Old 26th July 2021, 21:35   #46

Re: I exported my Ford Endeavour from India to the UK!

Hi Arbind, I am in the same boat - want to ship my X1 from Bangalore to London but quite confused with the process. Can you please send me a dm - can really do with some first hand contacts. Thanks!
Old 27th July 2021, 08:04   #47

Originally Posted by smukherjee View Post
Hi Arbind, I am in the same boat - want to ship my X1 from Bangalore to London but quite confused with the process. Can you please send me a dm - can really do with some first hand contacts. Thanks!
It would be easier as the X1 specs are on DLVA files but not worth it as the value out in the UK is much less that over here. You re better off selling your X1 locally , taking the hit and buying an identical one there with the money. You can never recover the customs duty paid on this.
ajmat is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th March 2023, 01:11   #48

Importing Indian vehicle to UK

Hi, I'm excited to bring Indian bikes to the UK. I had been riding in India for the last 20+ years or so, but I recently moved to the UK. As I have been a proud owner and rider of several beautiful horses for a long time. Although I can see several superbikes in this area, I still have a soft spot in my heart for Indian commuters with 100 cc engines. so wanted to import TVS Radeon or Hero Splendor. I'm interested in hearing opinions and advice from Team-BHP members who have imported or have a strong desire to do so.
Old 5th June 2023, 15:51   #49

Re: Importing Indian vehicle to UK

Originally Posted by Impala_123 View Post
Hi, I'm excited to bring Indian bikes to the UK. ...I'm interested in hearing opinions and advice from Team-BHP members who have imported or have a strong desire to do so.
Hi Impala, since I had shipped my Ford Endeavour from Bhubaneswar to the UK I have been contacted by few Team BHPians expressing a desire to do the same. Feedback so far has been doubling of shipping costs post pandemic.

The shipping company I used is based in Bangalore. At the time they had successfully shipped a motorbike to Bulgaria. DM me for their details. If temporary...you may be interested to note Mumbiker Nikhil is currently on a Road Trip with Travelling Desi in U.S.A. by registering his bike for CARNET. Check out their YouTube Vlogs of yesterday [4th June 2023] for further information.

UPDATE: As an aside yet related, best to ensure it can be serviced and that spare parts are available. I need to import rear wiper blades for mine as local stockists for Ford Ranger do not have this in their inventory. Last year I replaced front MRFs with a set of Pirelli Scorpion (10ply) A/T Plus M/S 3PMSF which has amazing wet grip and acoustic properties.
I exported my Ford Endeavour from India to the UK!-pirelli-scorpion-plus-ms-3pmsf.jpg  

I exported my Ford Endeavour from India to the UK!-pirelli-scorpion-plus-10ply.jpg  

Arbind Ray is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 18th August 2023, 23:23   #50

Originally Posted by Arbind Ray View Post
Hi Impala, since I had shipped my Ford Endeavour from Bhubaneswar to the UK I have been contacted by few Team BHPians expressing a desire to do the same. Feedback so far has been doubling of shipping costs post pandemic.
Thanks for all the information. Is it possible to get a breakdown and rough figures of the cost? I am torn between importing our Creta or getting a used car here.

Last edited by pu5han : 18th August 2023 at 23:24.
Old 19th August 2023, 14:53   #51

Originally Posted by pu5han View Post
...Is it possible to get a breakdown and rough figures of the cost? I am torn between importing our Creta or getting a used car here.

Hi pu5han. As @14000rpm's decal points out;

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
...the decal on the back of my car Literally says 'Imported from Detroit. Because Maths'.

It cost me around INR 5lac back then, the shipping component doubling post pandemic as I learnt from couple BHPians who also contacted me directly, wishing to ship their cars over. Not heard back from them since therefore unaware if they were successful or changed their minds due to the Maths.

Unsure what the Creta model variant equivalent would be in the UK. Essential to research this for insurance purposes. Although I experienced fewer challenges in the UK, as the Endeavour is based on the Ford Ranger chassis, Insurance Companies were able to classify it.

In 2020 however manual selection was no longer an option for Agents i.e. they had to select from a drop down menu listing pre-populated names of model variants available exclusively in the UK. If the equivalent isn't listed they would simply refuse to insure it resulting in fewer specialist insurers prepared to insure your vehicle albeit at a heftier premium. Presently the Endeavour is Insured as an Import and notes on the Insurer's system include detail specifics disparate to the pickup trucks available locally e.g. rear hatchback tailgate, rear windscreen/wipers etc. Remember, if a collision is your fault, the cost of shipping imported parts increases. If a courtesy hire car is included with the insurance policy then duration of hire is likely to be longer which impacts and thereby justifies the higher premium to insure the risk.

First year's fully comprehensive insurance with business use cost gbp1,100.00 for me an my wife to drive the Endeavour in the UK which included pan European Coverage for limited duration. All is well. Recently I was approached by an American gentleman in a supermarket carpark saying "Finally...a decent sized proper truck! Where can I buy me one of those?" He was dismayed to learn they weren't available to purchase in England.
Arbind Ray is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2023, 15:34   #52

Originally Posted by Ford_Prefect View Post
Salute to Arbind Ray and 14000rpm for achieving this. Just curious about how you guys get your vehicles serviced. Does the dealer give you a hard time because that particular vehicle is not sold in your country?
My KIA Sorento is now sold. Got more than I expected.

I've documented my ownership experience here (The story of my Kia Sorento 2.4L AWD... and how it chose me).
Old 20th August 2023, 06:59   #53

Kudos to all of you who have been able to take your cars with you! Sometimes the hassle and price paid might be worth the effort
dsr001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th January 2024, 11:37   #54

Dear Arbind,

Thank you for writing such a detailed summary on car export to UK. Must say, it is so well documented, informative and clarifies so many doubts especially for someone who eagerly awaits arrival of his Ford Endeavour 3.2 to UK. Yes, its enroute and will add to UK traffic soon.

Would request you to kindly advise insurance company that you have used and how did you go about it as this make/model is not available online here, as well as contact point for the VIN tags and vinyl labels. This is missing in my car too so would like to have this in place before hand to avoid a similar situation.

Car is also scheduled for IVA testing at DVSA Southampton. With your experience do you recommend to go forward with it or perhaps another location.

Have a lovely day.

5432 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th January 2024, 16:36   #55

Originally Posted by 5432 View Post
Dear Arbind,

Would request you to kindly advise insurance company that you have used and how did you go about it as this make/model is not available online here, as well as contact point for the VIN tags and vinyl labels. This is missing in my car too so would like to have this in place before hand to avoid a similar situation.
The sun shone brightly here in the UK as I read your last line of "Have a lovely day"!

Seriously!! good to hear a fellow BHPian too has decided to put into action, come what may, in bringing his behemoth across the seas to England. Although there are numerous vehicles here in the UK that are voluminous in dimensions, I still get to hear remarks "wow...it's big". And not just vacuously so since the Endeavour 3.2 Titanium is substantive in its packaging as well as the drivetrain underneath its belly. Hmm...beginning to sound like a Fanboy, far from it...I'm thinking of exporting my 987 Porsche Boxster S from UK to India. This twin seater mid-engined flat-six gained Classic Car status at the beginning of last year. That's for another thread.

In relation to the impending arrival of Britain's latest Ford Endeavour from India, I have the following updates;

RTO Tax Refund - my friend, a successful businessman who was looking after this aspect as a personal favour to me unfortunately succumbed to c19. I have not pursued this since. Maybe when I next visit Odisha I might reach out to the local RTO in charge of tax refunds.

Rear Windscreen Wiper Blade - Have ordered this from the Main Ford Dealership in Surat... presently in safe custody of the Service Manager's office as I'm flying out to India day after tomorrow (11/1/2024) to attend a wedding in Gujarat.

All Terrain Tyres - I thought I had this perfected when I chose Pirelli's Scorpion Plus AT tyres for the front only since the rear MRFs have to this day in excess of 5mm tread depth and are road legal. In hindsight I should have changed ALL four tyres at the same time, not solely because it's advisable to do so on a 4x4 at the same time. I recently decided to change the rear tyres too and was informed by Pirelli UK they no longer supply the Scorpion AT Plus range here. Which means despite an excellent set of front tyres...merely driven 5k miles from new, I'm now looking to replace all four if I don't find the identical size (265/60/18). I might order these from USA or, wait for GF Goodrich KO3s (currently stock tyres on new Fords sold in the US) to make its way to the UK.

Dashcam - amongst other upgrades such as acoustic deadening, I've been looking at discreetly housed Dashcams to install in the vehicle as I've found some suppliers that provide OE style options of housing the camera in the ORVM's bulkhead casing, tapping into the rearview mirror's auto-dimming power supply. I've been asked to provide the supplier a photo of the bulkhead after its removal. For 24/7 protection it will need to be hardwired into the fusebox or OBD. I'm looking at various newly released options. If for no other reason than to aid in providing supporting evidence to Insurance Companies in the event of a road traffic incident.

Insurance - the most pertinent part of this thread in response to previous post. This has indeed been a minefield. Feel free to DM me for specific Insurance Agent/Vendor's details. I will share my experience separately in a following post as I'm presently in the process of obtaining renewal quotes with obtusely disparate results! Present Cover expires at midnight on the 20th of January 2024.
Arbind Ray is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2024, 17:33   #56

Originally Posted by Arbind Ray View Post
Insurance - the most pertinent part of this thread in response to previous post...
I've not yet posted update on insurance as I'm waiting for fellow BHPian [5432 ] to complete formalities required for DVLA/DVSA registration of his Ford Endeavour in the UK

In the meantime however, after Ford India abandoned any attempt to answer, amongst other queries, a simple question regarding the factory fitted Immobiliser/alarm (these details are asked by Insurers for obtaining cover), I had reached out to Ford's Managing Director for the United Kingdom. Thankfully within 24 hours Ford's Executive Office for Britain and Ireland have been in contact hoping to resolve TCM/PCM Update issues and when they called me yesterday said they have raised my concerns with their technical team to see if they are able to find any further information regarding the immobiliser / factory fitted alarm for the vehicle. They have also offered to reach out to Ford India to obtain data..

They're aware of my participation on this forum...