Team-BHP - The 5th-gen Honda City in India. EDIT: Review on page 62

-   -   The 5th-gen Honda City in India. EDIT: Review on page 62 (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/213122-5th-gen-honda-city-india-edit-review-page-62-a-248.html)

Originally Posted by kanna.sridharan (Post 5972302)
That's some great running. How is the body holding up on the Dtec after 11 years? Any preemptive maintenance required for smooth running, like engine mounts or hoses to replace. Kindly share if there are things to be addressed at an earlier stage. Considering to retain this car and have a 2 car garage.

Loved the Hybrid, the reduced boot size was the only thing I did not like.

Me as a 11 year old City iDTEC user, who bought used in 2017 when the odo was at 35k Kms and presently, the odo is at 195k Kms and is lying unused presently after I moved to USA in 2023 though occasionally driven by mom whenever she makes a visit to some place.

Till date, I've replaced engine mounts when the odo was at 155k Kms in 2023 and almost a year ago, got the engine timing kit replaced as well as clutch was replaced for the second time when the odo was at 186k Kms in Jul 2024.

Except for AC cooling issue, the car is running fine.

Now, since it sees barely any usage, thinking to let go of it and get a Petrol AT or EV so that it'll be easy to drive for mom, who will be using the car in my absence.

Originally Posted by kanna.sridharan (Post 5972302)
That's some great running. How is the body holding up on the Dtec after 11 years?

Loved the Hybrid, the reduced boot size was the only thing I did not like.

The cars holding up really well. We had changed the engine mounts at 180k, nothing other than that. The body has some dinks now- courtesy- the missus.
Coming to the boot of the hybrid, even with the battery pack, it’s quite huge and shaped well to gobble up luggage.

Originally Posted by Invstamith (Post 5972378)
Coming to the boot of the hybrid, even with the battery pack, it’s quite huge and shaped well to gobble up luggage.

If you load large hard suitcase, say around 30", that's it :Frustrati Only the sides were left where small carry-ons can be fitted again depending on size. I'm having to do more planning on the bag sizes to take with us on travels to make sure max can be put into the boot.

My old non-hybrid city has a cavernous boot :)

Originally Posted by kanna.sridharan (Post 5972274)
I did request them to skim the rotors, but they refuse to do so and do not recommend it. The brake pad wear didn't seem much, every 40k kms I have changed the rotors with the pads. My earlier Duster or the Vento 1.6D, sold them after they crossed the 1L, never had to change the rotors even once. The Vento's brake pads required replacement every 30K and the Duster's every 50K.

Yeah , may be that’s Honda way of serving customers. 3M used to have a range of brake disc finishing abrasive that is used for resurfacing. I assume it sells where DIY is popular.

Has anyone invested in an aftermarket TPMS system like the JK Treel one? I don't like the inbuilt one that doesn't give the exact readings and feel that the aftermarket ones might be better.

Looking for reviews, and any alternatives people might be using...

Originally Posted by MT1705 (Post 5879364)
My friend who got City, he was furious at first that his car gets disconnected, and then one day while going to office he was cursing, then i told him that its a standard Android Auto feature as i have seen it in Safari also and then he was relaxed hearing his car is not the faulty one, Sundar bhai needs to pull up some people's ear at Google :D

this is sorted now. No disconnect of Android Auto, either the update on phone fixed it or whatever was causing the problem in those specific areas is removed.

Originally Posted by LordSpymaster (Post 5974758)
Has anyone invested in an aftermarket TPMS system like the JK Treel one? I don't like the inbuilt one that doesn't give the exact readings and feel that the aftermarket ones might be better.

Looking for reviews, and any alternatives people might be using...

I'm also interested in knowing the available and tried options for City. Any affordable yet reliable suggestions will be appreciated

Hi, has anyone got the ambient light accessory from the dealer in the new honda city , if yes , please share photos