Old 15th May 2007, 16:14   #1

Coming soon: Buy your car online!

The Hindu News Update Service

Tapping the Internet to increase sales and create new revenues streams has gained ground among automotive players in the US and other developed economies. The concept is now finding favor with at least two major auto players in India, who plan to launch portals for online car sales.
Powering these endeavors is US-based Trilogy, which is actively eying the Indian market to provide technology-powered business services that create dramatic and sustainable business results.
Old 15th May 2007, 16:22   #2

And about time too. I dont know when i will get to do that though.
Old 15th May 2007, 16:32   #3

Did Maruti have something similar for NRIs ?
Old 15th May 2007, 16:37   #4

Maruti already have similiar scheme for NRI but can you call it buying online ?
Old 15th May 2007, 16:43   #5

What difference would it make?
People buying an entity worth a few lakhs would definitely like to "touch & feel".
Again, the complexities for a hire-purchase would arise.
Lets see how it goes.
Old 15th May 2007, 17:16   #6

A very nice initiative.

I think most would use this facility to check out pricing[OTR prices] of the cars /models etc rather than make an actual buy.

However the online model also allows some degree of customization,hopefully.Great time to start an options pack as well.
Old 15th May 2007, 17:43   #7

Originally Posted by rahul_intlad View Post
some degree of customization
more than an online benefit, a customization will be a huge plus.
Old 15th May 2007, 17:46   #8

I believe people will definitely check out the options at the dealers' place and once they are reasonably sure of the car they want they will use the online options to drive down their outgo (online options being cheaper).
Old 15th May 2007, 17:53   #9

It works mostly when say your parents abroad gift you a car or you being abroad gift a car to your parents. Its already happening here eventhough its not strictly online. I have done that 3 years back. Its through a combination of emails, phone calls, and even snail mails.

A fully online option would be welcome, the only hitch being people wary of having to make large payments online, especially through credit cards. Account transfers would be more preferred in general. As you know this is already happening in property/apartment market for quite long.
Old 17th May 2007, 06:17   #10

The acceptance rate will be slower for the online option because Indians are typically not sooo broad minded to buy a car through the Net.
Old 18th May 2007, 05:35   #11

It would be nice to see how the masses respond to a fully online car buying option....
There are manufacturers like Ford who let you configure your car online, but the rest of the purchase happens not online...it would be nice to see a full fledged online car buying portal.
Old 18th May 2007, 07:15   #12

More than new cars IMO more second hand cars need to be sold online.Complete listings with actual photographs and all details can really help one find a car.
Old 18th May 2007, 21:14   #13

It's one thing to buy books online, but a car?

The problem is that you can barely avoid all the cheating, etc. that banks and car dealers do when you are there in person. What will you do when they have free reign to do as they please.

When they deliver the keys, you might have problems w/ the car, plus they might have charged "extra fees", but you can't do anything about it at that time.
Old 18th May 2007, 21:35   #14

Originally Posted by caliper View Post
It's one thing to buy books online, but a car?
actually, people do use that approach -> eBay Motors.
ofcourse, there are other sites eg. Cars, carmax.com, AutoTrader.com, just to name a few.

the one way in which eBay Motors differs from the others is that you can buy, pay for the car and have it shipped to you without ever meeting the seller or even looking at the car (other than pictures, ofcourse).

the others allow you to browse through their inventory - looking up pictures and specifications, however, to buy the car, you do have to make a trip to the dealership / individual selling the car.

though eBay Motors is a very convenient way of buying a car - it's not the best way. you don't really know what you're buying and it's very very easy to be duped - that doesn't stop people from using it.

Last edited by aah78 : 18th May 2007 at 21:37.
Old 18th May 2007, 23:05   #15

Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
actually, people do use that approach -> eBay Motors.
ofcourse, there are other sites eg. Cars, carmax.com, AutoTrader.com, just to name a few.
Thanks for the site list.

All the sites, however, are in the US, and not in "sabse accha Hindustan" where means of redress are less. I can't see this for India in the near future (other than NRI gifts).