View Poll Results: What is your future plan with your 15-49 year old car?
I will keep my car fit and running and with me, come what may 160 54.24%
I will sooner or later sell my old car and buy something new 63 21.36%
I will surrender my old car to the scrapyard and avail rebate to buy a new one 28 9.49%
I am undecided 44 14.92%
Voters: 295. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11th August 2021, 17:25   #46

Re: What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap

Agree with Mafia on the need for rules being stringent for re-registration instead. This looks doable for commercial diesels maybe.

I've been regularly subjected to generous amount of diesel soot from namma BMTCs and heavy lorries, but for personal vehicles this is case dependent.

However, this is not as crazy as the sub 4 meter and 2000cc limit!
SoupRaw is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2021, 20:40   #47

Re: What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap

Imagine it’s your first car, bought after saving for many years, turned your dreams of long drives into reality, looked after it like your child, then No way can you part with it. Exchange or scrappage is unthinkable here.
Old 13th August 2021, 14:04   #48

Basking in glory-11 Years and still strong..
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-punto-2020.jpg
17 years old steed (Location Spiti-2018)
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-tb-2020.jpg

I would love to retain all of what I could accumulate in this lifetime. I opted for Keeping the old vehicles, I personally fall in love with cars and engines and do not think of letting them go, but there is a Villain in every love story, in my case it is NGT (Perils of living in Delhi NCR).

My Punto has just completed 11 years, contrary here in Delhi NCR, traffic police has tighten the noose on 10 yrs. old Diesel cars, especially in Gurgaon. I have had a close shave couple of time with cops, thus thinking to sell off my beloved Punto with a heavy heart.

Since my native is Himachal, I have the privilege to retain the vehicles older than 15 years. Likewise, my RE Thunderbird is over 17yrs old and has a valid RC/Fitness certificate.
varoon9999 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th August 2021, 14:26   #49

Need your advice folks - I have a 14 year old Civic.

If I scrap this car now, will it save me from paying road tax on a new car or would I get a discount at least ?

Is it absolutely essential for the car to complete 15 years of ownership? I am not too clear on what the new law is.
NevGin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th October 2021, 15:23   #50

I renewed the registration of my 15 year old Honda City, 2005 CVT. I have replaced 3 doors due to severe rust and repainted it 4 years ago. The engine is still butter smooth. However one of the doors developed a couple of rust spots. I don't think I will repair it anymore as the current value of the car is just about 1 lakh. My head says to replace it with the latest Honda city, but my heart (and family) says, maybe it's time to change to a crossover. I pre-booked an MG Astor... Still ogling videos of the City Let's see...
JoBlo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th October 2021, 18:44   #51

My Ford Fiesta turned 16 a month back. Still drives like a dream. No major expenses till date other than regular wear and tear parts.
Intend to keep it for as long as possible.
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-instagramcapture_9f6caf5426ae4532ba828cce720afaaf_jpg.jpg  

hareshjethwani is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2021, 20:34   #52

This Car holds a special place in the family. It’s seen 4 generations plus it’s older than me. Can’t imagine getting rid of it or sending it to the scrapyard.
I wish they can relax the rules when it comes to classics. None of us are going to use it regularly.
I live in one of the hottest cities in TN and the car doesn’t even have AC.
It gets all the more irritating when I see commercial vehicles, buses and auto rickshaws spewing smoke. Shouldn’t that be the first concern compared to cleaner cars ?
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-1c68d343dbbe48a2bef21ba52b7c1e4d.jpeg  

spkrnh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2021, 16:59   #53

That is my Santro Xing which just turned 17 and nearing 1 lac kms. Our ownership so far has been fuss free and drive joyful with this peppy motor. Being in Ghaziabad (NCR) we fear parting with her due to this lame NGT ruling. Hearing stories of how cops have started tightening the checks these days on some models which they suspect are over
10-15 years of age. We own a Creta Petrol MT as well but need a small car for city runabouts which will be just around 4-5k kms per year. Only compact tall boy replacement I could find for a Santro is a Ignis (Wagon R is a strict no). Not sure should i go for a Ignis or keep driving my Santro till the day i land up in an embarrassing situation of my vehicle being impounded on road by the cops.
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-c6beab793bd2410da50ffb4ad29c0861.jpeg  

What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-71a521a6d44c4dd8b83a852b58011fdc.jpeg  

What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-035d77c1c9664665a94e62b413323144.jpeg  

Old 17th November 2021, 13:00   #54

Though I have voted for retaining the vehicle, the answer depends on the vehicle.

My MH registered Innova is turning 15 this year and has 207xxx on the odo. She is in great shape and I will retain her until it is legally possible for me to do so.

On the other hand, my DL registered 2010 Manza is in poor condition, and is running in my hometown Mathura. Since I cannot transfer the ownership anymore, I am waiting for the next major breakdown and I will scrap it then.
Old 17th November 2021, 14:11   #55

I will keep my car fit and running and with me, come what may.

Applies to all my cars. If Government become stringent on these laws. They will be parked safely & remotely in our farm house.
Old 20th November 2021, 16:09   #56

If I truly love a car, then I will keep it as long as I want to. No amount of govt persuasion will have any effect whatsoever on whether I keep my car or not.
Old 12th December 2021, 16:28   #57
Awaiting Email Confirmation

I own a 14 year old black Civic which has done 94000kms. Had been getting various mechanical issues (unlikely for a Honda) but every time I get the car sorted out, it is so rewarding to drive it around.

I foresee a total expense of nearly 2 Lakhs in the next year (40K in full body paintwork, 75K steering pump, 50K worth suspension components, 20K re-registration + tax) - Insurance extra. All parts estimates were from Honda.
Honda evaluated the car at 75K and is so eager to buy it. I have given the car to a multi-brand garage (who will give a comprehensive estimate on all spares/services required to make it mechanically trouble free), hopefully at a lesser estimate than the OEM.

If the costs are less than 1.5 Lakhs (Overall cost of car + restorations done so far = 5 Lakhs), I will keep it (though it may be a financially crazy decision). When electric age is looming in, Civic is one of the last of its kind (moderately large engine CC, NA, good looking Fun-to-drive car with a healthy petrol engine). It is easy to sell off, but will be very difficult to buy one of its kind at the price I am yet to expend.

If I play the devil's advocate, I could sell off Civic for 75K. Save the 2 Lakhs repair costs and upgrade to a 7-seater. ONLY IF... I am willing to part with the fun to settle for practicality.
Old 8th July 2023, 07:24   #58

As per new Govt scrapping policy, seems like scrapping old car will give good benefits to owners on buying new cars. So instead of selling it, consider scrapping.

1) Scrap value for old vehicles given by scrapping center - 4-6% of ex-showroom price of a new vehicle

2) Registration fees to be waived off for purchase of new vehicle against the certificate of deposit

3) State Govts to offer concession on motor vehicle tax - upto 15%

4) Auto OEM's have been advised to provide 5% discount on ex-showroom price - against the certificate of deposit

https://morth.nic.in/vehicle-scrapping-policy-overview
Old 8th July 2023, 09:36   #59

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

I pay taxes honestly even though they be usurious. I maintain my cars meticulously. One is 11, another 9 and the other one is 2.5 years old. I drive a very reasonable number of kilometres every year. I do not commute daily and therefore I do not add tons of carbon rmissions, to the pollution in the city in which I live.

I am therefore fricasse’ed if I am going to listen to some half-baked, brain-free, self-proclaimed ‘defender of the environmental faith’, telling me about ‘clean air’ and all that when all around the country there is nothing but chaos, dirty construction debris, dust, broken roads, ill maintained lorries and generators and buses and factories and garbage handling units and agricultural stubble, all creating different sorts of pollution into the environment apart from the high levels of noise and of course, spewing smoke.

It is I believe, infinitely cleaner and greener to maintain carefully and lightly use one’s ‘Senior cars’ than be forced to buy new ones.

The whole new-car manufacturing process is decidedly less eco-friendly for sure.

Je Suis Ecolo.
Je Garde ma Vieille Auto.

About time the public challenged this draconian NGT and Judiciary.
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-img_2867.jpeg  

What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-img_2866.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 8th July 2023 at 09:41.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th June 2024, 11:09   #60

Hello BHPians,

I have a 2004 Honda City GXi which has run 92000 Kms. The car is in very good running condition. However, because of the NGT rules I am unable to use the car in Delhi NCR. I have now received a NOC from the Delhi RTO office for a transfer to Hazaribag, Jharkhand.

Upon enquiring about getting the car registered in Jharkhand I came to know that the total cost will be around Rs.1 Lac. This amount includes a penalty of Rs.30000 (Rs.500 per month x 60 months) (Since the car has been deregistered since Jul 2019).

Spending Rs.1 Lac to get the car registered for another 5 yrs (2024-2029) doesn't seem to make economic sense. The car will only be used sparingly (once a month).

Prospective buyers are not interested in buying the car for Rs.1 Lac either.

MSTI is quoting a scrap value of Rs.42000 only (provided the car is in Delhi).

What is the best way forward? Thanks.
What do you intend to do with your 15-49 year old automobile? Keep vs sell vs scrap-whatsapp-image-20240608-10.12.05_bf820da7.jpg  

Last edited by kushagra452 : 10th June 2024 at 11:13. Reason: Attachment

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com