer.

Since you own a BS-III vehicle, you can certainly raise this question via official Toyota support channel.

Kindly do share your findings & their reply.

Old 25th November 2019, 16:58   #12

Re: BS6 / BSVI fuel now available in Delhi

Originally Posted by locusjag View Post
BS VI grade fuel is being sold even in Chennai from April onwards. And some other members had already mentioned the same from their non-NCR region cities.
Which bunks in Chennai has BS6? Location?
Old 2nd January 2020, 00:08   #13

Originally Posted by NitinDev View Post
Which bunks in Chennai has BS6? Location?
I too am waiting to know the answer to this.

Can someone please confirm if any bunks in Chennai sell BS6 fuel?
Stribog is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th January 2020, 14:56   #14

As far I know, all the 3 pumps on GST road (opp airport) use BS6. I filled at Shanti service station and was given the information on asking.